We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly simple place in a pictureseque situation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly simple place in a pictureseque situation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The "Fish" as it is known locally is an un-assuming pub, restaurant and hotel in the picturesque seaside village of Broughty Ferry an upmarket suburb of Dundee.
It occupies a small but sprawling site on the corner of Fort Street and the waterfront, close by the lifeboat station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    65
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
57
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just returned from my first ever visit trip to Broughty Ferry (at the seaside and an upmarket extension of Dundee) I am blown awa not only, by this fabulous and very classy town, but also by the Fishermans Tavern. My huge twin room for single occupancy had everything I needed, including a full sized, proper hairdryer, heaps of lovely towels and a fabulous shower. I
The bar was heaving with locals and the atmosphere was busy. Great food and fantsastic service must keep this place busyall throughout the year. The staff are fantastic, knowlegeable about the speciality beers and local food (fish is big in Broughty Ferry and I had their Smokie Pie-made from Arbroath Smokie-delish)! The bar staff a friendly and welcoming too. Also,at breakfast staff were fantastic fun and could not do enough to ensure we had everything and more that we needed to have a fantastic start to our day. We were all so hungover from all our celebrations the previous evening!!!! A walk on the beach after a hearty breakfast did the trick and gave us the energy to browse the incredible array of bijou shops and boutiques. We hadthe best laugh, though, at a fabulous shop called Topsy Turvy. It sells beautiful gifts and the funniest (and some of the rudest cards I have come across in a long time) The lady owner i a delight too and didnt mind my friend and I helplessly laughing at some of the cards, along with several other lovely customers) We must have been in there for 20 mins, just laughing-dont miss any of these places if you find yourself in BRoughty Ferry. I was my first but definitely not my last trip to The Fishermans, Topsy Turvy and BF.
Just go-you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeelGood_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights over an early February weekend, that coincided with opening matches of 6 Nations rugby - for which we had 'reserved' seats in front of the telly! In between our social engagements we found this warm, cosy and friendly inn to be the perfect base. Our recently-refurbished room was generously proportioned, and tastefully decorated in keeping with the period of the building and its marine surroundings. The bed was very comfortable. Lunch in the bar featured local specialities such as the 'smokie pie' - braw! Breakfasts were hearty. Served in the lounge area with a roaring fire in the hearth, by friendly staff whose banter was funny and cheery, the 'full breakfast' set me up for the day, and the variants chosen by other members of our party were equally tasty. Five roundels - couldn't be better!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We use this pub quite a bit as we can take our dog with us into the bar when we go for lunch. They have a good menu but try their specials they are really good. The staff are friendly and very helpful right down to water and biscuits for the dog. They do all day food which is a definite bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband & I intended staying here for 1 night and stayed 4 nights. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The food was wonderful and the staff made sure that a table was booked for us each night for our meal. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. All in all a wonderful little gem in the midst of our busy world. We shall definitely be back when next in the UK. Also loved the "Jam session that took place on a Thursday night. The musicians that played were brilliant. A fantastic evening to finish our sojurn in Broughty Ferry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hetlughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with my daughter in October visiting family, the food was fantastic!!! There was a table booked for us every evening so always guaranteed a seat by the cosy fire the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkiroberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stumbled into this great little hotel by coincidence and did not regret a cent! We were welcomed warmly by the staff upon arrival, shown to our room, hallways were very nice and clean. although we had pictured the room to be a bit bigger but that did not bother us much.Room was clean, comfortable and cozy. We thought the meals were great value for the money, breakfast was excellent! In the night,the noise did disturb a bit but it was no problem when i had my earplugs! GREAT staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
3.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Address: 10-16 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dundee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#10 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Fisherman's Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing