We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, friendly and fantastic food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beiderbeckes

Beiderbeckes
Ranked #59 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I have been enjoying regular visits to Beiderbeckes for over a year now and have never been disappointed. There are many reasons we choose to dine here at least every few weeks. Some of which include, the lovely staff! We always have a nice chat with the two ladies working front of house and they do a fantastic job in delivering an outstanding service. Other reasons include, the fresh, vibrant and tasty food. Good choice on the menu and something for everyone! You can tell the food is fresh and of good produce. We have never waited too long, (Just the right amount of time you would expect for food that is cooked to order) The restaurant is relaxed and welcoming which is perfect after a long day at work!

Beiderbeckes offers good value for money and I would say it is perfect for any occasion!

We look forward to many more evenings enjoying good food, good service in a relaxed and welcoming environment!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    44
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Can't complain. Food as expected. Atmosphere nice. Fully booked out. Staff efficient and welcoming. Service quick and nothing too much. I would say menu is a bit limited- most puddings were of a cake/ice cream basis and main courses appeared to be similar in the sense that the same sauce was used on a variety of differently named dishes. Pre- theatre menu seemed to be a selection from the main menu only and not much else.
Gift vouchers 2 x £25 only pay £45 is a bonus saving for a gift for someone.
Will recommend but probably won't return for a while.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epatullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great meal combined with efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited Beiderbeckes in March 2013 as a group of 5. The restaurant is out of the city centre but is still easy to locate - only a short taxi ride away if you do want to travel from the centre of Dundee. You could order from the theatre menu or mix and match from the normal menu. There was the option of adding a starter for only £2. The food itself was excellent - my BBQ burger was well cooked and very tasty. Starters and desserts were of excellent quality also. Overall, we all had a lovely experience in this restaurant and would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stufleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good pre-theatre option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have combined Biederbeckes with a theatre visit at the Rep several times now. We like the atmosphere, music, food, warm friendly staff and the fact it is within walking distance of the theatre and DCA.
The food is always well presented and tasty, complemented by a good wine list. We generally come around half past 5 or 6pm and it is never too full and so service is quick. When we've visited later in the evening it did take longer to be served but we weren't in any hurry so it didn't feel as though we were waiting too long.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank liffdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A group of five of us. Nicely presented but quite small potion sizes. Drinks very expensive £2.45 for small coke.
There was no atmosphere. Just felt a bit disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Issy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beiderbeckes also viewed

 

Been to Beiderbeckes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing