We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

In Dundee, a city of considerable charm and natural beauty but a shortage of decent hotels, the Taychreggan is a hidden gem. It occupies a grand, former mill-owner's hpuse in the residential suburb of Broughty Ferry, and sits in delightful, immaculately kept grounds in an elevated position with sweeping views of the Tay estuary.
We have stayed here twice and eaten on numerous occasions, including several enjoyable lunches with my 92-year-old aunt.
Our room was newly refurbished and quite splendid: large, comfortable, with en-suite bathroom/shower and a separate dressing-room. On our last evening our daughter and her two children joined us. Thery were given an excellent family suite with bathroom, a king-size bed and a second room with bunk beds.
There was no noise, standards of cleaning and housekeeping in bedrooms and public areas were of the highest, and breakfasts were copious in the best Scottish tradition! - although there was also ample choice for those with smaller appetites.
There is a popular restaurant offereing an extensive lunch-time and evening menu, with a pleasant adjoining bar area for pre- and post-dinner drinks. There are also tables and chairs outside on the patio and lawn. There is adequate parking in the private car parks to the side and rear of the hotel.
This is a privately owned, family-run establishment with high standards and a team of very attentive and obliging staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
57
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We booked for two nights and stayed for three. GREAT STAFF!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draguignan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

A well positioned, friendly and professional hotel and restaurant. Superbly located on the edge of Dundee, this impressive family run hotel is impeccably presented both in the gardens, public rooms and the guests rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful always willing to give advice or have a chat about the day ahead.
The bar has an impressive stock of wines and whiskeys which the staff and particularly the manager have a very detailed knowledge and are more than happy to pass on. The food in the restaurant was outstanding with a menu to suit all palates.
All in all a fantastic hotel which I would recommend to anyone. Fabulous location, friendly helpful staff and supurb food and drink at an excellent price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plassey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We were very impressed with the very friendly and helpful staff who made our stay very very enjoyable.

The range of Whisky available in the bar is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed here for a long weekend with our two children (aged 6 and 7) and stayed in the family room. The welcome to the hotel was the warmest I have ever experienced and you were made to feel that nothing would be too much trouble, the children were made to feel very welcome too, and given free rein to run around the hotel gardens! The family room was excellent for our purpose, the children had their own bedroom off of our room which had sturdy bunk beds, storage space and their own television and freeview box. Our room had a very comfortable bed, ample storage, shower room, television and freeview box. On Sunday evening we took High Tea in the restaurant which was an experience enjoyed by the whole family. and was at a very reasonable cost. A good variety of choices were on offer for the breakfast menu. The hotel is in a good position for visiting Dundee, and located close enough to main roads to be easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerevisiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I have experienced a lovely weekend with my wife. I was impressed with the whiskey collection that Mark(the owner - very nice guy). Besides that, Mark can explain anything about Scotch Whiskey, he is a master.the food was great. The staff are so friendly and polite.
In addition, the rooms are great (size, clean, spacious bathroom) and has a HD TV(it's real). It has a beautiful garden, very appreciated with a nice weather. We got lucky because it was 25 degrees. It is worth the experience. It is unique. If you are thinking on having an original experience, go for it. It is not like Edinburgh, you can't find tourists, only locals.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olfakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.7 mi away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#20 of 28 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.6 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Ellieslea Road | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel And Restaurant
Taychreggan Hotel Dundee
Taychreggan Hotel & Restaurant Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing