We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Breakfast and very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality Breakfast and very nice staff”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Checked in just after 2pm, then went to the bar for a beer....very nice staff and facilities. Nice firm bed and clean room. The heating was on, but I opened a windwo all night for fresh air. The breakfast was amazing, loads of choice, fresh and excellent coffee....the breakfast staff were very friendly and always on hand to help....For 2 of us it cost £54 including the breakfast ....amazing value....!!! Will be going abck for definite.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    61
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
107
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, at a very quiet time. The room we were initally allocated was perfectly adequate, but we discovered that there were problems with the television. To the hotel's credit, once we pointed this out and they were unable to fix it, without us having to ask, we were reallocated to a much larger room.

No complaints at all about the hotel - good choice at breakfast (individually cooked to order), friendly service, warm and comfortable room, and a good location, about 5 minutes wlak from the river and the shops and pubs of Broughty ferry. Ifthe hotel had been busier, then the car park would have been inadequate, Maybe a bit expensive, but then we were lazy, and didn't use the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and were very well looked after the whole time, nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the friendly staff. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant and even though I rarely eat Indian food it has to be the best I've ever had!! The full restaurant proves I'm not the only one! We loved the (huge) breakfast and we were served with smiles even though we were actually late one morning.... Our room was very comfortable and quiet, perfect! We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litle Rock, AR
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The staff in the hotel were so kind and accommodating. I found the hotel later in the afternoon after driving all day, so I just had to stop for the evening. Their dining room was packed to the gills, and although I was not up for dinner, their menu of Indian food looked fabulous. My room and bathroom was quite nice, however, since I was traveling alone and requested a single, I was in a twin bed, which I don't enjoy, however I did not want to pay more for a double bed.
It was cool outside, so I wanted to keep the windows open, however they are so close to the main highway, and it was quite noisy all night. I wish I had asked for a quieter location, however, I am not sure there is one.
Breakfast was only ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

we stayed in room 9 in august and cant believe the previous comments.the shower caused no problems.the TV had all channels although there was a problem with BBC 2.we werent kept awake by any noise .granted the bedhead is very near to the wall and made a noise but we put a cushion in the space hence no noise.the indian food in the hotel was the best weve had although it is expensive.breakfast was fine and the staff were all very friendly but then again we are friendly and speak nicely to people and in return we get smiles and the service i would expect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just spent two nights at hotel. Whilst the staff were friendly the hotel does not warrent 4 stars. We stayed in room 9 - right on the corner of a very busy junction with very heavy traffic from 5am until midnight. Shower head was far too heavy and we had to hold it when showering. Bed was an absolute nightmare, creaked loudly with the slightest of movement. Very small television which only had 2 channels (to be fair the receptionist did say there was a problem in the area with signal due to digital changover)! Staff did not appear to be overly concerned when we mentioned the noise levels, in fact she agreed! Room could only be described as 'tired' wallpaper was peeling around the door area. Did not eat in the restaurant but it obviously offers good food as it was busy both evenings however we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calmurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Have been to this hotel 4 times as we have family in Dundee and stay here when we visit. The staff are lovely, very friendly and would do anything to help! I was ill on our most recent visit over christmas and the staff were wonderfull bringing drinks etc to the room. Having the pool/gym/sauna is and can change that weekend break into something a bit more special. Rooms are beautifully decorated and the food fantastic! All in all a wonderful stay in a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylizloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.3 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Property: The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#5 Family Hotel in Dundee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing