We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely reliable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Premier Inn have really got their offer right these days, you get a very reliable, cheerful service at between a half and one third of what you would expect to pay. Yes, they are all the same, but none the worse for that. The light in the bathroom failed and we told reception on the way down to dinner on a Friday night, it was fixed when we returned after dinner! That is a good service by any standard.

Room Tip: Try for rooms facing back, great views over the hills.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Returner236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed her with Mrs B for one night after selling our old lair and prior to moving into our new one. One gets what one pays for. £56, clean, everything works, nice friendly staff. Mrs B and I have never had a bad experience in any Premier Inn. Long may that continue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

In general I find that Premier Inn is now less of a Budget hotel group with prices often higher than the major quality chains. But unfortunately the facilities and food do not match these other groups. I had stated in the Marriott in Preston only a week previously with swimming pool for £65 inc full breakfast. This was Monifieth, in the middle of no where and cost over £80. I can only rate the evening meal as expected, for the type of establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

In a way it is exactly what you would expect from a Premier Inn. Maybe I am lucky but I have never stayed in a poor one. The service here was excellent - the gent on reception when we arrived made us feel really welcome. Despite the hotel's proximity to a busy main road and our room facing the road, there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here before and I have to say it is great value. It is also really conveniently located for Carnoustie and Arbroath if you are a golfer. The rooms are clean and the beds really confortable. Only gripe is that the shower head could do with being a bit higher. For anyone 6ft plus you will need to crouch a little to wash your hair.

We used the adjoining restaurant for dinner and breakfast the following morning. We love the breakfast buffet and with 2 kids eating free it's great value.

It gets busy at dinnr time but it quietens down after that.

Overall a nice very reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamonn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrived Saturday evening and were welcomed warmly and checked in quickly. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

Went to sleep quickly but was woken at 2am by a group of noisy (drunk?) guests who chattered and banged doors. When I mentioned this to reception the following morning the cost of my room was immediately reversed with full apologies for having been disturbed.

The continental breakfast was good although the fruit salad could have been fresher, but on the whole good value.

This is a well run chain that sticks to its promises. I have stayed at this hotel previously and will return.

It is easy to get to and has a very pleasant location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are generally quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan13za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just got back from Dundee having stayed at this Premier Inn.This was not my first stay here and I will return. The room I had was clean and comfortable with views of open fields and there was little noise. I arived at lunch time before my allocated room was ready but the receptionist found me a room and was very helpful. All the staff here were first class and a credit to Premier Inn as they make a fuss of you from the moment you arrive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are more quiet but the road noise is not too bad as the hotel is set back. Book a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetmasterDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
5.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel

Address: Arbroath Road Ethiebeaton Park | Monifieth, Dundee DD5 4HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $59 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 minutes from Dundee and close to panoramic views of the fast-flowing River Tay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing