We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best hotel of our trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent the last two nights of our holiday at this hotel and we loved it,the hotel and room were lovely and beautifully clean .We loved the pool and gym and again spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was varied and very good this was the only hotel we stayed at in Scotland that served porridge and it was lovely almost as good as my Mum's, my husband said the poached eggs were prefect .We ate in the bar on Saturday night and it was really good and a lovely last evening of our holiday the bar was busy when we arrived but the barman took our order and delivered our meal in no time at all,the service in the bar was excellent .
This was our favourite hotel of our ten day trip and we were made to feel very welcome by every member of staff we met and without a doubt if we were to return to Broughty Ferry or Dundee we would stay at this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
When we receive a review such as yours, it makes all the hard work worth while. I have of course shown the staff your excellent comments, they are all delighted, we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Once again, many thanks it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    61
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
107
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What a great welcome, collected from the airport then a tour of Broughty Ferry once the driver knew I used to live there. Fab twin room, food amazing, staff very friendly. Taken back to the airport, bags checked in for us. Will definately me back/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Many thanks girls, you two were just wonderful guests. Remember, we are only two hours away, so haste ye back !!
Cheers,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked this hotel on line after reading reviews and it was a wonderful place to stay in Dundee, Scotland. Took bus afer walking up short street from train station and Broughty Ferry Hotel right on corner of bus stop. Lovely reception with proprietor greeting and helping me get sorted out to see the sights of St Andrews and Broughty Ferry. He even took me to the bus station and gave me a history lesson on the area of Dundee and the three J's.
Indian food delicious, Scottish food delicious, comfortable room -could not ask for anything more as a woman traveling alone-VEry friendly staff, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Lyn906
Many thanks for your very kind words, it's lovely when a valued customer such as yourself, takes time to write a very complimentary review about our hotel. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come back some time and I'll give you some more lessons on the history of Dundee ! Once again, many thanks, we hope to see you again at some time in the future.
All the best to you & your family.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from our stay at this hotel. Would highly recommend. Very comfortable rooms, very polite, friendly staff and nothing too much trouble. Lovely pool, gym and sauna and gorgeous breakfast (best poached eggs I have ever had).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie22983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Good morning girls,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope you enjoyed your weekend in Broughty Ferry, I'm sure you did. Delighted you enjoyed breakfast especially as it was me who cooked it !! All the very best.
Jeff Stewart ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

after a heavy discussion on arriving,cause didnt get the rom we booked,we were reloc! !ated anight later to the room we expected to get from the beginning. nobody mention that the railroad right soon behind the hotel and whole house shaking when a high sped train pass by.sauna need renovation! no place downstairs to rest after sauna or swimming,showers are also poor.its not so nice,also curry smell downstairs. rooms r ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergenwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Sir,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in our hotel. The accommodation provider that you chose, mistakenly reserved a twin room instead of a double, however after the first night we did manage to move you to a de-luxe double for the rest of your stay. When you checked in, our receptionist tried in vain to explain that this was not the hotel's fault, however you chose to go down the road of being aggressive, disruptive and threatening to the point of reducing the girl to tears. We feel that had we had a male receptionist on duty this kind of behaviour would not have occurred. On the positive side you did at least apologise on the following day and admitted that your behaviour was unacceptible. Unfortunately your bad behaviour continued on another night when for no apparent reason you threw the menu at the waitress. As far as trains going past the hotel and shaking the building, well we've never experienced this, I have a feeling that if this were the case, this hotel would now be a heap of rubble. We have never ever had a complaint about the sauna or the showers in our leisure suite, need I say more ! Also no other customers have ever complained about the smell of curries in the public areas, in fact they all have wonderful comments to make about our food aromas. On a lighter note we did find it quite amusing when you compared our hotel facilities to ones in New York and Las Vegas, this is after all a15 bed roomed hotel in a fishing village on the East coast of Scotland ! As I have already said, we are sorry you did not enjoy your experience in our hotel, we did not enjoy the experience either.
Jeff Stewart ( Director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband & I stayed for a long weekend - this is our second visit to the Hotel, 1st time was for our Honeymoon last year & ironically we stayed in the same room - not requested purely by chance.
The food is amazing 1st class!! - breakfast, bar snacks & restaurant.
The leisure suite is spotlessly clean & the pool is so relaxing.
I would definitely recommend staying here, when visiting Dundee, Infact, dont think I would stay anywhere else now!!
Thank you Jeff, Gerry & staff for making our stay another memorable one.
See you next time
Stacey & Steve Davies

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meestace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi Stacy and Steve,
Many thanks for your great review, it is very much appreciated. Comments such as yours make all the hard work worthwhile. We hope to see you both soon.
Kind regards,
Jeff & Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Broughty Ferry while on vacation from Canada. The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The food was delicious each and every time we ate there. The staff was very welcoming, always pleasant and extremely courteous and helpful. The owners are wonderful people! The Hotel was definately our home away from home. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Broughty Ferry the next time you visit Dundee, Scotland. Thanks for everything Gerry and Jeff and the rest of the Hotel Broughty Ferry clan. We appreciate all you did to make our trip so memorable! Samantha and Ken O'Brien

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaJOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi Sam & Ken,
Many thanks for your wonderful review, it's very much appreciated. Gerry, myself and all the staff, really welcome positive comments such as yours, it make our efforts all worth while. Let's hope it's not too long before we see you all again.
LOL Jeff & Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.3 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Property: The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#5 Family Hotel in Dundee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Broughty Ferry 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing