We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kugu Restaurant - CLOSED

Kugu Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A contemporary restaurant specialising in an Indian and Mediterranean menu. Our specialty is in marinated meats with marinades including Egytian, Mint, Tikka, garlic and more. We have all the favorites such as mixed grill and classic curries. On top of this we have a fantastic buffet on offer 7 days a week spoiling you for choice including yummy desserts
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have tried the buffet menu on several occasions,at the Kugu restaurant. All the curries, I have tried have been very good. The next time, I may try something off the la carte menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    14
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I really enjoy the food here and love the fact that you can help yourself to as much coffee, tea and soft drinks as you need. Its a shame that the staff have to put up with groups of teenagers just acting silly with so much food

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food great again and service a lot better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had another Itison voucher for the Thrill of the Tandoor meal and the food was really good yet again. The Service was a lot better since the last visit - different staff were on.
I had the Egyptian kebab which was fab, the meat was really juicy and it all tasted great, love the pilau rice too.
Would definitely visit again with or without a voucher.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PartTimer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food ok, but terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food was fine, what you would expect for such a low price. Macaroni was very yummy, everything else was ok. Unfortunately the terrible service means I will not be returning. After finishing our first drinks, we sat for some time waiting to order our second. Eventually I got fed up and went to the bar and ordered- this was after about half an hour. They then took another 20 minutes to bring our drinks, apologising because they had a problem with their coffee machine- what does that have to do with 2 diet cokes! And then to put the tin lid on it, they were both regular cokes and not the diets we asked for. Overall very poor, and won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rjw199323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Went for a late lunch with my husband and daughter, food was decent, service was okay and who can grumble at all you can eat for £6.95! Under 2's eat free too so although my 8 month old eats home cooked baby meals we were able to give her some salad and pineapple to munch on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolypolyfatjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kugu Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing