We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a small 16 room Inn. The staff was incredably friendly. (They left a breakfast on our door when they found out we were leaving early for a tee time). The rooms are small and quaint and clean. The food in the restaurant was very good. The pool in the basement was kind of a neat set up. The only complaint I have is their spotty wifi in the hotel, I think it has a lot to do with how many people are on it at any given time. But it's free.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is on the second floor. I think I would try for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
53
101
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We only stayed at this charming Inn for one night. But, I would definitely stay again. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and a lovely restaurant. We were able to meet both the owner and her son, who were both very friendly. Love the blue lights in the one corner of the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 20/05. Very nice welcoming small family run hotel. All staff were friendly and I felt at home straight away. Hotel was very clean and food in bar was excellent and appeared very busy with passing trade from non residents.
The hotels pool and sauna are a great facility to have in a small hotel.
Breakfast was very nice also.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMurray16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night in May. All of the staff are very polite and efficient. The hotel is very clean. I had a single room which was very spacious and the bathroom was also a good size. The Hotel is in a nice location on a five minute walk to the sea front.

I did not eat there in thr evening, but have been told that the food is very good. The restraunt was full in the evening with people that just came to eat.

There is also a leisure centre available.

Breakfast was of a good variety and quality.

I will stay here again when in the Dundee area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel and were impressed. Our accommodation was just fine, the breakfast was splendid and we found the staff to be both attentive and helpful. The level of cleanliness throughout the place was high. We were in the area for a private function and did not take an evening meal but we understand that local people rate highly the quality of food provided in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strathmore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our second visit to this fantastic hotel. I think its all been said in previous reviews. Easy booking and check in with lovely room on the ground floor which I had requested as my husband has slight mobility problems.The food is without a doubt the best hotel food we have ever tasted, dinner superb, and as for the breakfast beautifully cooked to order and very generous portions. Cannot wait to return on our next visit to Broughty Ferry. Thanks staff for a memorable stay. In particular the maid who cleaned our room to a very high standard.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and did not hear any noise. I dont think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mags96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel Broughty Ferry on a previous occasion, this time we were attending a family dinner to celebrate our grandsons 18th Birthday and decided to stay overnight. We were welcomed by a very nice receptionist who showed us to our room which as on the previous occasions was absolutely spotless,it was well appointed with a generous complimentary Tea/Coffee tray and even a plate of lollipops for those with a sweet tooth. The dinner in the evening was delicious the age range on our table spanned from 80+ years to the 18 year old birthday boy and the huge menu catered for for all ages and tastes. Most of our party plumped for the Indian starters and main courses all of which were cooked to high standards using fresh local produce. The portions were geared towards those with large appetites and we did not disappoint the chef.The breakfast the next morning continued the great fare on offer with all you would expect from a top notch Hotel. All of the staff we met were a credit to the establishment very nice, welcoming and friendly, we cant wait to return. Many thanks to all of the team.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
3.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.3 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Property: The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dundee
#5 Family Hotel in Dundee
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing