We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful first visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just back from a romantic birthday weekend with my hubby, we stayed in muirloch 4 and it was wonderful, the massive bedroom was unexpected as was the extremely comfortable Superking sleigh bed, the power shower was so refreshing, and a nice idea to have 2 entrances into the bathroom, the hot tub was wonderful and was well used, even by our friends and son and grand kids who came to visit,

Yes u have to take a few essentials with you eg toilet roll, tea towels, dish cloth, washing up liquid and of of course your own towels but IT IS a SELF CATERING lodge, so just be prepared and you will be fine, others have moaned that for the price the above should be included but the lodge is very fairly priced as it has a sauna and hot tub! Other cheaper log cabins don't have these.

The reception staff were very friendly and informative on check in and also on departure day, and the bar staff/restaurant staff were so friendly, the food was wonderful, although a shame the steaks are so expensive although I'm sure would be very tasty,

We also found our log cabin to be very quiet, once inside you couldn't hear another sound, and the hot tub was secluded thanks to a full wrap around fence, although not much view in the summer if you want to sit outside.

We are already looking at more dates to book again!!!

Room Tip: The lower numbers are higher up the hill, (not steep) so further to walk to the restaurant but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    220
    95
    53
    27
See reviews for
262
266
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hetton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is a very nice lodge number 4. just had a mid week break with number 0ne and the two dogs. to say that other people twisted about no cleaning products is shameful. what do you want for a self catering lodge these are the basic stuff you take. the place is a bit out the way of shops etc but a ideal base camp to travel. golf course looks great and the staff were very nice. will def go back in the summer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgdxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and for the price we paid it was ridiculous. No extra towels, one roll of toilet roll, no cleaning things such as washing up liquid. Staff were terrible too with their faces tripping them. Over priced. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etdeedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the "Muirloch Executive" lodge for the weekend.
On arrival we were greeted by a not so welcoming face, a young girl basically rounding all the terms and conditions off in a very robotic manner.
The lodge itself is beautiful, clean (except for the sticky mess found in the fridge), modern and tidy. I was however disappointed that there was no bath, but thats just personal preference for a relaxing weekend.
Now for £110 a night we expected more than we got....
No towels provided, you are told to bring your own or pay extra,
No kitchen essentials such as washing up liquid or sponges
One loo roll provided for the entire stay.
This may seem petty but when you're paying out the nose, you expect to get your moneys worth.
Other than that, the hot tub was fab, the sauna was never used and the tv reception is a hit or a miss.
Wouldn't recommend this to anyone, it's alright if you have money to burn, but when you're paying £330 a weekend, you'd expect at least more than one toilet roll.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from another fantastic weekend at the Vegas Lodge at Piperdam. A first class lodge with ample room for 6 couples. Check-in very efficient and maintenance service was excellent (needed once to help with heating).

Hot tub and sauna brilliant. Games room is well equipped and great fun.
The swimming pool is also very good. Didn't use any other of the facilities so cannot comment.

if you are looking for a great weekend with friends this is the lodge to book. Already looking to go back.

Room Tip: We booked Vegas Lodge 5 which has a sauna which you don't have to buy a card for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krusty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Looked forward to Xmas Day Lunch as a family . Sister & husband travelling from South of England. for Xmas. Booked 8 adults into restaurant. We had previously had Xmas Lunch at resort a few years ago and it was great food and excellent service. therefore had no hesitation again to book - prices £57 @ for lunch - not cheap .
The food was good but the service was terrible - it took over 3 hours. We were forgotten or ignored twice - had to wait 45 minutes for the meal order to be taken - then after starter we were again forgotten and had to speak to staff after another 25 .minutes. head waitress.
It spoilt the atmosphere of xmas lunch - would not recommend to anyone for such an important day lunch - terrible

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were very excited to go there for the day with our two little girls however we did feel let down.
We had lunch in the bar area and the food really was not good at all. The chips were straight out of a packet and the coleslaw tasted like a Tesco value tub. The salad garnish had seen better days. The waitor was pleasant enough. The general cleanliness of the bar area where we were eating was not great - we ate at 1:45pm.
The swimming pool was ok and the children enjoyed it. The changing rooms are very basic and the family changing room which we used was not very clean, the lockers were very small and only one had a working key so we had to leave our bags outside as they wouldn't fit in.
We would probably go again to swin but certainly wouldn't waste our money on the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
6.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
19.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Property: Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Address: Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piperdam Golf And Leisure Resort
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Hotel Dundee
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing