We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best weekend of my life!”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

just back from piperdam after a fantastic weekend in the vegas lodge which boasts a hottub, sauna and games room. This, place is amazing, we where on a hen weekend and a lodge as fab as this is just asking for a party! we also enjoyed the facilities on offer at the main complex, swimming, gym, sauna, and the green room which is a spa. i am booking it for next year ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulabryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    229
    97
    55
    27
See reviews for
273
273
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Spent a weekend in Vegas Lodge 4 for a family birthday celebration,6 bedroomed lodge was excellent in every way,spotlessly clean in all areas with the added luxury of hot tub and sauna.At just over £1600 for a Friday to Monday stay i guess that you only get what you pay for.Used the leisure facilities and though they were adaquate would suggest that some of the cardio equipment in the gym could be upgraded.Used the bar and restaurant and found the food to be of a high standard if slightly over priced.To summarise would recommend the Piperdam Resort and especially the Vegas Lodges for that special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alloasfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in a Muirloch Exective Lodge; the lodge itself was lovely - large bedroom, large bathroom with own sauna, hot tub outside. However various niggles made this quite pricey accommodation not worth the money in our opinion.
Towels are not included in the package (how cheap can you get!) so we ordered the towel package (for £10, don't understand why they could not add this to the price and make towels inclusive), which was not there on our arrival, so we had to go back to reception to sort out.
There seemed to never be a manager on duty, so there never seemed to be anyone in charge and the staff weren't aware of various promotions they had running - including the one in the Visit Scotland brochure which listed all the facilities and offered 10% discount if you quoted the code; we quoted the code, they didn't know what it was, then said it was only for the golf! Very misleading.
The kitchen had a bizarrely small caravan type fridge, so could only hold a few items - not great as we'd shopped for the week before we arrived.
The kitchen was woefully underequipped - the lodge was for 2 people and there were 4 knives, 4 forks, 4 spoons; if you produced a 2 course meal you ran out of cutlery to cook/serve/eat.
Despite advertising "Behaviour should not be excessive, noisy or disruptive, especially at night." this didn't stop the lodge opposite us (holding 10-12 people) partying outside in the hot tub in the early hours. No mobile reception and no internal telephone system meant no-one from Piperdam could be contacted.
To add insult to injury we were woken on Monday morning by the builders! Building work was going on adding lodges next to ours - no mention of this was made at the timeof booking and certainly no discount offered. We went to reception (again!) to ask if this was going to happen every day, and the girl said they were only there on weekdays - as if that made it alright! I commented that that was just the 5 days out of the 7 we were booked and she said yes that's right. No manager present to follow this up.
I'm boring myself now with the moaning so I'll stop, but would recommed you check the location of your potential lodge in relation to others (will a group of 10+ people ever not party?) and any building works.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed on a four night break in a Muirloch Executive Lodge for two people. The Lodge was absolutely lovely and very spacious. We didn't use the sauna but did use the hot tub which was great even in January. Had a meal in the bar and it was very good and the girls who served us were very pleasant and helpful.Only drawback no mobile phone signal. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just home from a long weekend and it was lovely! We stayed in Osprey 3 which is a lodge you can take your dogs to (I beleive there are only 3 on the site). Considering this we knew it would probably be the lowest standard of lodge but it was really nice. Very spacious, clean, warm on arrival.
We did had salt/pepper/tea bags/coffee/sugar on a tray when we arrived which we didnt expect after reading other reviews.
Check in time (like has been said again & again) is rather late. It was pitch black when we got our keys and couldnt really look around etc ... with a check out of 10am you really are missing out on a whole day!!!! This would definately put me off booking a few days again - would have to go for longer.
Swimming pool etc was mediocre.... could do with updating, especially the changing rooms/lockers!!
Restuarant - ate there on Sat and it was FAB!!! Waiting staff were great, attentive!! Would highly recomment the lamb and my husbands fillet steak was delicious! Very reasonably priced. We were celebrating an anniversary and the champagne list was a bit of a let down.
Seems to me that it's very much a site thats on the up and developement is pretty clear all around - attention to leaving building materials around should be considered by staff - some eye sores. NIce walks all around with the dogs.... then home to chill out on the balcony was bliss for them.
We wanted to do quad biking but that wasnt running when we were there.
Done the trick, we wanted somewhere nice that would allow us to take the dogs with somewhere to have a swim/sauna etc and a treatment. We wanted to eat out at night and relax with Dvds , cups of tea and biccies through the day = perfect!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khandie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hi, recently returned from a very enjoyable stay at Piperdam, Muirloch lodges. We found the accommodation excellent and great for couples. Reception staff, bar staff very friendly and helpful. Hot tub was great and the guys were there every day to maintain them, very friendly, thank you. One suggestion for improvement was again the surrounding area, on going for a walk you can see quite a few beer bottles obviously left by previous guests and around the lodges many cigarette ends and as non smokers it lets down the general appearance when outside the lodges. Had a couple of meals in the bar and the food quality and service was very good, would have liked to have went more but just felt it was a bit too expensive with the average starter ranging from £5.50 - £7.50. An early bird menu would be great and then you can return and enjoy the comfort of a beautiful lodge and more time in the hot tub. Apart from a couple of points would definately recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whittbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Piperdam....We stayed in one of the Muirloch Executive lodges over the weekend of the 21st January and just have to say a very BIG thank you to all the staff for a fantastic time. The Staff are extremely courteous, the Restaurant is second to none and the Lodges are spacious with a wonderful Sauna and outside Hot Tub. The living area and bedrooms are very spacious and well kitted out with everything that you could ever need (apart from towels) take your own.....Like any where you stay or go you could always nit pick at something or other and like anyone we can too.... BUT we have ONLY one SMALL SUGGESTION which is not a complaint in any way to make to the management of the resort about the Lodges.....The lodges are strictly no smoking inside which is fine, (although we are smokers) as there is a Veranda and an open fenced off area around the hot tub where you can go for a ciggie.....However....We would like to suggest that a cigarette butt receptacle be supplied not unlike the ones you see outside pubs etc on the Veranda area.....Unfortunately there were dozens of cigarette butts lying on the grass which had been flicked over by previous inconsiderate occupants of our lodge....This is not only unsightly but also gives the grounds people additional work to clear them up which is a job they should not have to do......However.....As far as rating Piperdam is concerned we give it 10 out of 10 and will be back later in the year for another very relaxing weekend break....Best regards....Anj & Dex

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycampers008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Property: Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Address: Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Hotel Dundee
Piperdam Golf And Leisure Resort
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing