We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant place you must stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“brilliant place you must stay here!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great staff, great food and a leisure club with pool!! Amazing value and really comfortable rooms, I would NEVER stay anywhere else when in the area! Wonderful and so much better than the bland chain hotels!

Room Tip: single room, room 5!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonWalton50004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dearb Jonwalton,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate customers taking the time to write positive reviews. We all look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    61
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
59
108
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had a very pleasant but all too short stay at this hotel.Had an individual feel that you don't find often in hotels these days.Our room was spacious,clean and had a wee hint of luxury.We did not have an evening meal however the joint was mobbed in the evening which would suggest the food is good.Our breakfast was excellant we used the pool and sauna both of which were up to high standard.Staff at all times pleasant and helpful.Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Josephk,
Many thanks for your excellent review, we are very happy you enjoyed both the accommodation and our cuisine. Hopefully you will stay a bit longer the next time.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting Dundee for a night out! We stayed in room 12 and were amazed at how big it was. The room was very comfortable with plenty cupboard space, mirrors , lovely big windows. The bathroom was lovely too with a big corner bath!
There was bottled water (still and sparkling) complimentary in the room, along with a jar of sweets, tea/coffee biscuits!
Nice bath robes and slippers too (we didn't actually use them, but very nice touch)
We ate in the restaurante, (5 of us) and all enjoyed the meal. 2 of our group had the Indian menu and loved it.
All of the staff were friendly and attentive.
Only regret is we were too rushed and didn't really get the chance to enjoy the room (our fault, not the hotels!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 and my brother in room 11, both were good sized, but would go for No 12 again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leezybeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear leezybeezy,
Many thanks for your terrific review, it makes all the hard work worth while. I note that you were particularly pleased with room 10, as you quite rightly pointed out, all the rooms have slippers, bathrobes, jar of sweeties, wi-fi, tea and coffee, sparkling and still water. I hope leezybreezy, you don't mind me also mentioning the complimentary leisure suite ( swimming pool, sauna and gym. ) Next time, remember the Speedos ! Once again, many thanks for your review, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Hotel Broughty Ferry.
The hotel is very clean, staff very friendly. There is a bar and a restaurant at the hotel, both I can highly recomnend.
There is also a pool, solarium, sauna etc.
We celebrated a friends birthday in the restaurant and we all opted for the Indisn food on the menu. This was very good.
The breakfast are filling and made with quality ingredients.
Plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits in room plus a lovely little touch of a jar of sweets
Also iron, ironing board and hairdryer.
Jerry (owner) should feel proud of the hotel & the staff who help her run it.
Well done all

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqr1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at The Broughty Ferry Hotel in Dundee on a flying visit last weekend and were thoroughly impressed with this small family run Hotel.A great immaculate swimming pool and gym,sauna etc was a bonus.The Indian cuisine was the best i have tasted and i even got to try some high tea baking at the end of our meal.One thing that struck me which is different to big chain hotels is the friendliness of the young staff and attentive care - we forget how good service should be nowadays.I will definately return when next in Dundee. Oh and incidentally this Hotel was the cheapest by a long shot that i have ever stayed in and yet the best all round for food,ammenities and staff .The room was huge and everything worked including complimentary shampoos etc and dressing gown and slippers.beat that !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Yet again, another fantastic stay at the Hotel Broughty Ferry. This is the third time we have stayed here ths year and look forward to coming back at Christmas. Fantastic welcome from the owners, a beautiful clean and quiet room and the best hotel breakfast ever which is cooked to order. Did not manage dinner in the restaurant this time as it was fully booked but were recommended a smashing alternative in Broughty Ferry. However, did manage one of their 'High Teas' which was superb and excellent value for money. Altogether, a cracking hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_mrbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Came up from London to scatter my grandads ashes in the Tay. Stayed at the Hotel Broughty Ferry. Good food, great room and fantastic staff. Hotel staff in London could learn a thing or two from these guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxa186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Maxa,
Glad you had a safe journey home. Although your visit was for a sad occasion, we are delighted you have taken the time to write these woderful words, this just makes our job all worthwhile.
Hopefully, we will see you once more in the not too distant future.
P.S. Give London my love !
Kind regards,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#15 of 28 in Dundee
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Property: The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dundee
#5 Family Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing