We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“premier inn -excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

More helpful staff you could not meet -really cheery and obliging-rooms were clean and tidy. The inn is situated 10 mins drive to monifieth 15 mins to Broughty Ferry and about 20 mins drive to dundee centre. The air con was a bit poor but then you dont need much of that in scotland ! I would go back for sure

Room Tip: The best tip is for families with teenagers- The all inclusive breakfast is amazing value. £8 kids u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 322 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

A great alternative if you are looking for an inexpensive option for accommodation near St. Andrews. During a recent visit to Scotland, we decided to stay in Dundee to take advantage of the location, whilst having that quiet stay-over before onward travel.

The reception and check-in was warm and welcoming. The room was clean, large, and perfect for an overnight stay. The only downside was the lack of air-conditioning with heating controls only; however, this wasn't an issue with the outside weather and an open window.

The hotel is located near the coast and plenty of options to eat in the surrounding area. There is a Brewer's Fayre chain pub next to the hotel that offered good food at reasonable prices.

The hotel is a great asset to the Premier Inn brand with fantastic warm and welcoming service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nternationa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Given that our last Premier Inn stay had been at the excellent new Edinburgh Park location we were a little wary that this somewhat older location would be a little less impressive.

We discovered a pleasant country location. There was a lovely view from our comfortable and well-sized room which was clean and well-appointed. Our only criticism in that respect would be the TV – there is no excuse for providing an old, outdated model with very poor Freeview access – the reasoning given is that they are gradually being upgraded but that’s a poor excuse – this ought to be one of the easier room upgrades.

It was interesting to read other reviews which quoted poor customer service – we were warmly welcomed and helped. My wife had tempted me with stories of Arbroath’s excellent fish and chips and we were directed to Marco’s on the harbour – where the food was just divine!

Finally, a general point regarding Premier Inn Wi-Fi. There is no excuse for charging £3 a day for access when most establishments now offer the service free of charge. Much is made of the “Free Wi-Fi for 30 minutes” but this is of little use and, for me, is just intended to draw customers into paying for more.

Room Tip: Nothing particular - but the rooms at the back do have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meldrew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here recently and I have to stay the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room though was very warm through the night even though it wasn't a particularly warm night, we switched the fan on in the middle of the night which helped a bit. The bathroom was absolutely fine and spotless, with no sign of any scaling around the plug area in tha bath that we had found in the last two Premier Inns we had stayed in over the last three weeks. Although not the hotels fault the breakfast in the Brewers Fayre next door was just dreadful and we wished we had just walked to the nearby MacDonalds for breakfast as anything would have been an improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 and was less than impressed - staff very un helpful and bordering on rude. No towels in rooms so needed to requested these, twice. Food in joining restaurant not good at all. Temperature in rooms was very difficult to control, boiling hot or freezing cold. Bathroom really needed a good clean and update/ Was glad when it was time to leave!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our restaurant service did not meet your expectations.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Have just spent the weekend at this excellent hotel.Everything was just perfect. Staff are very friendly and can point you in the right direction for a good baker in Monifieth, JM bakery, you must must,must try their carrot cakes, they are truly scrumptious!! Our room was above the reception at the front of the building but even with the window open we heard nothing of the traffic on the road and had a good nights sleep on the comfy beds. Our room cost £29, an absolute bargain, we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Local Taychreggan Hotel made a mess of my booking at last moment. Had to find alternative night before I travelled for family funeral in nearby Broughty Ferry. Went to internet and found this hotel had accommodation. Checked Tripadvisor reviews all positive so booked. We found it an excellent alternative, in fact much better than original selection. You get exactly what it says on the tin.Excellent treatment on arrival from receptionist, Bernadine, obviously interested in her clients, and their needs. Room most comfortable and clean. Location of hotel well off main road meant very quite and undisturbed nights sleep. Plenty of car parking spaces ajacent to building. Good restaurant attached perfectly adequate. Nearby Mc Donalds! and Dobbies garden centre. Access to all areas in nearby localities very easy by car.

Room Tip: Ground floor preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
5.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel

Address: Arbroath Road Ethiebeaton Park | Monifieth, Dundee DD5 4HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 minutes from Dundee and close to panoramic views of the fast-flowing River Tay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Dundee
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing