We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for our 6 year anniversary.

Location was excellent, we taxied from the train station to the hotel, but really you could walk if you research the route before hand. Taxi was only a couple of quid. We visited the Meat House in town on the first night - amazing!, which was another taxi then on Saturday we took a walk into town. 10 minute taxi ride to Broughty Ferry which is worth a visit for the Tapas Bar there.

Right, on to the hotel itself! As I'd read on here, outside wasn't much to look at but inside was very luxurious. Room was of a good size and all looked newly refurbished. My only annoyance was although we'd had a view over the water and lovely floor to ceiling windows, for the whole of our stay there was massive bits of bird poop! Understandably, this cannot always be helped but I would imagine this would be a problem most of the year and so perhaps in the Summer they could get the windows washed every second day as and when needed as it was not very pleasant.

Bar was nice, as was gym and spa area. Only disappointment was that both jacuzzis were broken whilst we were there and I was very much looking forward to relaxing in one! Pool was a lot smaller than it looked in the photos and so therefore filled up very quickly. Also encountered two men who were intent on shouting across both the gym and the pool area to each other. They seemed to know the staff so I'm guessing they're regulars but it did take away from the relaxing atmosphere.

Anyway, these were only little points I thought I would mention. My only real annoyance was the time it took for the rooms to be made up. Our floor didn't seem to have many rooms yet we had around 3 members of staff and their trolleys, working on the floor from 8am - 5pm. We put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door overnight which we then removed before going down for breakfast. We spent a good hour at breakfast, and returned to the room in the same state as we had left it. We then went for a saunter round the town, only to return at about 3pm and the room still be the same. This made it very hard to do anything, I didn't want to get changed in case they came in, didn't want to get comfy on the bed etc, it was very hard to relax. Finally, on returning to the room after the spa, at around 6pm, the bed had been made!

Breakfast was good although slightly expensive, might be getting taking a walk into town and get the same thing for about £13 cheaper! Also - no square sausage!!

However, overall, it was a great stay, nice clean hotel, comfy bed and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dundee. Also, you can have room service right through the night, which is excellent for an after dancing munch!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsjustmeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 3,121 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Modern comfy rooms. Lack of air con might be an issue during the summer, but didn't affect our stay. Friendly staff and good food. Good location adjacent to the currently work in progress waterfront. Spa is also worth using when you stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank stjimmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Business stay for 3 nights. Easy to get checked in and no issues when i wanted to change room to be on same floor as the other 4 on the trip. Room spacious (too much even), plently of space to keep stuff, very clean. Great room overall with Quay view. Nice clean towels, sheets, adequate tea/coffee, bottled water and very nice toiltetries (elemis).

Gym was good size for a hotel, pool and spa were nice too. Good attention to detail. Lockers has a towel already in them and nice changing area.

Bar was nice, tried the desserts (staff made a concession as we were 5 mins after last orders for kitchen). Drinks not too expensive and they do a half decent pint of guiness.

Hotel nicely located. Don't be put off by the somehow not too contemporary looking exterior. The rooms make up for it. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Great stay overall and love the little duck in the bath. I think we all took our ducks home :) Will definitely stay again if an Apex available in cities I am visiting.

Can't comment on price as we got significant corporate discounts.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Quay if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We probably stay at the Apex Dundee a few times per year. We stayed (yesterday) 15th June on a deal - spend £45 on food/drinks and stay for £45. Nice welcome at reception from Allison really friendly and professional, nice touch is that they recognise you have stayed before. I asked for a corner room which had already been allocated to us - nice touch!! Not sure if the keep a note of your requests on previous stays, lovely anyway. Rooms are really nice, very clean, shower could be with being more powerful and the bath panel was a bit loose. Food and service at dinner and breakfast was great, the hot items at breakfast time were actually warm which was nice as often they are cool at a help yourself. Overall we still love the Apex, whilst malmaison may be new and have beautiful stylish rooms, bar and restaurant for me the apex will always win on service and food quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear HolidayGal05

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed yet another stay with us and were impressed by Alison, who has been with us for some time. Her passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed guest expectations at every encounter is what we pride ourselves on, and sets ourselves above others.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

i am just back from a one night stay at this hotel with my sister.We had a great time and all the staff were great and could not do enough for you ,the breakfast was brillant and we both look forward to staying in the future Recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

...just came back from a night there. We booked the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option. We arrived at check in and the staff were very pleasant. The room had everything you would want, slight pity that the room windows were quite dirty; mainly bird poo. My wife and I are big coffee drinkers so asked for more sachets at reception and were given a goody bag of more coffee, milk and biscuits. The spa pool, sauna and steam room were decent, we used them on arrival and before checkout; very relaxing. The 3-course dinner menu was absolutely superb and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. The only slip up was not being told if we had qualified for an upgrade on check-in. This had been requested on booking. We could not find our 'Duck' in the room, however the Reception Manager gave us one for each of our kids on checking out. We will definitely be back sometime soon, a great chillaxing weekend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GIW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days for my birthday with my partner

Room was ok we had asked for sn upgraded room but room was not great was clean and bed was comfy and full window view of water was nice

Didnt eat at hotel as its close to town and lots of places to eat

Had drinks in the bar and were not badly priced

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank murphy3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear murphy3112

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday. We pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly were not up to standards on your stay. I have followed up with me team and am pleased to confirm the issues have been resolved. Thank you for bringing them to our attention - it helps us get better.

Please contact me directly at stuart.grant@apexhotels.co.uk, where we will ensure that your birthday celebrations go off with a bang.

Yours sincerely

Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing