We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovelt chalet and hot-tub, though not as secluded as you may think.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My wife and I decided to spend a long-weekend to celebrate our second wedding anniversary and Piperdam was recommended to us by my sister-in-law. We would like to point our that most sat nav devices try to take you through a village that you won't allow you to get to Piperdam (apparently). We choose to take the A90 to Dundee and then double back a few miles back up the A923 through Muirhead. Upon collecting the chalet key we drove back through a small residential area and then down a single carriage road to the chalet: Muirloch Executive Lodge Number 5.
We were suprised at how close together the chalets were to each other, chalets 5 and 4 had a parking bay side-by-side to each other and the chalets themselves were less than 10m apart.
Upon entry into the chalet we were impressed with the furniture, the decor and the space accorded to a single bedroom chalet, complete with a vaulted ceiling in the bedroom. The living/dining are was large with a table for 4, a dishwasher, washing machine, cooker, two leather sofas, a 32" LCD TV (approx) with freeview and an artificial coal fire (enclosed). The bathroom was substantial with the sauna and shower in it, but a little dissapointingly, no bath. The sauna was a welcome addition but very small (you had to sit up straight and not move in order for two people to fit) and the hot tub was really great especially in the cold October air, but not very private at all - there was a fence that was only about 2m long and prevented one of the closeby chalets from direct view but not their 2nd floor or some of the other 3 chalets that we could see. We could also hear the other occupants which was a shame.
We didn't make use of the swimming pool or golf course (additional charge for golf) so cannot comment upon them, but did eat one night at the restaurant. The staff were pleasant and the food was reasonable, but for the most we ate that which we bought from Tesco in Dundee.
Overall, the chalet itself was good value for money (don't forget a few dishwashing tablets a tea-towel and bath towels) and was very clean, well maintained and very well furnished. The downside was that it wasn't as private as we wished both hearing and seeing our close neighbours when outside and in the hot tub (not that any were loud!). I would recommend going but being aware of the lack of seclusion you may feel you have been expecting.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1John1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 908 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

Recently stayed in the Murloch excutive lodge for 4 nights,the size and the quality of the lodge were very impressive as good 5* hotels.The living room was great with fire,tv,dvd.
The sauna and hottub was also very pleasant.The food at the restaurant nearby was excellent but the last time to be seated is 8.45pm as the restaurant closes at 10 which we both felt was too early.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MrDaveandNicChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Booked a one day spa trip for £15 each for a friend and myself. A lovely lunch was included, and we booked some beauty treatments too (extra cost) which were excellent,however, we were very surprised to be charged for the cost of a towel!!!! Ity would have been a nice touch if the towel had been included.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serry2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We visited Piperdam last year for an autumn break and stayed in one of their smaller two bedroom lodges. The lodge was clean and comfortable with modern furnishings although I would have recommended them to put in low energy light bulbs as everything was fitted with normal bulbs. The best bit however was the wonder ful loch side setting and swimming pool which we used nearly every day. The weather was wonderful and the bar nice and child friendly. My husband enjoyed the golf course and spent an afternoon fishing. There is also a nice play area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyholidaysx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Spent four nights at Piperdam in a Morlich Executive Lodge with my partner and have returned relaxed and refreshed. Our lodge was the smallest type that you can rent and for two people this was more than big enough. The lounge / kitchen is big and airy with all the gagets you need and a couple of reclining sofas to relax on. The bedroom was huge with a big comfortable bed and plenty storage space. The shower room includes the sauna which is wonderful and can be set to be ready for you when you get up in the morning or when you return late in the day.

Outside is the hot tub which is surrounded by a 2m fence for your privacy!! We used the tub each night and it was a great way to finish the day.

The only gripe I had was that the TV reception is rubbish; I know this shouldnt be a mainstay of your trip away and it wasnt for us but we are used to catching up with news and we were unable to see the majority of the bulletins!

Overall I cant wait to go back for another trip altough next time we may rent a bigger lodge and go with friemds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in one of the Muirloch Executive Lodges. It was amazing. The lodge was extremely spacious with lovely furniture and a fully equipped kitched. There was a plasma tv in the living room and also in the bedroom. The hot tub was fabulous and was a great way to wind down and relax. It was private as it had a fence around it. The sauna was also great. We felt like we were in the lap of luxury.

The woods surrounding it were very tranquil and no noise could be heard coming from neighbouring lodges.

There are also lots of things to do and see in the area such as Stirling, Glamis Castle, Scone Palace, Dundee, Camperdown Wildlife Park and it has its own golf course and health suite, fishing, bar and restaurant.

It was easily the best place we have ever stayed and I would love to return. I would recommend this for couples wanting a quiet break and time away to relax from the stresses of work.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbowman2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Just back from having my wedding weekend at Piperdam. We got married elsewhere but had a fantastic meal at the resort. We had a Vegas (12), Eagle (10), Osprey (6), 2 x Rainbow (4) and a Muirloch (2). Each one was fantastic. The Vegas became our central point for parties and what a lodge, casino, snooker table, hot tub, sauna, 2 x 50+" LCDs, and lovely pieces of furniture throughout. The staff couldn't do enough fgor you and the food all weekend was first class -particularly the smoked haddock and stuffed mushrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wavybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Address: Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range: $70 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Hotel Dundee
Piperdam Golf And Leisure Resort
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing