We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every second”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from 2 wonderful nights spent at the Apex. We both enjoyed a very relaxing day in the spa having facials and a massage (very highly recommended)
Our room was very comfortable, and relaxing with great views overooking the quay, everything we asked for was provided.
The restaurant was clean, tidy and the food was excellant, our waitresses (claire, susan and lorna) at breakfast were very welcoming, friendly and nothing seemed to be to much trouble despite them being very busy, we were seated almost immediately and were given an explanation on how breakfast worked as we had never stayed at the hotel before.
All in all my husband and I cannot wait to return to this 1st class hotel

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank fastcar786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,120 - 3,126 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed 1 nite DBB in a suite room
Firstly the spa was fantastic, massages were the best we ever had, alot of the staff have left stobo castle to come here and other guests we spoke to also liked it alot better than stobo in every way , so the spa is a must, but you must book well in advance for treatments as they are very busy at weekends.

Our room was clean fresh spacious and looked brand new
the was a large sofa with fluffy rug and wooden floor in the lounge, 32 inch widescreen tv and dvd player
large bathroom with walk in shower and deep bath,
floor to ceiling windows that open with blackout curtains and quiet aircon ,
kingsize bed good size tv and built in wardrobes in the bedroom.
the bar was reasonably priced and dinner was ok the hotel is opening a fine dining restaurant on 25th jan so i think we'd prefer that on future visits

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank scotbhoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

We are frequent travelers and this is the first time ever that we think it is important to write a review of our experience. We stayed at this hotel from 24/12 to 27/12/06. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast package for 3 nights for a Superior King Room. Contrary to the room description on their website, the room has neither a safe nor a fridge. The room is otherwise quite nice. As other reviews suggest, one should eat elsewhere. The service is haphazard and overall poor at the Metro Brasserie. The waiters and waitresses prefer to gather together at the till rather than serving the customers. You might not get all the items you ordered. The glasses and cups were not washed properly but with stain on it. More importantly, when you check-out, you must check your bill properly because they can get confuse between DBB (dinner, bed and breakfast) and BB (bed and breakfast) rate easily.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank MySimpleAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We first went to the Apex Hotel in Dundee for my birthday 3 years ago. When we drove up to the main entrance on the outset we were disappointed and wondered what we were going into. The outside is all wooden, looking in need of a refurbishment but we decided not to let it ruin our stay. When we entered reception to book in, boy were we totally surprised and shocked!!! It was stunning, you could not have asked for a nicer hotel. By this time we couldn't wait to see what our room was like. We were in a double room but it was upgraded. It was abslolutley stunning. Very contemporary and stylish. We had complimentary dressing gowns and slippers waiting for us and a bottle of red wine a chocs for the ladies!!! We were so impressed by this time that the outside of the building was a distant memory! The inside was totally stunning and so were the rooms. At night we ate in the Metro Brassery, although slightly expensive, the food was absolutley delish and would recommend to all!!! The staff were superb and very helpful that much we returned 2 months later for my partner's birthday. This time we stayed for 2 nights and made use of the Yu Spa. Again, it's a must for everyone. Quite cheap for what you get and after a massage you feel so refreshed and wanting more. Again, as we were not disappointed we returned this year in Oct 2006 for another night's stay and once again, yes, we had an excellent time and the service is very fast and effiecient. There is a Chinese Buffet and Indian Buffet on the dock which is a much and Rama the Thai restaurant must be dined at. All of which are walking distance from the hotel which saves the hassle of getting a taxi. Overall this hotel is highly recommendable and you must try the Yu spa.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bobster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

As a regular business traveller to Dundee i stay in the Apex at least once or twice a month. The rooms are pleasant, clean and modern although can be a bit warm despite the noisy aircon. The full price quoted for the room is ludicrously expensive so dont ever book direct. The most i have ever paid for one night is £89 pounds. Sounds expensive...bit when you consider the local Travel Inn charges over £60 for one night, the extra few pounds are well worthwhile for the quality of decor, the fantastic bathroom and the large room. All in all i will continue to use this hotel. My only complaint, albeit a minor one, is the size of the pool. If you are going for a frenitic swim, forget it. The pool is the size of a large L shaped puddle !!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Raspberry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My partner and I are regular travellers. We try to book very good quality hotels on every occasion (around once a month) but, unless you are booking following a recommendation, it can be hit and miss. This was definitely a miss.

We needed a well-earned break and booked two nights - Saturday and Sunday. We were in the area for business and decided we could kill two birds with one stone and have a relaxing time while we were there. We asked for a superior room and paid more for the prvilege. In reality, the room was small and dingy...what did we pay more for? An extra window overlooking a construction site.

We were promised wine, bathrobes, slippers and chocolates on arrival. We had to phone reception to have them delivered to our room.

We had to wait for our table for dinner even though we booked it hours in advance. There was a drunken wedding party which often spilled into the bar area and took over the hotel.

We ate in the Alchemy restaurant which is billed as being a fine dining experience (more expensive)I t was infact just a few tables stuck at the back of the brasserie. The average wait between each course was over half an hour with no explanation or apology. Do not order the lobster unless you like it to taste of very burnt wood. If you're hungry, leave the hotel altogether and go elsewhere. We did that on the second night.

We were offered a bottle of wine at dinner to apologise for the diappointing start to our visit. Then they tried to charge us for it on checkout.

The bed, although it was king size, was worn and the springs are poking through. Not comfortable.

I visited the spa area on the Sunday morning and was told that the heating was broken and that it was very uncomfortable in there. Despite this and despite having doors leading outside, they refused to open them to let fresh air in.

You are promised a range of toiletries in the room. This is infact shower gel and shampoo. Disappointing. The bathroom is strange. It has a tiny, useless sink and an open shower area which spills water onto the floor.

Breakfast was a shambles. On the first morning, we had to wait ten minutes to be seated. The buffet selection was cold and, despite being there forty minutes before the restaurant was due to close, only half of the food advertised was availabe. The cold drinks were tepid and the tea was stewed.

We had to lift cutlery from other tables in order to eat. I had to ask three times for a clean glass. Tea wasn't offered until we had been seated around ten minutes.

On the second morning, the whole range of 'hot' food was available but it was stone cold, with the exception of the tomatoes!

Please believe this - we are regular hotel guests. We like to relax and enjoy beautiful surroundings but we are not hard to please. We forgive little mistakes and oversights. We accept human error...this place is a shambolic disaster area. It felt as though the hotel had been designed by someone who has never stayed in a hotel in their life.

We stayed in the Dundee Hilton, a few hundered yards along the road, this time last year. If you really have to go to Dundee, stay there instead.

Avoid the Apex at all costs.

Stayed: September 2006
19  Thank Traveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

As someone who practically lives in hotels up and down the UK I was pleasantly suprised by the Apex.

I won't bore you with the details about how nice the roms were. All I have to say is clearly the staff "in training" from previous reviews have now been trained.

Everyone seemed to know what they were doing, were polite and very efficient. It was a pleasure to stay at the Apex.

The picures show room 429 which has a pleasant view of the city quay. The rooms at the front of the hotel are quiet, with minimal street noise when the window is open.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Mr_A_Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing