We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Fishermans and would thoroughly recommend it. Our room had recently been updated and was first rate. The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly and our breakfast, wholesome. The only slight blot was on Saturday evening in the bar when a group of drunk men on a night out took to singing a sectarian song and the ineffectual manager did little to stop it or evict them when that was what should have happened. It created an unsavoury atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aragon-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    65
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
58
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Consett
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The quality of this hotel is excellent, the room was very good ,the food was very tasty and the staff provided a very efficient service. Would certainly recommend this pub/hotel .Oh and I must mention the beer definitely a CAMRA level location .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaxieConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Once again on a visit to Dundee to see our son we needed some lunch so popped in to The Fishermans Tavern in Broughty Ferry. Service was very friendly as always and the food we ordered was amazing! I had my usual fish and chips! but it is not just fish and chips here it is some thing special, the fish is huge! (as I like it) and the batter so fresh and well its perfection so it is, My wife and son chose items from the enormous list of daily specials and both commented on how good they were and freshly cooked and full of flavour. The amazing bit is the prices unlike some Hotels on the ferry this Hotel keeps its food prices at realistic levels and for me this Tavern is a must for anyone looking for great food in Broughty Ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcurrie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great night's stay in the Fisherman's Tavern; really couldn't fault it. The bar was heaving when we arrived at about 5pm, but we were immediately made feel welcome by the team of staff on duty and shown to our room in no time with a table booked for our evening meal for later in the evening.
The room was spacious and pleasantly decorated with a huge zip and link bed with very comfy mattresses. Good sized bathroom too. We were very, very impressed with the standard of accommodation for such a reasonable price. Why stay in a featureless chain hotel when you could have the charm of the Fisherman's Tavern for a fraction of the price?
The real ales delighted my partner and our evening meal was delicious,.Had to try the Arbroath smokie pie after reading the reviews and it didn't disappoint. Great breakfast too. We heard others at breakfast mention that they had brought earplugs; I guess that might be a good idea if you fancy an early night, as yes, you can hear the bar below. We didn't mind at all though and had a great nights sleep.
Will definitely be returning-just loved the place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiltgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Used this as a base when in the ferry for family funeral. Staff were very accommodating and great fun. There was a good choice of beer and wine and the fish pie was amazing. Rooms were very nice and clean. Don't forget your earplugs if you are planning an early night, the bar is quite lively! Look forward to staying there again in happier times.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A group of 6 of us have stayed here each September for the last three years. Each time we come we wish we'd discovered it earlier.

The staff are fantastic, very friendly and welcoming and really help make the place what it is. Their contribution should not be under estimated. The food is great, staff were very accommodating for us at breakfast and in the evenings, the rooms are clean and spacious with very comfortable beds and good bathrooms and importantly they served a great selection of real ales. There is so much golf available in the area it's untrue and even though this year we found ourselves travelling across to Fife a bit more, we found it worth our while to return to the Fisherman's each evening.

Great job boys and girls!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeDistrictRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend and it was first class. The bar was spotlessly clean and a credit to all that work there, we had a bite to eat Saturday lunchtime and it was very tasty. Keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
3.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Address: 10-16 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#6 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fisherman's Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing