We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't petend to be what it isn't!”

Medina Bar and Grill
Ranked #126 of 382 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in Dundee's 'Cultural Quarter', Medina Bar & Grill is near the Dundee Repertory Theatre, Dundee Contemporary Arts Centre, and right between the campus of Dundee University and the Overgate Shopping Centre in the heart of the city. Medina offers contemporary surroundings with a relaxed atmosphere for casual lunch, dinner and drinks.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Doesn't petend to be what it isn't!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A spur-decision to eat out, and in we walked at 6.30pm.

The staff were bright, good, efficient. The chilli cheese burger could have been 'chillier' but the coleslaw was good as an extra.

Real tea, too. With an inbuilt leaf strainer! Excellent. I think we were about £17 for two mains and drinks. I think that's pretty ok!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    16
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food was lovely. Portions sizes were great for the price. Got a good selection of food on the menu; something there for everyone

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shwaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Honestly, the food here was grim! Service is friendly and it's a nice building but the food...?! I had chicken stirfry as part of a starter and main deal for £7.95. Fair enough, that's cheap, but it's NOT cheap if it tastes like doom! The pieces of chicken were rubbery and clearly microwaved to within an inch of themselves. The sauce was gloopy and stringy. My partner's lasagne wasn't any better and he forced it down without a smile. The only half decent thing here was the Greek Starter - a few olives and some feta. Can't go wrong with that. Anyway, go here if you want a drink or somewhere to chill out but I do not recommend eating here!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 stars”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Being a chef and manager I am very critical when it comes to good food and customer service.
I meet up with old friends every month and we always end up going to Medina's
We try other places but always regret not going to our usual.
The food is always very fresh, tasty and very well presented and to top it all the staff are so polite and friendly.
We are always made to feel very welcome.
Service is very good and you don't have to wait forever for your food.
I make a very good macaroni cheese and have never found one close to mine until I tried Madina's....creamy & cheesy.
I would highly recommend this place for a quick snack or meal.


Helpful?
1 Thank Aligav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely average”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good for a walk in last minute meal on a weeknight, which was when we went. The decor is nice enough, separated from the bar which is good. Staff were very helpful. The food was fine. The prices were pretty fair. Overall, I'd not rush back but neither would I decline to eat there again. It was good enough, but nothing special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Medina Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing