We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great facility, a brilliant experience. The staff were brilliant, food was great, thank you. Premier inn has really it's act together and I will be staying again. This was my second stay at a Premier Innthis week and both were as good as each other.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlanyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    80
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
93
103
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Premier Inn have really got their offer right these days, you get a very reliable, cheerful service at between a half and one third of what you would expect to pay. Yes, they are all the same, but none the worse for that. The light in the bathroom failed and we told reception on the way down to dinner on a Friday night, it was fixed when we returned after dinner! That is a good service by any standard.

Room Tip: Try for rooms facing back, great views over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Returner236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed her with Mrs B for one night after selling our old lair and prior to moving into our new one. One gets what one pays for. £56, clean, everything works, nice friendly staff. Mrs B and I have never had a bad experience in any Premier Inn. Long may that continue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

In general I find that Premier Inn is now less of a Budget hotel group with prices often higher than the major quality chains. But unfortunately the facilities and food do not match these other groups. I had stated in the Marriott in Preston only a week previously with swimming pool for £65 inc full breakfast. This was Monifieth, in the middle of no where and cost over £80. I can only rate the evening meal as expected, for the type of establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

In a way it is exactly what you would expect from a Premier Inn. Maybe I am lucky but I have never stayed in a poor one. The service here was excellent - the gent on reception when we arrived made us feel really welcome. Despite the hotel's proximity to a busy main road and our room facing the road, there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here before and I have to say it is great value. It is also really conveniently located for Carnoustie and Arbroath if you are a golfer. The rooms are clean and the beds really confortable. Only gripe is that the shower head could do with being a bit higher. For anyone 6ft plus you will need to crouch a little to wash your hair.

We used the adjoining restaurant for dinner and breakfast the following morning. We love the breakfast buffet and with 2 kids eating free it's great value.

It gets busy at dinnr time but it quietens down after that.

Overall a nice very reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Eamonn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrived Saturday evening and were welcomed warmly and checked in quickly. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

Went to sleep quickly but was woken at 2am by a group of noisy (drunk?) guests who chattered and banged doors. When I mentioned this to reception the following morning the cost of my room was immediately reversed with full apologies for having been disturbed.

The continental breakfast was good although the fruit salad could have been fresher, but on the whole good value.

This is a well run chain that sticks to its promises. I have stayed at this hotel previously and will return.

It is easy to get to and has a very pleasant location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan13za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
2.3 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Address: Arbroath Road Ethiebeaton Park | Monifieth, Dundee DD5 4HB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#4 Family Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 minutes from Dundee and close to panoramic views of the fast-flowing River Tay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing