We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Honeymoon Trip”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and I visited Scotland to celebrate our honeymoon and to play golf. We were lucky enough to find Mark and his fantastic place. We ate great food, drank several of the 450 scotch choices Mark has and also had some great wine and superb company. The staff and host were one of the highlites of our trip! Thanks again to everyone at the Taychreggan for making our trip great.
Art & Michele

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinal2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
57
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and there's lots of plus points for this hotel: good location (just 3 miles from city centre), free car parking, well-stocked bar, freshly prepared breakfast, friendly helpful staff & free WI-FI.
However I was allocated R1 at the car park side of the building which was a family room with a double bed and bunk beds in a separate room - old TVs with unpredictable Freeview, low-power shower & rattling windows - generally in need of refurbishment. My colleague had a refurbished room at the front of the hotel which was significantly better than R1.
All said though at £60 B&B this hotel represents good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

i stayed here for 3 weeks on business - i can't imagine a nicer place to stay if you are in the dundee area. the staff is INCREDIBLE, the food is really wonderful (lots of local people come here for special occasions) and the rooms that over look the garden and river are very nice (some of the others are a bit small and not as nicely renovated - so ask for these), but even if you can't get those it is still a beautiful old inn and a wonderful place to stay. also, broughty ferry/dundee is only about 20 minutes from st. andrews (beautiful town!) by car or bus, and an hour from edinburgh - the train station is only about 10 minutes away so you can easily get pretty much any where you want to go in scotland - and kids (and i think people over 55 too) travel free on the trains in scotland! if you like to walk/hike - don't miss the coastal walk in east neuk of fife! about 40 minutes by bus and i'm sure much quicker by car. walk from one beautiful little fishing village to another on an amazing trail by the ocean - crail to anstruther (best fish and chips in scotland) was a particularly pretty section of the trail.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I was looking for a hotel in St Andrews for work and couldn't find anything, so came across the Taychreggan by chance.Looked good on the web so gave it a try. I was really surprised when I arrived.Lovely old building, friendly welcome.Rooms are large. One of the best things about the hotel (apart from the great staff) is the restaurant. They serve set or a la carte. A great deal is eat before 7 or so and get 2 courses and a glass of wine for under £15! great food well worth it. The bar is extremely well stocked and a wonderful touch is the whiskey list. I could count all the bottles but I was told there was 300! I also heard they won a award for the bar. Breakfast is the best I've had for a long time.You must have the black pudding it's to die for.

I enjoyed my stray so much I booked again the next time I was up even though its a 15-20 minute drive to St Andrews. Hope to be back again this August.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismuldutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2010

9 golfers looking for hotel in this Area with good food and accomodation.
Unseen and using Web information only, we found a little gem.
The food was excellent, the accomodation was just right.
The rooms were very spacious with huge old sash windows which ( back rooms only) had splendid views looking out over the river Tay.
What made our stay though was the hotel staff. Various members of staff worked different Shifts throughout our 4 night stay and each and everyone of them were so friendly and right on the button with curtious service.
Highly recommend and would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fujia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Once again the reviews on Tripadvisor brought us to this hotel and we really enjoyed our two day stay here. The locals really patronise the restaurant which is understandable, great service and food. Our room was comfortable but I did notice that the other side of the hotel looked more recently decorated, but no complaints. As this hotel is off the main road is nice and quiet. You do require a car as this hotel is on the other side of Dundee near the Broughty Castle....just a small ruin really. The staff and restaurant make this place worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Business took me back to Dundee and my firm booked me for a week at Taychreggan and I was very impressed.

Check in was smooth and faultless and the staff were welcoming and friendly

I was in room 4 which was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. TV and freeview, phone, hairdryer, en suite shower room. Plenty of hanging and drawer space

The meals served in the restaurant and wonderful and fairly priced (You will notice this place is popular with local diners too). There is a fine selection of wines and many of the better ones are available by the glass (which makes a pleasant change).

The bar lacked a real ale on hand pump, but compensation for this was made by them having imported Budvar on draught. Visitors cannot fail to notice the mighty array of single malt whiskies available (480+ varieties I believe) and Vigar who ran the bar was very knowledgeable on these and will happily make recommendations should you fancy trying an unknown brand.

Breakfast is first class. Tea, coffee, fresh fruit juice, toast, cereal and a splendid cooked selection. - PLEASE make sure you try the Stornaway black pudding - It's delicious.

The hotel itself is located on a quiet road on the outskirts of Broughty Ferry and has ample parking and a lovely sheltered south facing garden.

The only downside (and this is a bit pedantic) is that the room I was in received a weak internet and mobile phone signal. However I believe this is not a problem in most rooms (I was in a single room).

On a final note, if you read through the reviews of this hotel, you will find one that suggests the hotel is overly "posh" or stuffy. That is nonsense. The Taychreggan is warm, welcoming and offers excellent hospitality at a very reasonable price If you are looking for a bar that does cheap beer promotions and has a banging juke box competing with blaring TV, this wont be the place for you. Similarly if you want to eat chicken nuggets and chips then look elsewhere.

However is you require a base for exploring this coast of Scotland, that has all the home comforts, excellent staff, superb food and a cosy bar this is just the place you need.

I stopped Monday - Friday and then returned again for a further night this week. When I return to the area later in the year I will certainly stop here again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.8 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#15 of 28 in Dundee
345 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#20 of 28 in Dundee
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Panmure Hotel
Panmure Hotel
#25 of 28 in Dundee
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing