We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to put our head after wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Somewhere to put our head after wedding”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff were very helpfully and friendly. Room was ideal for myself and two children. We had come up for a family wedding and this was a great base. The room was very clean, was impressed. We also booked to have breakfast, yummy. I would recommend that you do this unless you enjoy fast food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EssexSwimteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear EssexSwimTeach,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

It’s good to read you found everything in order and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    209
    84
    31
    12
See reviews for
180
174
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were visiting for a conference and the city centre Premier Inn was fully booked so we stayed here and and saved money.
The staff were excellent, very helpful and extremely nice.
The room was very quiet and I had a great sleep both nights.
The location is out of town but easy for a taxi and no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roncadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Roncadora,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

It’s great you found everything in order and I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A friendly welcome on arrival and a pleasant room - as one has become accustomed to from Premier Inns. Location was excellent for exploring the city and surrounding areas and being in such close proximity to a beautiful park was an added bonus. Only negative comment was the rather 'tacky' restaurant attached which was far removed from the standard one has experienced whilst visiting other Premier Inns. That said, this was no reflection on the comfortable, friendly and convenient location of Dundee North itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear RobM,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

You are correct in saying the park is beautiful, there is also a 18 hole golf course, kids play park, café and a Zoo with everything from small rabbits to brown bears!

In regards to our affiliated restaurant, could you please contact me directly so I can pass on your feedback to help improve their offering?

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Operationsmanager.dundeenorth@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch Rannoch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As always the hotel was fab. Clean, quiet and staff excellent. However we decided when checking in to treat ourselves to breakfast at the adjoining restaurant The Weavers. There was 2 choices of either a continental breakfast at £5.95 or a full English at £8.95. We chose the latter. This was a BIG mistake. We sat down after helping ourselves to tea, fruit juice etc. and awaited our breakfast (buffet style was off that day). What arrived 4mins later could only be described as 'roadkill'!! Namely the bacon and sausage was barely cooked; the hash browns were swimming in grease as were the over-cooked and shrivelled mushrooms. The tomatoes were raw and the fried egg was also swimming in grease. It was so bad that neither of us could bear to even look at it so we moved it to the side of the table and covered it with napkins! We had a croissant thereafter, just to have something on our tummies for the day ahead, and beat a hasty retreat. So as before the hotel itself gets a HUGE thumbs up but if you are easily put off food DO NOT order the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Stayed here many times, each in a different room and all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you again for taking the time to review Dundee North and staying with us once again.

Its great you found the hotel in order but disappointing to read about your breakfast experience.

David has been in touch and has passed on your feedback to our affiliated restaurant to help them improve their service.

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed there a few times now, traveling on business usually.
The hotel itself is in a good location just off the main road, next to a cinema, a McDonalds, a great Indian restaurant, and a KFC. O, and the attached restaurant.. >.< after one breakfast the sticky tables and 70-ies decor didn't invite for a revisit.... My advice? Goto McD's..
As Premier Inns go, its basic, a tad tired and in need of a refresh. The staff is, as in all Premier Inns, very friendly, welcoming and always ready to assist in case of any issues.
There are several other PI's in and around town, which book up quickly, even though they are slightly more expensive. Maybe an indication for Premier Inn..?

Room Tip: Good location, good facilities nearby, only 90 minutes from Aberdeen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear EvertF,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its disappointing to read you don’t care to re visit our affiliated restaurant, and I will pass on your feedback to their restaurant manager.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at Premier Inn Dundee North, whilst meeting a friend who had never visited this area of Scotland. We used it as a base for exploring Dundee, St Andrews and the surrounding area.
Upon arrival we were greeted by name by a very pleasant and professional receptionist and directed to our room.
The rooms were the generic set-up that one would expect in a chain hotel and was more than adequate for our needs. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and could not be faulted - exactly what is needed when tired after a long drive.
I slept well in the hotel, my only complaint being that as there is no air conditioning, the room did get rather warm at times and opening the window was not practical due to the proximity of travel.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends, family or colleagues who are looking for a base or over night stop in the Dundee area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsLinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ScotsLinguist,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dundee North.

Its great to read you had a good stay and found everything in order, and I will pass on your feedback to the team.

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back again when visiting Dundee.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here one night
That was enough
Below standard for Premier Inn
Hot and stuffy. Noisy with window open given traffic on the nearby dual carriageway
Bathroom needs a makeover

Staff volunteered no information
Found out by accident that a nearby Indian restaurant offered 20% discount for Premier Inn customers

Don't bother with breakfast at the Weavers Inn next door - it's awful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikwizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie O, General Manager at Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mikiwizzy,

Thank you for your recent review of Dundee North.

Its disappointing that you found us bellow standard, our rooms all have desk fans in every room along with larger fans available from reception.

Half of our bedrooms face towards the duel carriageway but this rarely causes any disturbance but I can only apologise for this, rooms at the rear can be requested in advance and these tend to be cooler and are acing away from the main road.

I can again only apologise that you felt the team didn’t give out more information, we tell all guests the relevant information and beyond but we don’t publicise the Indian Restaurant as we work in partnership with the weavers mill restaurant.

I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Jamie Oliphant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
Address: 1 Dayton Drive | Camperdown Leisure Park, Kingsway, Dundee DD2 3SQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dundee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park the stress and dive into all the fun of a twenty-first century leisure park, with a stay at Premier Inn Hotel Dundee North. With a cinema and ice rink just round the corner, not to mention the beautiful Camperdown Park, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Explore the five glens of Angus, or play a short nine holes at St Andrews. See over fifty classic planes at Leuchars Airshow, or see countless blooms at the Dundee Flower & Food Festival. Then it's back to the hotel to enjoy our spacious rooms with extra-cosy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing