We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great decor, lovely atmosphere”

The D'Arcy Thompson
Ranked #31 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, great decor, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A group of 6 diner here last Saturday evening and enjoyed the fantastically restored venue, the good food, pleasant service and nice atmosphere. It represents really good value and looks to be achieving the success it deserves... so book if you can!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyVanDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    94
    40
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pre theatre meal”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Had a pre theatre meal in this historic looking pub. Liked the way the wine was served in what looked like little specimen jugs. Lacked atmosphere but it was a Tuesday evening and not very busy, think it would be better at the weekend. Have to say the waiter was charming. The three of us had mushroom soup to start and it was delicious. I had a seafood linguine for my main which was also great. Ending with a Creme caramel, also lovely. My two companions also enjoyed their food. Good food for a reasonable price. I will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place average food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The bar has been done up with some thought and imagination and the cocktails were first rate. However for a place that is more of a dining room than a pub the food lacks imagination and originality. The duck salad was grey and the lasagne distinctly average. It is a shame as the staff were really friendly and this could be an excellent venue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artinsect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went here with friends and it didn't disappoint. Varied menu plus a brilliant specials board too. The quality of food is high and the price not expensive at all so its excellent value for money. The staff are very attentive and a pleasure to talk to. It was busy and had a buzzing atmosphere of happy diners. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ok food, good value, but extras were a rip off”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We enjoyed our early evening meal which was good value for the money. The staff were attentive.
However, when we paid the bill I was shocked to be charged £3 for 3 very small pieces of bread which I had asked for to go with my salad starter. Stupid really, because if it hadn't been for that I would have recommended this restaurant. I would have been happy to pay more for my meal,but to be charged £1 per 4"x1" piece of bread is just a rip off and left me with a sour taste.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Basilturnip151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The D'Arcy Thompson also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to The D'Arcy Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing