We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberlaw Guest House
Ranked #10 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I chose Aberlaw on spec because it was near where i was working. The greeting was very friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Overall it was excellent value for money. Although I went there on business, it is ideal for a short break to tour the surrounding countryside or go for a rround of golf!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited in July 2009. We were on a driving tour through Scotland and stayed in Dundee only one evening. We arrived late but still managed to have some time to spend in the lovely Living and Dining Room. Both sections of the room are well appointed. It was nice to relax on the sofas and read some of the many books that constitute a nice little library. The rooms were very clean, well appointed, high ceilings and open windows to the sea air. Beds were comfortable, although my wife and I had the "privilege" of having the Southeast upper bedroom which was equipped with two separated twin beds. The bathroom in this room is a converted closet. Although small, the bathroom was a recent beautiful remodel with up-to-date shower, toilet & fixtures. Despite the size, it was very nice. Breakfast was well done and it was a wonderful to sit by the window and take in the view of the Firth of Tay (at a distance). Parking was a bit of a squeeze as we had a small VW minivan and missed the walls, etc., by inches on either side getting in and out, just watch the mirrors! I would definitely recommend the Aberlaw Guest House when you are in Dundee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramlorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Travelling from the Midlands, I booked into Aberlaw based on the online reviews so I'd like to add my own positive comments based on my brief stay.
The friendliness and hospitality shown by Linda was second to none. The house has an inviting atmosphere with personal touches to the decor that set it apart from a business-like guesthouse.
Firstly, I had booked a single room but was upgraded free-of-charge.
The room was well-kept, spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and cooked to perfection.

Linda has a wonderful manner and her local knowledge meant that i made the most of my limited time in the city.
In all, i would recommend Aberlaw without fail and will stay there again when I'm next in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1M0N_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have to agree with all the other reviews, excellent. Linda is the perfect host - unobtrusive yet approachable, helpful and friendly.

Comfortable beds, sufficient desk space for working, spotlessly clean and quiet – windows that open too!!.

Good location either for Public or private transport and only 5 minutes’ walk from the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morladron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had stayed at Aberlaw 7 years ago, and was very pleased to be able to return. The new owner, Linda, is very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely every day, and she was very helpful with information about laundries, transportation, etc. Beautiful decor, and despite being on a major traffic route, I couldn't hear it when going to sleep. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Aberlaw for 2 nights in September 2012. I am delighted I chose to stay here as my entire visit was excellent - my room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were just great and the friendliness of the owners and staff just completed what was, for me, a first-rate guest experience. Aberlaw will be my number one choice to come back to on my next visit to family in Dundee.
Nessie, Dumfries & Galloway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Aberlaw for a week in June and found Linda to be a great host. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, with lots of variety, including full cooked breakfast. Parking available, wifi available, close to a good pub and 10 minutes walk to the city. Linda was always ready to assist, from phoning taxis to suggesting places to go. Recommend for individuals as well as families. Thanks Linda.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 740Den2012740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
94 reviews
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
2.2 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberlaw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberlaw Guest House

Property: Aberlaw Guest House
Address: 230 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 7JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberlaw Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Aberlaw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberlaw Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing