We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Served the purpose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Served the purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Comfortable, although check in is a bit tiresome, especially as there is only one person in the reception, we had a tour bus arrive to, so took 20 minutes to get a key. Food in the restaurant next door, give that a skip, McDonalds is across the road, and the food is better

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    194
    75
    30
    12
See reviews for
160
154
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed one night as a stop over breaking a long drive. Susan on reception was most welcoming and very helpful indeed - as was Angie in the morning. The weather was very warm and upon arriving at my room I found a fan blasting cool air around and the curtains closed to reduce as much sunlight as possible. Nice touch! What you see is what you get with Premier Inn - the room was clean and the bathroom dated but also very clean. The shower was very good but don't have any ideas about 'power shower' settings - as if you do you'll have to fight the shower curtain for dear life. Check out time is 12 noon! Fab for a lie in.

Word of caution - unless you own a protective suit of some kind - avoid the pub/restaurant next door. I've been in some dives but jeez! McDonalds over the road could be classed as fine dining in comparison. You've been warned!

Room Tip: Lift access so any floor is fine - ask for room at the back (opposite side from the car park) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowPeter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear GlasgowPeter57,

Many thanks for your review of Dundee North Premier Inn.

Its fantastic to read that Susan and Angie were both welcoming and helpful, but I do hope the review heading was not relating to either of them…?!

The Weavers Mill restaurant is not owned or operated by Premier Inn, but please feel free to contact me directly as I will pass on any feedback you may have.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked in for 2 nights recently as we use Premier Inns all the time and travel a lot.
On arrival at check in the young Asian guy on duty was not very good compared to the normally excellent reception staff. He did not communicate very well and clearly should not have been on reception as the first person that you meet.
The room was good, normal Premier Inn standard and very warm so the fan was a nice touch.
However the worst thing of all was both mornings we came out of our room, ALL the fire doors were wedged wide open which is both dangerous and against the law and it was clearly a daily practice which really needs to be addressed and certainly needs to be stopped.
Avoid The Weavers pub/restaurant next door as its by far the worst restaurant associated with Premier Inn we have ever come across. Its the dirtiest, unorganised and poorly staffed place we have ever been in.
We ate there on the Saturday night and we had to wait for the FLOOR to be cleaned before we could even sit down. Some of the staff were rude and inadequately trained and ended up one of the worst eating experiences ever.
Breakfast on the Sunday was dismal and the staff miserable and the floor was still covered with food from the night before.
However breakfast on the Monday was different again and the lasy in charge was lovely and her staff friendly and helpful.
We would use the Premier Inn again but just not eat any meals there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Robjoy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I can only apologise about your welcome as that’s not the impression we try to give. I will look into your comments regarding this.

When it is hot inside and out, we open the fire doors to try and encourage fresh air around the hotel. Team members are in the areas when the doors are open and if the alarm sounds the doors will be closed. We are really trying to reduce the temperature so our guests can have a comfortable stay.

The Weavers Mill is not owned or operated by Premier Inn, but I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

If you wish to contact me directly please do so on my details below.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were warned this would be on a noisy complex but not so. We had a great nights sleep and it was handy having leisure facilities near by. This was a budget stopover as part of our honeymoon. 10/10 x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Sarah Jane H,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North Premier Inn.

It’s fantastic to read your review and were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

this hotel is in the leisure park when we arrived on the friday night we noticed security gaurds outside the macdonalds and kfc and thought the worst but were pleaseantly surprised no noise nothing the hotel staff were nice and friendly and the hotel room was spotless

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macduff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have stayed here before and find it very nice, comfy and friendly. Staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Asked for a fan as it was very hot in room and receptionist went and got one immediately. Lovely surroundings for walking in too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am a fan of the Premier Inn brand and actively search them out when travelling, however i can honestly say this is the worst Premier Inn I have stayed in. This is not a reflection on the staff, as all my dealings with them were positive. This is more a reflection on the age and the tiredness of the hotel, the bathroom and the exterior of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazmc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear bazMc666,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Can you please contact me directly to discuss your review? I have sent you a private message.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Address: 1 Dayton Drive | Camperdown Leisure Park, Kingsway, Dundee DD2 3SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dundee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park the stress and dive into all the fun of a twenty-first century leisure park, with a stay at Premier Inn Hotel Dundee North. With a cinema and ice rink just round the corner, not to mention the beautiful Camperdown Park, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Explore the five glens of Angus, or play a short nine holes at St Andrews. See over fifty classic planes at Leuchars Airshow, or see countless blooms at the Dundee Flower & Food Festival. Then it's back to the hotel to enjoy our spacious rooms with extra-cosy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing