We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Walking 500 miles and the beds were heaven sent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Dundee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Dundee
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walking 500 miles and the beds were heaven sent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I am walking 500 miles from Scotland to the south coast (Brighton) and after my 1st day of walking up over Glen Ogilvy, part of the Glams estate, the beds were heaven sent. Soo comfy! Staff were excellent and the experience exceeded all expectations and would have rated higher if I could have!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    290
    117
    50
    37
See reviews for
118
493
11
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just had an evening with family at the Malmaison in Dundee - what a beautiful hotel, we had dinner, bed and breakfast and everything was spot on.The staff were excellent and could,not do enough. I've stayed at a few Malmaisons and Dundee is definitely one of the best. Great location too and the building has been respectfully and beautifully restored.

One tiny thing is - they could be more generous with their bathroom goodies!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
177 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for 1 night last week. It is annoying not being able to park at the hotel even if the nearest car park is only a 5 minute walk away. Our rooms were all comfortable, although my bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, even if the bar does feel a little soulless. The restaurant was nice, and my friends all had burgers which they loved. I had the prawn curry which lacked flavor. The staff again were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental was adequate, nothing too exciting. Would I stay again? Possibly as there are many other choices in Dundee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Myself and husband (mr and mrs Newton) booked a large table for sat 10 may 2014 for a birthday meal for my husband. Firstly we were given a very warm welcome then taken to a private dining area (which we never booked). James was our main waiter and looked after our every needs. He was pleasant, professional and looked after all our needs. The food was excellent.

Also noted that Jack (our previous excellent waiter) remembered us and also looked after us. We were pleasantly surprised by our note at end of meal from jack wishing my husband a very happy birthday and some vouchers.

Yet again above and beyond in service, well done Jack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bofmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Malmaison in Aberdeen we had an idea what to expect but Malmaison Dundee seems much more superior. (Perhaps because it is newly opened)
The staff were really friendly upon check in and we were pleased to hear we got upgraded to a club room. Much to our surprise we got a lovely card wishing us happy anniversary along with chocolate strawberries and champagne (part of our package)
Room 607 is lovely, only has a small window which we werent bothered about, huge bed, bathroom and fluffy bathrobes/towels.
Ordered room service at 10:30pm after a couple of cheeky cocktails in the bar which arrived in half an hour and it was Delish!
All in all we will definitely be making another booking! Well done Malmaison!! X

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaMcCrory310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Attended a Dinner and was very disappointed with the food. Lovely surroundings and service was mainly very good. Starters were fine but none of the main courses was up to much. They had clearly been sitting and had dried out. A number of people did not get either vegetables or potatoes, or both, because there were not enough. The sweets were also poor. Creme brulee was neither hot nor cold and pretty sloppy. The chocolate flan was dry and although there was one small jug of cream it was nowhere near enough for everyone who knew about it never mind those who did not This is the second time I have eaten in the Dundee Mal since it opened. Not sure there will be a third.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Totti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed midweek in this great hotel. We had a club room which had a gorgeous roll top bath in the room. Loved the local touches with the Dennis the menace prints on the walls. Had a lovely view of the tay (ignoring the building/road work going on outside which isn't the hotels fault) and you could lie in bed and see the lights along the train bridge and the moonlight on the water.

We had room service which was tasty and not extortionate.

The hotel is very well located to the town centre and tourist attractions like the Discovery ship. Excellent location for shopping too.

The beds are really comfy, the room is well equipped with everything you need (only negative would be no conditioner for my hair, but that's a girl thing!)

The continental breakfast was included in the price with a great selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, brioche and juices. We opted to pay the £2 extra to have the cooked breakfast, again lots of choice with eggs Benedict, full cooked, kippers etc.

There is no hotel parking but a pay and display car park right outside which is £1.80 per hour but free from 6pm til 8am, we arrived in the evening and put money in for a ticket which covered us til 10am.

Overall a real credit to the regeneration of Dundee!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Dundee

Property: Malmaison Dundee
Address: 44 Whitehall Crescent, Dundee DD1 4AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing