We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - Overpriced a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Overpriced a bit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed here in the summer and got a cheap deal off the internet. But for what you get I would not like to be charge full price. Room was large and airy but could have been cleaner. Spa was nice. good location in dundee, plenty of parking etc. we thought breakfast should have been included for the price they charge.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — no breakfast included in price
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank speighty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    970
    221
    71
    29
See reviews for
435
1,086
84
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from 2 wonderful nights spent at the Apex. We both enjoyed a very relaxing day in the spa having facials and a massage (very highly recommended)
Our room was very comfortable, and relaxing with great views overooking the quay, everything we asked for was provided.
The restaurant was clean, tidy and the food was excellant, our waitresses (claire, susan and lorna) at breakfast were very welcoming, friendly and nothing seemed to be to much trouble despite them being very busy, we were seated almost immediately and were given an explanation on how breakfast worked as we had never stayed at the hotel before.
All in all my husband and I cannot wait to return to this 1st class hotel

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank fastcar786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed 1 nite DBB in a suite room
Firstly the spa was fantastic, massages were the best we ever had, alot of the staff have left stobo castle to come here and other guests we spoke to also liked it alot better than stobo in every way , so the spa is a must, but you must book well in advance for treatments as they are very busy at weekends.

Our room was clean fresh spacious and looked brand new
the was a large sofa with fluffy rug and wooden floor in the lounge, 32 inch widescreen tv and dvd player
large bathroom with walk in shower and deep bath,
floor to ceiling windows that open with blackout curtains and quiet aircon ,
kingsize bed good size tv and built in wardrobes in the bedroom.
the bar was reasonably priced and dinner was ok the hotel is opening a fine dining restaurant on 25th jan so i think we'd prefer that on future visits

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank scotbhoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

We are frequent travelers and this is the first time ever that we think it is important to write a review of our experience. We stayed at this hotel from 24/12 to 27/12/06. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast package for 3 nights for a Superior King Room. Contrary to the room description on their website, the room has neither a safe nor a fridge. The room is otherwise quite nice. As other reviews suggest, one should eat elsewhere. The service is haphazard and overall poor at the Metro Brasserie. The waiters and waitresses prefer to gather together at the till rather than serving the customers. You might not get all the items you ordered. The glasses and cups were not washed properly but with stain on it. More importantly, when you check-out, you must check your bill properly because they can get confuse between DBB (dinner, bed and breakfast) and BB (bed and breakfast) rate easily.

  • Liked — Overall the room is quite nice
  • Disliked — Everything else especially the service
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the best tips from Tripdvisor
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank MySimpleAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

We first went to the Apex Hotel in Dundee for my birthday 3 years ago. When we drove up to the main entrance on the outset we were disappointed and wondered what we were going into. The outside is all wooden, looking in need of a refurbishment but we decided not to let it ruin our stay. When we entered reception to book in, boy were we totally surprised and shocked!!! It was stunning, you could not have asked for a nicer hotel. By this time we couldn't wait to see what our room was like. We were in a double room but it was upgraded. It was abslolutley stunning. Very contemporary and stylish. We had complimentary dressing gowns and slippers waiting for us and a bottle of red wine a chocs for the ladies!!! We were so impressed by this time that the outside of the building was a distant memory! The inside was totally stunning and so were the rooms. At night we ate in the Metro Brassery, although slightly expensive, the food was absolutley delish and would recommend to all!!! The staff were superb and very helpful that much we returned 2 months later for my partner's birthday. This time we stayed for 2 nights and made use of the Yu Spa. Again, it's a must for everyone. Quite cheap for what you get and after a massage you feel so refreshed and wanting more. Again, as we were not disappointed we returned this year in Oct 2006 for another night's stay and once again, yes, we had an excellent time and the service is very fast and effiecient. There is a Chinese Buffet and Indian Buffet on the dock which is a much and Rama the Thai restaurant must be dined at. All of which are walking distance from the hotel which saves the hassle of getting a taxi. Overall this hotel is highly recommendable and you must try the Yu spa.

  • Liked — The contemporary rooms
  • Disliked — The decor outside
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrade and receive the slippers, dressing gown and red wine
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2006

As a regular business traveller to Dundee i stay in the Apex at least once or twice a month. The rooms are pleasant, clean and modern although can be a bit warm despite the noisy aircon. The full price quoted for the room is ludicrously expensive so dont ever book direct. The most i have ever paid for one night is £89 pounds. Sounds expensive...bit when you consider the local Travel Inn charges over £60 for one night, the extra few pounds are well worthwhile for the quality of decor, the fantastic bathroom and the large room. All in all i will continue to use this hotel. My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is the size of the pool. If you are going for a frenitic swim, forget it. The pool is the size of a large L shaped puddle !!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Raspberry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

My partner and I are regular travellers. We try to book very good quality hotels on every occasion (around once a month) but, unless you are booking following a recommendation, it can be hit and miss. This was definitely a miss.

We needed a well-earned break and booked two nights - Saturday and Sunday. We were in the area for business and decided we could kill two birds with one stone and have a relaxing time while we were there. We asked for a superior room and paid more for the prvilege. In reality, the room was small and dingy...what did we pay more for? An extra window overlooking a construction site.

We were promised wine, bathrobes, slippers and chocolates on arrival. We had to phone reception to have them delivered to our room.

We had to wait for our table for dinner even though we booked it hours in advance. There was a drunken wedding party which often spilled into the bar area and took over the hotel.

We ate in the Alchemy restaurant which is billed as being a fine dining experience (more expensive)I t was infact just a few tables stuck at the back of the brasserie. The average wait between each course was over half an hour with no explanation or apology. Do not order the lobster unless you like it to taste of very burnt wood. If you're hungry, leave the hotel altogether and go elsewhere. We did that on the second night.

We were offered a bottle of wine at dinner to apologise for the diappointing start to our visit. Then they tried to charge us for it on checkout.

The bed, although it was king size, was worn and the springs are poking through. Not comfortable.

I visited the spa area on the Sunday morning and was told that the heating was broken and that it was very uncomfortable in there. Despite this and despite having doors leading outside, they refused to open them to let fresh air in.

You are promised a range of toiletries in the room. This is infact shower gel and shampoo. Disappointing. The bathroom is strange. It has a tiny, useless sink and an open shower area which spills water onto the floor.

Breakfast was a shambles. On the first morning, we had to wait ten minutes to be seated. The buffet selection was cold and, despite being there forty minutes before the restaurant was due to close, only half of the food advertised was availabe. The cold drinks were tepid and the tea was stewed.

We had to lift cutlery from other tables in order to eat. I had to ask three times for a clean glass. Tea wasn't offered until we had been seated around ten minutes.

On the second morning, the whole range of 'hot' food was available but it was stone cold, with the exception of the tomatoes!

Please believe this - we are regular hotel guests. We like to relax and enjoy beautiful surroundings but we are not hard to please. We forgive little mistakes and oversights. We accept human error...this place is a shambolic disaster area. It felt as though the hotel had been designed by someone who has never stayed in a hotel in their life.

We stayed in the Dundee Hilton, a few hundered yards along the road, this time last year. If you really have to go to Dundee, stay there instead.

Avoid the Apex at all costs.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
19 Thank Traveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Victoria Road, Dundee DD1 1EL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing