We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not much from the outside but different on the inside. Cosy and warm with great rooms. Plenty of space, sofa lounge and furniture with some character. Bed was good and our bathroom was spacious. Dining options available on site, proper restaurant or bar lounge meals. All in all we were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SJmortons,
Thank you very much for taking the time to put " pen to paper " It's just so rewarding for myself and our staff when we receive a review such as yours. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    59
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
98
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great little gem of a hotel with big facilities! Swiming pool, gym, sauna and superb food! The staff were first class, always happy to help, smiles on their faces and always a cheery hello. So many plus points for this hotel I would be here all day listing them. If your simply out and about in Broughty Ferry I would highly recommend dropping in here for the food alone, its outstanding!

If I had to say there was one downside or bad point to this hotel it would simply be that I think 10am is a little early on a Sunday to stop breakfast, 10.30am even 11am would be better but I think thats due to the fact that they serve lunches so they may have to stop breakfast a little earlier. Other than that, this is a fantastic higly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mandyfyfe,
Many thanks for your very positive review, it's such a pleasure dealing with appreciative customers. We all agree that 10am on a Saturday & Sunday is a bit early to end breakfast service, however as you quite rightly pointed out, we have to clear and re-set for lunches which start at 11:45. Once again Mandy, many thanks for your comments, we all look forward to meeting you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There was a slight mix up on arrival as we had booked two double rooms, single occupancy, however was given a single and a twin room. When this was brought to the attention of the reception staff this minor error was rectified immediately. Our stay was over 3 consecutive nights in early April 2013.
The bedroom was of a good size and included everything to make the stay most enjoyable. Tea/coffee making facilities, sweets, biscuits, bottled water and dressing gowns to name only a few, not to mention how comfortable the bed was.
We had dinner in the hotel on the first two evenings. There was an excellent varied menu in both the restaurant and the bar.
The hotel also had a sauna and pool with lockers and changing facilities, which was very enjoyable when used as very quiet, not the normal busy hotel/member chain which you would maybe find in other hotels.
During our stay the hotel staff were very friendly, in particular an older couple, presumed to be the owners, whom would always stop for a chat when possible.
Thankyou again for a wonderful stay, will be back next time we are in Dundee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Stuart R,
It's just so rewarding when customers such as yourself, take the time to write wonderful comments about our hotel. You have no idea the affect it has on our staff, it boosts their morale to great heights. To say they really appreciate your kind words would be an understatement. Many many thanks, we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great hotel, food was first class . Management and staff were superb attention to detail was excellent and we wanted for nothing.We will be going back without any doubt.We did not have any children with us but Jerry was excellent with our families children.This is very rare in the bigger Hotels.Thankyou once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 506johnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear 506johnk,
Many thanks for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. Your positive comments on the standard of food and also the comments about the proficiency of our staff, just make our jobs even more rewarding & enjoyable. Once again, many thanks, we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great hotel, very comfortable, clean and well maintained. We stayed on a Saturday night out of season but the restaurant was heaving, and still the staff managed to fit us in for dinner. The restaurant menu is extensive to say the least, and the food was very good.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful, but the hotel came into its own when we ran into trouble the following day. Our car wouldn't start, leaving us stranded on a Sunday, miles from home. The owner immediately stepped in, arranged for a mechanic to come and then personally drove us to the rail station so we could continue our journey. To say they went the extra mile would be a considerable understatement. Our experience before this episode was good enough, but we left feeling geniunely grateful and keen to return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Good afternoon Niall,
Many thanks for your very kind review, I'm delighted you found our hotel comfortabe, unlike the Gentleman a couple of reviews ago ! Great to know you got home safely, we do try to help our customers as much as possible. We would be delighted to welcome you both back, it would be a pleasure for the staff and myself to see you once again. Take care, I hope the car does not take unwell again !
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice hotel, it was lovely to go down in the morning for a swim. the hotel is very well located for shopping and pubs, also if you want to walk down front .This is a lovely location if you want to go walking.

Room Tip: for those who are not very good on your legs, i would ask for a low number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makinsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Makinsav,
Many thanks for your very positive review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and delighted you used the swimming pool. Not enough residents use this facility. I agree with you that our location is superb, there are some magnificent views within a few hundred yards of our hotel. Once again, many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently had a midweek stay at the Broughty Ferry as a solo business traveller.

My usual must have's of free parking and free wi-fi helped me choose to stay here, along with other Tripavisor reviews. It is a family run business, and as far as the staff and food are concerned I have no complaints. Both restaurant and bar were really busy, mainly with locals coming in for dinner. I had a Tandori Mixed Grill in the restaurant, which included rice, bread and a choice of sauce. It was nice, but although I can eat, at least a 1/3rd of it went back as I was full!

The bedrooms are not great, they are clean but not particularly comfortable, and the lack of any desk space combined with a weak wi-fi signal made working difficult to say the least. Lets just say a little old fashioned.

I would recommend the Broughty Ferry for leisure, not for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JustinHemel,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate residents making positive comments. I'm sorry the Tandoori mixed grill was too much for your appetite, the menu does explain the contents of this particular dish are pretty large, if a diner chooses this dish then obviously they are very hungry. I'm disappointed to read that you found your room uncomfortable,In 2012, we spent over £80,000 on rooms. We must have inadvertently missed your one out. We do know that the hotel is old fashioned, however, we, like most of our customers, prefer it that way. I note that you, quite rightly, like many others, are drawn towards hotels that offer you free car parking & free wi-fi, however, you could have mentioned that we also offer complimentary slippers and use of bathrobes, complimentary leisure facilities, ( swimming pool, gym and sauna ) complimentary full Scottish breakfast, complimentary sweeties, complimentary bottled water in the rooms and complimentary local courtesy transport. I use the old fashioned word complimentary rather than free, it's so much nicer ! On the positive side, many thanks for your comments regarding the staff, sorry about the tandoori meal being too large, the weak wi-fi and the lack of desk in your room. Hopefully we will see you again as a leisure customer rather than a business one.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 32 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.3 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#21 of 32 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Property: The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dundee
#5 Family Hotel in Dundee
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing