We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and service beyond the call of duty.”
Review of West Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Park
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I booked this accommodation for my mum as my dad was suddenly taken ill while they were on holiday in Scotland and he was admitted to hospital. From the outset, the staff took over and ensured my mum had everything she needed. The night porter helped her with her bags at 3am. At a time when my mum needed help they were outstanding with her. The food was good and they went out of their way to help her as she is celiac. Her accommodation was nice and clean. It wasn't plush, but for the money, we didn't expect it. The location was great for her too. I can only thank all of the staff for their caring attitude to her (and to us trying to organise things from far away) during a very stressful time. What is especially impressive is that the place was full with Commonwealth Games people, so they were under pressure themselves. Well done West Park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear your father was well enough to at last return home and that all was well in the end. It must have been a very stressful time for you all. I do hope your mother and father will be able to return to Scotland on holiday again some time soon.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed one night to visit friends, we arranged visit at short notice and so booked West Park. As previous reviewers have said this is student accommodation and as such is smaller than a budget hotel and the walls are also a lot thinner. The room was clean but had an overpowering smell of cheap air freshener which was rather off putting. The bed was a small double which was ok, there is no wifi in the bedrooms and the small tv had no signal in spite of a very helpful member of staff's best efforts. There was a small shower room with lashings of hot water and although the shower head looks very unpromising the shower is powerful. Breakfast is available but we booked room only. If you are looking for a budget stay and you have recently been a student this could be the place to try .

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank poppycatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the signal on your television and will look into this. With regards to wifi in the bedrooms, we can currently only offer free wifi to guests with an academic login or eduroam access, a full wifi facility will soon be available to all of our guests to enjoy however a full wifi service is available within our main building and lounges.
I do hope you will return to Dundee and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Attended a Buffet Christmas Party Night on 20th December 2013 and was very impressed. Lovely decoration - party poppers and "vodka jellies" on table. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. DJ was brilliant. Buffet was best I've ever had. Only downside was that the bar was pretty expensive but if Party Nights are your thing, you should definitely try West Park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Christmas Buffet party. We put a lot of effort into our menus and it is so nice to hear that it is appreciated. The vodka jellies are just a wee something extra to get the party started! We had a very busy season this year and have taken bookings for 2014 already! If you are looking to book again we are running a special “early bird price.” Thanks again.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What an excellent place for a Christmas night out. We held a private function for our department. The room we chose was great for the size of our party and the decoration and layout was fantastic. Unfortunately the attitude of the staff has let the place down so much we will not be back.

Firstly our band were warned not touch anything during their sound check and set up and had to make sure they cleared up their pizza boxes prior to our event. They are all professional people and actually all work in our department within the NHS. They were not a band we had hired in.

On the Monday following our function, we had a call from a member of the management staff challenging us that the numbers were higher than we had planned as more food had to be served. This definitely was not the case and as it was a self service buffet how could we police how much folk put on their plates? We were told that a member of staff had done a head count? Where was that member of staff when we had "walk-ins" who were not even with our function.

As the biggest employers in Tayside we use this centre regularly for other events. This will no longer be the case and we will ensure that others are aware of the attitude of the management staff. Hospitality training needs need to be looked at....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InchcolmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the excellent facilities at West Park for your Christmas Party.
We informed you of the unexpected increase in numbers booked for your event and you agreed that more guests had in fact turned up than were originally booked.
We are renowned for our excellent customer service at West Park, this is the main reason businesses return to us time after time, and so I apologise if you felt the level of hospitality offered to you was not of the standard you had expected.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed as part of a group attending a business meeting at the university, as recommended by our host. The rooms are student accommodation but we were made aware of this at the time of booking and knew what to expect, i.e. single rooms have single beds. It is a short distance by taxi or bus (or walk, it's not far!) to the airport, train station, city centre and university - it is a very convenient location and excellent value for money. The room was clean and tidy with everything I needed for a 2-night business stay, including tea/coffee-making facilities, TV and ensuite. Our group was kept together on the same floor, so there was no noise from other rooms, we had a good nights sleep. There was no wifi in the room but again I was aware of this at the time of booking. If you are in Dundee on business or sightseeing, this is a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us.
We are currently looking to install wifi in the accommodation areas and hope to have this in place for your next visit!
We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was working with a group of people for a day in one of the rooms in the main building. The room was spacious and well organised. The service was attentive and discrete throughout the day. The food at lunchtime was very good and the cookies and cakes for the morning and afternoon breaks were delicious. Easy to get to with lots of parking, convenient for the conference suites. All in all, an excellent conference centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-ballee-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities here at West Park. Our year round business is Conferencing and Events and we are very highly regarded in this field. West Park is also known for its great food! Everything is handmade by our team of chefs (including the conference cookies you will have had). We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly staff on check in, clean modern room with views of the Tay, excellent value. Good base for the night within waling distance of city centre and bars and restaurants. If you want luxury pay for an expensive hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minxy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your comments sum our accommodation offer up perfectly! We offer excellent value for money. We do not profess to be a luxury hotel and as you mention our prices are very reflective of that. We look forward to you visiting again.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park

Address: 4 West Park Villas 319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Park 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your West Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Park Hotel Dundee
West Park Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing