We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and reasonable accommodation”
Review of West Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Park
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this at very short notice when I had to travel at the last minute. It is student accommodation and it is a bit basic. The room was nice though and clean. The ensuite wet room was more than adequate for my purposes. A small flat screen tv also served it's purpose.
My own complaints was that the room was quite noisy. The doors slam with quite a bang and I could hear the conversations of the residents on either side of me.
Not a bad experience at all and I would stay here again
Very reasonably price.

Room Tip: Just bear in mind that is not a regular hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunch_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We do appreicate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Christine Milne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for West Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently visited this Hotel on Sat 27th of July 2013,
Overall the Hotel was clean and tidy, but it was let down on a few points, The Double mattress on our bed had clearly seen better days as i had to sleep all night with a spring in my back, and that now brings us onto the main part of our adventure.

The other guests, we were in room 101 (which wasn't a good omen) as the couple above us were trying out for the Sex olympics, whilst i'm no prude it sounded like they were trying out for a porn movie, then we had some lunitics trying to get into our room 3 times during the night, it was the same for our friends who were in the room next to us.

When we told Reception in the morning about how our stay went, all she could say was that a gang from Aberdeen were staying at the time we were there, then she informed us it couldn't be them as they stayed else where, I then informed her that I was going to put a comment on here she nearly died, I at least thought they would have some kind of Security in a place that size but apparently not.

As we visit friends in Dundee at least once a year alas we will not be repeating our visit to this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at West Park Campus accommodation. I have taken on board your comments regarding the mattress and will address this. I apologise that your night was interrupted, we do have security and a night porter who would have dealt with the situation had they been informed at the time. Thank you again for taking the time to place a review, your feedback is very important for us.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a good base for visiting Dundee, the price of accomodation is reasonable however the bar prices are slightly high. Also be prepared for student type accomodation which is fine if you intend to be mostly out and about. There is loads of free car parking . The rooms are clean and well maintained. The restuaurant meals are also good. The service is great and informal.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities. We look forward to you visiting again,

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This accommodation is used by students at Dundee University during term time, and rented out as roomy and more than adequate hotel space for real people during the summer, when the students are doing other important things like taking cheap bunkhouse holidays in Knoydart, etc., etc..

We stayed in July and found the rooms comfortable, the central facilities spacious, luxurious and well run, and the setting convenient and amazingly rural for somewhere so near the town.

The highlight of the stay was definitely the friendly and helpful service at breakfast. Deborah acts as tourist information worker, local guide, gossip and low key Butlins Red Coat while she serves breakfast and keeps everyone topped up with coffee. Marlene produces little miracles from the 'full Scottish' menu almost every morning, and can really cook black pudding! The breakfast staff say they provide the same friendly service to people who use the place for functions like weddings, or institutional and work related meetings and conferences. They could certainly make average work training weekends more fun, with a good humoured early morning start and a great recommendation for an evening's entertainment in the town.

Definitely worth going back to Dundee for!!!

Room Tip: Always have breakfast and treat the next-door graveyard as an interesting tourist attraction, which...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you your wonderful post on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay. Debbie was tickled by your comments as was Marlene. Who says remember to ask for haggis next time!
We look forward to welcoming you again either as a guest at an event or delegate at the training weekends you mention!

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for a wedding, knew the west park did accommodation for over seas students, and the rooms are basic, but who stays in their room the entire stay? Will definetly stay again, as the price is very good Staff were helpful, and friendly.
Fantastic wedding :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarplum19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding. Everybody had a great time!
We look forward to your visit again.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

A great location in the west end of Dundee..student accommodation during term time which is let out in the summer months. We stayed in a very nice but basic double bedded room. A 15-20 minute walk to some great pubs & restaurants. Breakfast was served in the function suite, and as it was buffet style some of the hot food was slightly on the cool side. But all in all a great bargain at £35 room only!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
“West Park” is Tayside’s largest Conference and Events Centre. Situated within the grounds is West Park Campus. During the summer months this 3 star Campus accommodation is available to the general public and offers excellent value for money and is an ideal choice for those seeking clean, comfortable, en-suite accommodation. Residents can make use of the excellent breakfasts served within the Victorian Mansion House on site.
The LAN cable in the bedrooms you mention is for term time students only. Wifi is currently being installed in the bedrooms and will be available for use within a few weeks.
Our prices at the time of your stay reflected the accommodation availability in Dundee. Generally our prices are £35 per room per night and offer excellent value for money. I am glad you did enjoy your stay and will happily return again.

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this accommodation at the last minute - paid £35 for the night room only. It is about a 25minute walk into the centre of Dundee but there's a bus stop at the entrance which is very handy. The room itself was quite small but very clean and for £35 per night, the bathroom was a wet room which was fine, and again very clean. We were in Dundee for the Blues Festival and accommodation was quite scarce! We got a taxi back to West Park in the evening which cost us about £6.00. All in all we agreed would would probably stay here again, only for one night - too cramped for a couple to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morriseystalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to your visit again. Hope you enjoyed the Blues Festival!

Kind regards
Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park

Address: 4 West Park Villas 319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Park 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your West Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Park Hotel Dundee
West Park Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing