We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights. On the plus side, the staff were pleasant and welcoming and the room was clean, though rather spartan. We were awoken at 3.00 am on the Saturday morning by the very noisy arrival of the occupants of the neighbouring room. A woman then went on a prolonged and noisy rant to her friend (we could hear everything through the wall) for the best part of an hour. Thankfully they only stayed for one night. I also disliked the fact that there always seemed to be people smoking just outside the main entrance and the ground was littered with cigarette ends. We won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    46
    22
    25
See reviews for
70
95
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for two nights hoping for a relaxing break. However we returned home very tired and disappointed. The room we were allocated was well beyond a reasonable temperature it was extremely hot even with the radiator off and window open I mean hotter than most locations abroad. Subsequently, we were unable to sleep we reported this to reception staff and they stated that they could not turn off the heating because of one customers requirements which I understand however the temperature was a health and safety hazard. We were given a fan which was broken and then received a replacement which made little difference. On our second night it he noise levels were also very high. The breakfast was poor, only options for vegetarians in the hot section was scrambled egg, tomato and beans. Not good value for money. I asked staff if we could cancel the final days breakfast and explained the reasons was advised this could not be done as it was prebooked and states that it is non refundable on the internet. I was advised I could bring in my own food to be cooked why would one do that after paying for breakfast and be inconvenienced. The breakfasts were substandard and had to constantly ask staff for cutlery, sugar . Food items were not replenished without asking staff and there was not always a staff member in the dinning room area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

brilliant room for the disabled traveller, roll in shower makes it so easy for an amputee,well done travelodge,
now also available food and drink which i didn't know about till i checked in but would use next time as prices were ok!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

When entering this hotel, do not expect to have a restful nights sleep, because it just wont happen! The noise level from both locals and other guests was totally unacceptable, and the smoking area was under my bedroom window, that and a hot weekend meant that the room stank of smoke, yuk! Thins we would have been more relaxed at the "Bates Motel".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Rooms are freshly decorated and pleasant. Staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to assist. I arrived at midnight without a booking due to a family emergency and they made a room up for me. Staff also offered to assist with luggage as the lift was being refurbished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel location is located in one in a poorer area of Dundee. The lift was out of order, the card keys did not work so return trips from the 2nd floor to reception had to be made. The room provided was located at the front of the hotel with the smoking hut just below and to the left of the room window. If the window was left open the room stank of cigarette smoke. This was only a minor irritation compared with the numerous guest that took refuge in the smoking shelter, getting tanked up from the on site bar. Shouting, screaming and swearing from about 9pm until the last of them cleared off at 6am the following morning. If you are looking for an experience where big fat gypsy weddings meets the hotel inspector then this is the hotel for you. Booked for 2 nights but one was enough, several other guests also voted with their feet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauser03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mauser03. We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay. We require our lifts to be in full working order during your stay. However, in the event that a lift should break down, we would also expect the issue to be resolved in a timely manner so we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience from outside. However, we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel so it is regrettable to learn that you displeased with the level of noise you experienced. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfect place to have a couple of nights break. Everything is clean, comfortable and convenient, staff are friendly and accommodating. With the added bonus of on site bar and buffet breakfast each morning, this hotel is great value for money if on a budget. Kids were made most welcome - even at night when we stopped for a few drinks in the bar area and you can order food up until about 9:30pm. Would definitely recommend this Travelodge - 10 minutes from City Centre, it is an ideal base for shopping, eating out or entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue

Property: Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
Address: 296A Strathmore Avenue, Dundee DD3 6SH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Hotel Dundee
Days Inn Dundee
Dundee Days Inn
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing