We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fisherman's Tavern Hotel-Broughty Ferry,Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Both my girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every bit of it. When we first decided to go to Scotland in April/May 2012..we had originally planned on staying in Dundee and not the town of Broughty Ferry. It was between this hotel and The Craigtay Hotel, and we made the best decision ever to stay at The Fisherman's. This hotel is ideally located near the beautiful River Tay, and surrounded by shopping and all the bars/pubs you can handle..but you wont want to go anywhere else to eat. The Fisherman's staff is extremely friendly and the food is prepared to perfection. In the states, when you stay at a hotel that includes breakfast.....it usually means cereal,waffles and maybe some toast and bacon. The Fisherman's Tavern overwhelms you with a full breakfast of eggs,toast,several varieties of meats,fresh juices and a server that is more of a mother figure, than just a server. The room we stayed in was the "newest" room they had and it was no less than spectacular. From it's twin skylights, to the view of the River, the fireplace, even the very modern bathroom. This room alone was worth the stay at this hotel. All of the staff at the bar/tavern as well as Scotland's people as a whole were extremely helpful,friendly and always had smiles on their faces. Scotland is a beautiful country filled with some of the nicest people on Earth that you would ever want to meet. Should you be fortunate enough to go visit this incredible place,start your stay off right with another incredible place..The Fisherman's Tavern Hotel-Broughty Ferry,Scotland.

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount and get the room with the private bathroom...very well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lance1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stopped in for lunch and had very helpful service and above average pub food in an authentic old pub atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Gcobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Well second time at this hotel, and its still as good as we remember. Rooms are brilliant, giant bed with TV and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. As mentioned by others parking can be a problem, but this is the same almost every where in the Ferry :-) just to many car on the roads. Food is fantastic and well priced nothing was more than £11 and good man sized portions. We were there on a Thursday night and Thursday night they have musicians pop in to play and sing! it was really good but also made it very busy, so it was a good job we had booked a table for the night. Loads of real Ales etc all in all a great hotel with bags of character and characters!

Room Tip: We have had room 1 it faces the front of the hotel and gets some noise from folk leaving at night, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcurrie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed thursday and friday night.
Struck lucky on the thursday night as they have a musicians session and guys come along and play. Excellent evening.

Food superb. Had the special of arbroath smokie pie. Chef nailed the dish. Lovely.

We had the superior room which was excellent, definitely worth the wee bit extra. no noise from the bar at all. Great shower and room facilities.

Loads to do in the area,

And finally the staff, thank you all very much. Excellent, friendly ,nothing was too much trouble for them!! Very helpful. Already planning our next trip there.

Room Tip: Superior room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shune36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Arrived at 10pm and enquired whether they were still serving food. as expected they weren't which was fine. got taken to my immaculate room by a very helpful friendly member of staff. i enquired about borrowing an iron and that was bought to my room within minutes. then the phone in my room goes with somebody offering to do me some food. A perfect introduction to my three nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed here after being snowed out of a hotel further north and got a room at the last minute.
We were given an executive room at bargain rate because of the sircumstances and had a table booked for very good meal. Friendly staff and good ales made for a great night here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The "Fish" is a wonderful, local pub/hotel oozing with character and original features. The satff are great - very friendly and helpful. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is that the brewery who now own it, Greene King, have decided to try to "modernise" this local jewel. When I was last in, there were those tacky plastic 3-sided menus on the tables with drinks promotions, for example jugs of woowoo cocktails. If I wanted this I'd go to a cheap chain like Weatherspoons. To have this in a CAMRA real ale pub is criminal. Also, why did we need to be showing Spanish football in the bar on a Saturday night? No one was remotely interested in the TV. The new owners seem to be trying to cater for the binge drinking, Saturday night neds, instead of keeping in mind that this is a treasured, local pub which we in the Ferry adore. Thanks God that the staff in the Fish recognise this - they are wonderful as always. Hands off our Fishermans!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
403 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Tavern Hotel

Address: 10-16 Fort Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dundee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $55 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fisherman's Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing