We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay at Alcorn Guest House booked through laterooms.com”
Review of Alcorn Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcorn Guest House
Ranked #14 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 night stay at Alcorn Guest House booked through laterooms.com”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely owner, very welcoming. Room which was a family room, two adjoining rooms with ensuite, was immaculate. Two options for breakfast, continental or traditional cooked - both lovely. You are asked the night before what time you would like breakfast and what option you would prefer, AND what time you would prefer, excellent if you have to be at an event first thing. Also offered breakfast to take up to room for a member of family who had chosen not to come down for breakfast. Owner also telephoned taxis for us on several occasions as we were attending Graduation ceremony and weather not good and the car parking facilities in central Dundee on those two days not good. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: For families - the family room with ensuite is excellent, one double room with another room off acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_Anne186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Had a lovely overnight stay on Friday, good clean comfortable room. The owner was so helpful and very caring.

A must to go back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown on Spey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nice and clean guest house , clean room, good bed ,quiet location, lovely bathroom. The landlady is a real character and will stay there again when in Dundee.

Room Tip: Rooms to West side /road side have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed there 3 nights, the rooms were very comfortable and immaculate. the owner very friendly, breakfast good with nice fresh cofffee. Easy walking distance to the city centre 20 max. would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratburgerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

All i can and will say about this place is that despite requesting a double room we were given a converted stairwell with two single beds in it. Not only this. Inside this 'room' (i use the term loosely!) were two doors which could not be locked...the other side of these doors? Stairs to other rooms through one, and an actual other room through the other, leaving us with no option but to push the beds up to the doors in order to make the room safe and secure.

As for the bathroom. More like walk in cupboard full of rust.

Dire. Horrible. Dank. Rubbish food. Horrible staff. Dundee as a city can be summed up by this one horrific B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEGM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalitha R, Owner at Alcorn Guest House, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
I am sorry you were not given a double room as requested. The room you stayed is part of a family unit and the two doors should have been locked. I can only apologise and hope your stay will be better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night while at a wedding in Dundee. Having never stayed at guest house before I was pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome we recieved. The manager was very friendly and efficient.
Our room was large and had all the facilities needed. We were also provided with a lovely cooked breakfast next morning which was very reasonably priced.
Would use this guest house next time we are back in Dundee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisy0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I had a very large and well-appointed double room (en-suite) at Alcorn Guest House. The staff was friendly and flexible about check in, breakfast, etc. The beds were very comfortable and noise from other rooms was minimal. We would definitely stay there again if we need to be in Dundee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryNut101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#4 of 28 in Dundee
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcorn Guest House

Property: Alcorn Guest House
Address: 5 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcorn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alcorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcorn Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing