We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
184
73
32
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
73
32
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broughty ferry curry indian food family run hotel bar supper high tea pool and sauna leisure suite small hotel wonderful stay my mum an evening meal twin room lovely hotel st andrews main road breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 306 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Check in easy on arrival
Staff seemed friendly enough
Room allocated quickly
No offer of a bell boy to assist with cases.
Double Room acceptable for what we required. Clean and tidy.
Pool, sauna, steam and gym all used with no problems. Free towels provided.
Breakfast all you can eat with excellent choice of cooked or cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurts etc
The room for the wedding ceremony was also used for the sit down meal and evening entertainment. Lovely room with friendly staff.
Music finished at midnight although if you have young children and they are in bed, the music was quite loud until then even from our second floor room.
All in all lovely relaxing break with family and would definitely return again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Neile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Neile l
We are all delighted with your review, your comments are fantastic. Sorry about the absence of a " Bellboy " if we are quiet, we can usually spare a receptionist or dishwasher to help with the customer's bag. Glad your stay was relaxing, we all hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night, the young lady who checked us in was delightful. She was also supervising the evening meal & breakfast. Our room was clean and fresh. Dinner was delicious the dining room was very well decorated and relaxing. Breakfast matched the dinner. So, overall a pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this establishment.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank marc2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Marc C,
Many thanks for your great comments, they are very much appreciated. We would love to see you again at some point in the future.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

We recently dined at the hotel with family (table of 9) to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The choice of food was excellent, making it difficult for us hahaha. Everything about the evening was first class. The kitchen was running behind schedule, so without us even asking, we were given complimentary popadums and chutney. Some of us had indian dishes, others chose from the general menu. We would not fault one meal - everything was delicious, freshly prepared and plentiful. The young girls who served us were immaculate, friendly and very professional.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scotsbluebell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Scotsbluebell 123
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, my colleagues are absolutely " chuffed " Once again many thanks we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Stayed here a few years ago & it was better than a stay of recent. Car parking still remains a nightmare, guests staying are not given priority for a space. At the entrance into the hotel there is a table where smokers frequent (first impression - not good) this could be easily be rectified and moved to the back of the car park. Staff are friendly and very helpful. I did not have dinner but breakfast was hit or miss, again not what it used to be. One day a cafeteria was given next was a cup! couldn't quite understand this methodology. Rooms are tired, none of the furnishings match so its like being back in the 70s. If you are looking for a good night's sleep, this place is not for you - bed very uncomfortable. Time for a makeover

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Maudishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Maud,
I'm very disappointed with you depressing review, it appears to me, that you are just thinking up more negatives as you are going along. Like every other hotel with a car park, we do not guarantee car parking spaces, we have customers arriving for lunches, evening meals, collecting carry outs and using the swimming pool. It would be farcical to stand outside and inform customers that Maud is on her way and needs a car parking space !! There are lots of on street parking spaces within 5 yards of our car park entrance. I cant really ask smokers to move to the rear of the car park, by law, they are allowed to smoke outside, I think discrimination would be the word to use. The same breakfast chefs have been cooking breakfasts for years. How upsetting is that, being given a cafetiere ( correct spelling ) instead of a cup. What's next ? Oh yes, tired rooms ( plural, have you been in every room ? ) All our rooms have been individually designed, all rooms are different. Believe it or not, discerning customers appreciate this, that's why they keep returning. What's next ? Oh yes, the mattress, it's like a boiled egg, soft, medium or hard. It's a personal thing.
P.S. Next time, try one of the new hotels in Dundee, you wont have any complaint about a car parking space, they don't have any car parks !!

J W Stewart ( Owner )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Food very good but room 9 poor.We specifically asked for a quiet room and a bath. I also called before arrival and was assured that we had both. Bathroom was very small. Rear end connected with washand basin when leaning over to put bubble. bath in water and I am quite a slim person. The worst part however was the noise both from the traffic on road but worst of all the water storage tank filling between 6.30 and 7am each morning. It was like lying under a waterfall. I complained as we were leaving but was met with blank stare.

Room tip: Refuse number 9
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews