We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“What you expect.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Well It is exactly what you would expect from a chain such as this. Clean rooms, standard greetings and not much that you would really find to complain about. The pub attached as the standard food chain affair with nice food, but yea, other than the pricing of the hotel rooms slowly going up over the years, nothing bad you could really say, does exactly what it says on the tin "budget hotel chain".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dundee West Premier Inn.

It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Dundee West, Hopefully there are many more stays to follow!

I will also pass this on to the team who will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay also

I will pass on your feedback to the Beefeater Restaurant as they will be delighted with your comments about the there nice food

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    156
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
153
155
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here Monday night and it was the best nights sleep I have had in a Premier Inn. Quiet, comfortable bed and a powerful shower. Breakfast was really good as well. As a business user these are the main things I look for as well as Wifi. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dundee West Premier Inn.

The Team here at Dundee West are delighted that we provided you with the best nights sleep you have ever had in Premier Inn. We strive to give our guests the best facilities possible and are delighted that we have done that for you , from the comfortable bed to the powerful shower and the availability of WIFI.

I will also pass your comments on to the Beefeater restaurant on how good your breakfast was in the morning as I know they will be delighted to hear this.

I look forward to your return to Dundee West and I hope we can make your stay just as good or maybe even better!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas & New Year period with friends who have family in Dundee. I gave it 5 out of 5 last time but this time although we enjoyed our stay we had a couple of grumbles. The hotel is very clean, very spacious & very comfortable and the reception staff were very friendly, but their seemed to be a staff shortage and on a couple of days over the period the rooms weren't cleaned etc. But what annoyed us the most was the hostile attitude of the restaurant manageress, first of all when we first checked in we got told that we had booked for four Christmas dinners and she wanted confirmation and payment. At no time did anyone from our group book Christmas dinner as we had made other arrangements elsewhere a long time ago, we have no idea where this so called booking came from, when we relayed this to the manageress her attitude was disgraceful she mumbled that she was going to lose money etc because we weren't having the booking. This was none of our business if she had made a mistake or if someone else in the hotel was trying to influence us into having dinner there, as I said at no time did a booking come from anyone from our group so why was she being so rude and so unprofessional in our direction? Also on New Years Eve too we got told by the receptionist that we could order dinner up until 6pm before a special menu was being implemented, but on that afternoon the restaurant manageress changed this at a very short notice to 5.30pm which was very inconvenient to us. Apart from that breakfast was very good but the main bar menu could do with more choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dundee West Premier Inn.

I would like to apologise regards your room not being serviced during the festive period. I will pass this on to the Head Housekeeper who will be deeply disappointed this has occurred during your stay with us, and I hope this will not detract you from staying with us in the future.

I will also pass on your comments to the manager of the beefeater restaurant

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Excellent accomodation quiet rooms good value for money, comfotable beds and large rooms well equiped.The Beefeater restaurant serves very good food .And I particularly enjoyed the Breakfast.I will stay here again.





  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dundee West Premier Inn.

It was fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay in a Premier Inn so much. Hopefully there are many more stays to follow!

I will also pass this on to the team who will be thrilled to here that you enjoyed your stay also

I will pass on your feedback to the Beefeater Restaurant who will thrilled to here these great comments especially about the breakfast!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I found this hotel very quiet at night. Doors close quietly which is not the case in some other hotels. I certainly slept well and my room was very clean and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your first stay with us at Dundee West Premier Inn.

We really do strive to make everyone’s stay comfortable and enjoyable and it means a lot to the team to receive such positive feedback.

I will pass the feedback onto the team and they will delighted that they have made your stay memorable.

We hope to see you again in the future and make your stay just as memorable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The 3 night stay here was very comfortable as always. Restaurant though I feel lets it down every time. Food isn't bad but service is slow and the staff seems very overworked and unhappy. Please sort out the staffing as it's not the first time we've come across very stressed out staff there.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weechip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen B, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your first stay with us at Dundee West Premier Inn.

We really do strive to make everyone’s stay comfortable and enjoyable and it means a lot to the team to receive such positive feedback.

I will pass the feedback onto the team and they will delighted that they have made your stay enjoyable

I will also pass the feedback on to the Beefeater restaurant regards your experience that you had

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

they should have proper bathrooms for disabled not just a few grab rails. wet rooms are so much easier for everyone. quiet in the room but ours needed a new bed, uncomfortable and noisy frame, creaked whenever one of us turned over!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
7.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#3 Business Hotel in Dundee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#7 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Scotland's last working jute mill at Verdant Works or soak up some culture at Caird Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing