We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place never again”
Review of Panmure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panmure Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We purchased a Groupon voucher which gave us bed, breakfast & an evening meal for a night for £59 so at that price I wasn't expecting the Ritz. The outside looked shabby once in the room it didn't get any better it was very basic, cold with only an oil filled radiator to keep us warm. The bathroom was clean but the shower was very small thankfully were not large people!! The valance on my bed was dirty with black stains on it. Once seated for our evening meal we were given the menu only for the waitress to return 5 minutes later to inform us that we couldn't get anything indian on the menu as the Chef had went home. The European meal had a limited choice and didn't sit too well in my stomach afterwards!! Stayed for only one drink in the bar as it had a noisy table of undesireables. Their function suite was in use with loud music, shouting and screaming by more undesirables doors were being slammed shut and we could even hear the hand dryers in the toilets!! We evenually managed to drift off to sleep through all the noise only to be woken up at 1am when the fire alarm went off there was no fire I can only assume that another undesireable decided to have a sneaky fag indoors. By this time i wanted to pack up and go home but then decided to see it through to the morning. Breakfast was advertised at 8 - 9am but the chef didn't bother to appear until 8.30. The breakfast menu was limited with small portions followed by more Stomach problems. We wondered re the lack of hygiene in the kitchen. The only plus was the staff who were very friendly and helpful pity about the building which is in dire need of a reburishment. We couldn't get home quick enough. Overall not even worth the half price we paid. We will NEVER return.

Room Tip: Can't imagine the place having a good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rozza20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Panmure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

I apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay. To refer to your comments about the room; the shower is of standard size and our housekeeping maintain a very high standard. However we will pass on your comments to them. We normally serve a European and Indian menu but unfortunately our Indian chef was called away that morning to a family emergency and had to fly back to his own country. This was explained to you by one of our waitresses who reported to me that you were very angry with this explanation and quite rude to the her. You were offered further discount and drinks on the house but you refused. Our European chef is highly qualified and takes pride in cooking high quality meals. Our hotel has passed all food and hygiene standards and we have all the certificates on display. We did have a function on that night but it was a local community function and certainly not 'undesirables' as you put it! The fire alarm went off, again not something within our control. Our staff are fully trained in fire procedure for the hotel and acted quickly in this situation. The alarm sounded for only a few minutes and we are thankful that it was a false alarm and no-one had to be evacuated. This was explained by myself to all the guests. In our information booklet in the rooms it clearly states that breakfast is between 8.30am and 9.30am, and you were also told this when you asked the waitress. Our chefs were on the premises at 7am in the morning. Having already dealt with your complaints during your stay there is nothing further I can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thanks to Groupon we had a lovely meal out here at the weekend at a very affordable price but if you are paying the full cost without being the savers that we are you will find the value more than acceptable. They have a choice of a European menu and also an Indian menu, both with lots of tasty options. We chose the European food and enjoyed every morsel set down to us. The service was excellent and the place itself is rather quaint with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and the courses were served efficiently. All in all, a lovely meal out in a lovely establishment. Would recommend a visit here without hesitation. Great work guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundeeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We didn't stay here but have had dinner recently. The owner Nick is a character and always speaks to each table, The food was good and it's nice to be able to go out for a meal and have such a diverse and extensive menu to choose from. The curries we had were excellent and the steak pie good. Well worth a visit, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nexthol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon deal and I have to say it was great value. OK the hotel is in need of a bit of TLC but the rooms were clean and were quite adequate. The owner Nick and his staff work very hard to make your stay comfortable. All this with half price golf too. I have to make a special mention of Steve , the starter on the golf course. I have played golf a long time and on a lot of different courses but I have never met such a gent ! He is a genuine guy , so much so that we wanted a tee time on the Sunday but it was all booked up . Anyway we went away to have our breakfast and Nick came through with a phone call for us from Steve saying there had been a cancellation if we still wanted to play. All in all we shall be back to the Panmure and have already booked to play golf in the mixed competition in September. If you are a golfer give the Panmure a try its a nice place and with half price golf is a no brainer really !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escothesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had our wedding here on 28th July 2012, and had a wonderful day. The food was amazing and served very quickly for around 70 people, and had some great extra options for a couple of gluten free and dairy free relatives. Staff were very friendly and helpful, a special thanks has to go to Mairi for keeping us calm before and during the wedding. We organised our wedding from over 300 miles away, and had great communication by phone and email.
Also the honeymoon suite was lovely to stay in.
We have also eaten here on seperate occasions and had great service and lovely food, we especially enjoyed the Indian menu.
Many thanks again. Emma & Matt Parker

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'd like to thank Nick and his staff for a wonderful Xmas Day meal. The atmosphere was brilliant.
The tables were set out really well with nibbles, crackers, poppers and some Greek Tapas which was delicious! Although it was busy the staff were very attentive and made sure we were enjoying ourselves and had everything we needed. Special thanks to Hayley, who is a wee sweetheart and had a smile for everyone. The choice of menu was good with plenty options to keep my fussy 15 year old happy and the complimentary glass of wine was much appreciated. We were allowed to enjoy our meal without being rushed and after we had finished we retired to the bar for an after dinner drink. People were relaxing, playing Monopoly and generally winding down after an excellent day. Nick offered each table a cheeseboard and crackers which we were not expecting and rounded it off with a nice box of chocolates. We normally eat out on Xmas day and I can honestly say, this was the best yet and we will definatley be booking up for next year. Thanks again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My fiancé and I recently had our engagement party at the Panmure hotel and the night couldn't have been any better! The room was beautifully done, with table covers and tables all round the room. All the staff were so helpful and polite to all of our guests. The buffet was amazing, we had a mixture of sandwiches, sausage rolls, pizza breads, chips, chicken, cold meat, bread, salmon, a cheese platter and crackers and an Indian selection. Everyone raved about how good the food was. Most of our buffet was eaten, however there was a tray of pizza breads and sandwiches left over which the staff brought out for us whilst we were waiting for our taxi's. I thought this was brilliant and so did our guests. The staff also kept our balloons for us to pick up the next day, which they didn’t have to do. a few of our guests also stayed at the hotel and all commented on how nice the rooms were and they really enjoyed their stay.

Massive thank you to Nick and all his staff for a brilliant night. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
2.7 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
4.8 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panmure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panmure Hotel

Address: Monifield Tay Street, Dundee DD5 4AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: $58 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panmure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panmure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panmure Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing