We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break with our kids and another two couples. We stayed in the Foresters Lodge Plus which accommodates 10. There were 9 in our party and there was more than enough room.

The lodge was clean and well equipped.Set amongst the trees there are other lodges in close proximity but they are far enough away so not to be intrusive.

The hot tub was excellent. It sat 6 adults comfortably and maintained a good temperature for a considerable time despite the freezing conditions. Just be sure to replace the cover when not in use.

The restaurant/ bar was clean and spacious. The food was excellent on both occasions that we dined and the portions were huge. The service could have been a little better with some of the younger inexperienced staff being a bit inattentive and sombre but this wasn't a huge issue as most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Food can be ordered to collect for takeaway and if I recall correctly they can deliver to your lodge if the order is over £40. Phone signal may be an issue in parts of the site though.

The swimming pool was a decent size with clean facilities. The water temperature was comfortable but the chlorine (or whatever chemical was used) was a bit much for my eyes and I could only stay in for half an hour. We didn't use any of the other spa facilities so I cant comment on them although the gym looked well equipped and modern. We intended to play golf but the snow put an end to that.

The snow that fell as we were travelling to Piperdam meant that we nearly didn't make it. Four wheel drive ensured that we didn't get stuck as many other vehicles did. However this added to the experience when we finally did arrive especially when sat in the hot tub with 5-6 inches of snow all around.

All in all a fantastic setting which took on an almost magical experience with the snow. Good accommodation, facilities and food. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If your lodge has a hot tub make sure you book the extra towel pack. you will need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 912 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at Muirloch executive lodge number 14 for my 40th birthday with my husband. Have stayed at Piperdam before with kids and always fancied trying the luxury one bedroom muirloch for just the two of us. Number 14 is one of the newer Muirlochs and it is gorgeous. Nestled nicely into the woods. Lovely contemporary kitchen and comfortable lounge. Huge bedroom with massive amazingly comfortable sleigh bed. Huge bathroom with sauna. Bathroom is totally underutilized though for it's size - only has a shower but plenty of space for a bath too! Sauna was lovely and well used. Hot tub is very private. Nothing is provided though - we even had to pay for hiring towels and buy an electricty card! Restaurant and bar are really lovely especially when the fires are roaring on a cold winters evening! Very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Have eaten in both several times and have never been disappointed with the food. Great menu choice.Pool is lovely overlooking the loch. Rubbish jacuzzi though at pool - same temperature as swimming pool! Needs to be hot! Overall a fab relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Muirloch executives 13 14 15 and 16 are the most private for hot tubs and are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed in Osprey Lodge 8. Clean comfortable lodge. The ground around the hot tub was disgusting cigarette ends and broken glass which was quickly cleaned up when we complained. Mid week we had problems with the heating and also en suite toilet didn't flush. Both quickly sorted when we reported. Hot Tub was a different issue though.. We thought the water in the tub did not look too clean.. The lights did not work and as soon as you turned the jets on we found they were so powerful that the nozzles would fly off and join us in the tub.. also again once jets were turned on we could smell stagnant water. Maintenance said that it was impossible to have a smell and the lights were still not sorted by end of stay. The Grandchildren only used the swimming pool twice and only for 15mins as it was far too cold.. got told it was due to maintenance work... You pay for electric £5 for a card. we spent £27 for a short break.. using on average £2.60 during the night when everyone was in bed. The Grandkids took part in a couple of activities.. fencing and sea scooters. the instructor was very good with them. Take into account when booking that you have electric to pay for and no towels are supplied but can be supplied at cost.no starter pack of basic cleaning products included. so take your own.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockerpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have recently returned from a long weekend break at one of the bungalows at the Piperdam resort.
There was nine in our party and we fitted in nicely to the beautiful four bedroom bungalow.The bungalow also featured a a games room where the double garage had been converted to have pool table and a wii/ 50" tv.
The leisure facilities were were all included in our package which we found to be very nice and a good way of spending an hour or two either exercising or chilling in the bar.
The location is beautiful and peaceful but if u wish a bit of retail therapy then Dundee is only a short drive away.
All in all if it's a relaxing break u desire then this place is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just back from staying in a muirloch lodge. Was perfect for what we paid. Hot tub was great and the lodge was lovely and warm. Also used the leisure suite down at the reception and had a wee swim which was nice as it was not too busy. Overall, well worth it. Only complaint is the directions to get there don't work. Take the camper down cut off and follow the road along

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was booked at the last minute via recommendations from a good few friends and within an hour of emailing an inquiry, the last lodge was booked :D

The location is ideal with lovely surrounding scenery, the lodges are secluded from the neighboring lodges and not to forget that this was the ultimate break from the 'rat race'.

Our lodge (Muirloch 18) was spacious, clear, comfortable and fabulous including the sauna (which I personally found too hot :( but perfect for the husband) and the hot-tub was maintained regularly which was good to see.

We worked our way through the cocktail menu - all delicious and the food was first class with plenty of choice it was near impossible to pick what to have for lunch and dinner.

It was a bit disappointing that check in was at 4pm but I suppose that's for house-keeping and inspection prior to other guests but that's just speculations on my part and the only negative thing out of the overall wonderful stay.

The staff were friendly and welcoming on check in and I have no doubt that if we did have any issues or complaints that they would attempt to help by any means possible and cannot fault them.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone interested and looking forward to returning.

Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Long_Vodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed in the Forrestor Plus lodge, 7 ladies, the lodge is lovely, hot tub amazing, even better that it was undercover as it rained the whole weekend. Lodge was very clean, cosy and well equipped. we had a chinese take away on the Friday which was lovely, ate in the restaraunt on the Saturday where the service and food were excellent. The staff in the bar could not do enough for us and made our Saturday night a night to remember, thanks to Christine B and co ;-). When we had issues with the hot tub the maintenance guys were on hand to fix it and were friendly and very helfpul. The extra facilities such as the pool, gym, golf and outdoor actiivities are a real plus for Piperdam, you cant beat it, cant wait to come back, thanks for making my friends 40th a memorable one.

Room Tip: Got to be a lodge with a hot tub, if youre in a big party the Forrestor Plus is good value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabelle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
6.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Address: Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range: $94 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Hotel Dundee
Piperdam Golf And Leisure Resort
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing