We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful service”
Review of Panmure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panmure Hotel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as we needed to make a sudden trip to Dundee to visit an unwell family member in her final days, we explained this to the staff who put a room on hold for us for the rest of the week if we needed to stay longer and when we did check out to be closer to where we needed to be the manager told us of his own experiences and said if we needed to return to simply call and he would sort us out a room.
The room was clean but a little tired and breakfast was only a continental option but if would definitely stay again if the need arose due to the service received.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    23
    17
    44
See reviews for
58
65
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were attending a function and were impressed with the staff, food and cleanness of it all. It's fair to say the building itself needs a bit of money spent on it, but I believe the owners are fairly new and that takes time and lots if money. Inside it's fairly traditional, with some lovely pieces of furniture. The staff could not have been better, attentive and quick. It was very well staffed too, and during the function, things moved very smoothly, with no table being left for ages to be served, as is very common at functions. Food was excellent standard, quality, cooked beautifully and all served fresh and hot - again not your usual function at all. Lots of people stayed overnight and seemed perfectly happy with rooms too. We'll definitely be back, not your usual bland chain hotel and all the better for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. It was half the price of anywhere else available in the Dundee area. We weren't expecting much so were pleasantly surprised. Although room was a bit dated we had a warm, friendly welcome, very clean room and bathroom and a good night sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel but will stay again in the summer to make the most of the location and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 weeks I've booked it again for my trip next week the room was clean & nicely furnished and the bed was really comfortable I used the hotels restaurant & the food was excellent the staff were very friendly & helpful overall this hotel is very good value for money has ample car parking facilities & is app 10m from Dundee city centre

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself and my partner booked a meal using a groupon voucher for 2 steak meals. On arrival we were shown to our table in a very grubby conservatory with stained carpet and condensation running down the windows. We received our drinks and ordered starters from the Indian menu which were Chicken Pakoras and King Prawn Pakoras. When they arrived we got 3 tiny bits of chicken and 4 shrimps both served on a bed of old brown lettuce. These were well over priced for the portion size and it was hard to find the prawns, I complained to the waitress and told her to inform the manager that we were unhappy with the starter. we then waited 45 minutes on our steak when the manager arrived in a food stained shirt and said they had problems with the gas and that fresh steaks had just been put on for us. after another 20 minutes the waitress told us that our steaks would be 4 minutes. After another 10 minutes the manager appeared at out table, threw the menus down and said the steak is off pick something else or go. I have never met anyone so rude, needless to say we left. if there was a problem with the gas then how were they going to cook anything else. I will not be returning to this place and advise others to steer clear. Food we had was rubbish, just like the service. I have noticed a lot of unhappy diners leaving reviews on here and totally agree with them, just wish we had read it all before we bought the voucher. we are now out of pocket for the voucher and will be taking this further and will have the kitchen investigated. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in April 2013. We got an excellent deal and had a good dinner and comfy bed at a really good price. No complaints! The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was good and overall we had an overnight stay that was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misssmiley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkhill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went on Sunday for early lunch was served by inexperienced staff I asked for a wine list was given a blank look so I asked if they had any wine she just said I think so got past that ordered two prawn cocktail starters apart from being tiny they were the cheapest prawns ever both had scampi as the main which was even worse than the starter won't be back and would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank gingertotty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Craigtay Hotel
Craigtay Hotel
#28 of 28 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panmure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panmure Hotel

Property: Panmure Hotel
Address: Monifield Tay Street, Dundee DD5 4AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panmure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your Panmure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panmure Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing