We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired old girl with a friendly nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed one night as a stop over breaking a long drive. Susan on reception was most welcoming and very helpful indeed - as was Angie in the morning. The weather was very warm and upon arriving at my room I found a fan blasting cool air around and the curtains closed to reduce as much sunlight as possible. Nice touch! What you see is what you get with Premier Inn - the room was clean and the bathroom dated but also very clean. The shower was very good but don't have any ideas about 'power shower' settings - as if you do you'll have to fight the shower curtain for dear life. Check out time is 12 noon! Fab for a lie in.

Word of caution - unless you own a protective suit of some kind - avoid the pub/restaurant next door. I've been in some dives but jeez! McDonalds over the road could be classed as fine dining in comparison. You've been warned!

Room Tip: Lift access so any floor is fine - ask for room at the back (opposite side from the car park) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowPeter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear GlasgowPeter57,

Many thanks for your review of Dundee North Premier Inn.

Its fantastic to read that Susan and Angie were both welcoming and helpful, but I do hope the review heading was not relating to either of them…?!

The Weavers Mill restaurant is not owned or operated by Premier Inn, but please feel free to contact me directly as I will pass on any feedback you may have.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked in for 2 nights recently as we use Premier Inns all the time and travel a lot.
On arrival at check in the young Asian guy on duty was not very good compared to the normally excellent reception staff. He did not communicate very well and clearly should not have been on reception as the first person that you meet.
The room was good, normal Premier Inn standard and very warm so the fan was a nice touch.
However the worst thing of all was both mornings we came out of our room, ALL the fire doors were wedged wide open which is both dangerous and against the law and it was clearly a daily practice which really needs to be addressed and certainly needs to be stopped.
Avoid The Weavers pub/restaurant next door as its by far the worst restaurant associated with Premier Inn we have ever come across. Its the dirtiest, unorganised and poorly staffed place we have ever been in.
We ate there on the Saturday night and we had to wait for the FLOOR to be cleaned before we could even sit down. Some of the staff were rude and inadequately trained and ended up one of the worst eating experiences ever.
Breakfast on the Sunday was dismal and the staff miserable and the floor was still covered with food from the night before.
However breakfast on the Monday was different again and the lasy in charge was lovely and her staff friendly and helpful.
We would use the Premier Inn again but just not eat any meals there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Robjoy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I can only apologise about your welcome as that’s not the impression we try to give. I will look into your comments regarding this.

When it is hot inside and out, we open the fire doors to try and encourage fresh air around the hotel. Team members are in the areas when the doors are open and if the alarm sounds the doors will be closed. We are really trying to reduce the temperature so our guests can have a comfortable stay.

The Weavers Mill is not owned or operated by Premier Inn, but I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

If you wish to contact me directly please do so on my details below.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant

Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were warned this would be on a noisy complex but not so. We had a great nights sleep and it was handy having leisure facilities near by. This was a budget stopover as part of our honeymoon. 10/10 x

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Sarah Jane H,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North Premier Inn.

It’s fantastic to read your review and were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

this hotel is in the leisure park when we arrived on the friday night we noticed security gaurds outside the macdonalds and kfc and thought the worst but were pleaseantly surprised no noise nothing the hotel staff were nice and friendly and the hotel room was spotless

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank john1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have stayed here before and find it very nice, comfy and friendly. Staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Asked for a fan as it was very hot in room and receptionist went and got one immediately. Lovely surroundings for walking in too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am a fan of the Premier Inn brand and actively search them out when travelling, however i can honestly say this is the worst Premier Inn I have stayed in. This is not a reflection on the staff, as all my dealings with them were positive. This is more a reflection on the age and the tiredness of the hotel, the bathroom and the exterior of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazmc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear bazMc666,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Can you please contact me directly to discuss your review? I have sent you a private message.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I have been staying here for 2 years, a very convenient spot when visiting our daughter. Don't be put off by the Spartan appearance of the entrance. Reception staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming, many of them now knowing our names ( and family history in the nicest way!) Nothing is too much trouble to ensure our comfort, from a room fan offered in the hot times, and sheet instead of duvet, to making sure our room has decaf coffee in our hospitality tray. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, beds comfy, and the double glazing does a good job of keeping most of the noise from car park (at front) and very busy by-pass(back) from being a problem. The housekeeping staff are also friendly and helpful.

Close by are Dundee Stars ice arena, a cinema, and Camperdown Park, a wonderful place to walk in all seasons, with deer, children's play area and mini-zoo.

McD's, KFC, and Ashokashak (Indian) offer alternative eating options to Weaver's Mill next door to Inn. We breakfast in Weaver's simply because we don't like the alternatives, but it is most unprepossessing. Continental breakfast is however, good value, and enjoyable. Cooked is variable, but still offers plentiful food for the price.

There are ( infrequent) buses to the City centre, and taxis don't cost much, if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilyofthevalley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel

Address: 1 Dayton Drive | Camperdown Leisure Park, Kingsway, Dundee DD2 3SQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#11 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $58 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park the stress and dive into all the fun of a twenty-first century leisure park, with a stay at Premier Inn Hotel Dundee North. With a cinema and ice rink just round the corner, not to mention the beautiful Camperdown Park, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Explore the five glens of Angus, or play a short nine holes at St Andrews. See over fifty classic planes at Leuchars Airshow, or see countless blooms at the Dundee Flower & Food Festival. Then it's back to the hotel to enjoy our spacious rooms with extra-cosy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing