We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apex rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Apex rocks”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending the rock and blues festival and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The hotel is well situated for the city centre without the noise of traffic going past your bedroom window . The room was very clean and bathroom with separate bath and shower was a plus .breakfast was very acceptable on Sunday morning despite a late night :) the staff were polite and efficient and made you feel welcome ,my only negative was that the feather filled quilt and pillows were too warm for the time of year .appart from this my stay was very enjoyable . Well worth a second visit .
George w.

Room Tip: We were in room 501 end of the corridor so no foot traffic passing your door ,also view of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear George W

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us while you were attending the Rock and Blues Festival in Dundee. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our rooms and breakfast. I will share your feedback with our team who are always pleased to here from our guests.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    1,018
    241
    74
    32
See reviews for
481
1,148
89
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a fabulous overnight stay at the apex Dundee. Treatments at the spa were amazing, staff were very professional. Food was a delight. I stayed over with my 78yr old mother and the staff treated her with respect at the spa, ensuring she too enjoyed her stay. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Hazel L

I was delighted to read that you and your mother had a "Totally perfect stay" and that our team took very good care of you. We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and our staff are always pleased to hear from you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in the Apex for the second time. Have stayed in others in Dundee but we really like it here. We stayed in the master suite which has a separate living area, very handy if one person wants to sleep. The room was clean and if we had an issue it was dealt with promptly (we didn't get our duck and room was very hot in morning). Also the room overlooked the quay rather than the bridge which has roadworks round it.
With this room being on the 5th floor we decided to have breakfast in the room and it was nice to eat in private and quiet instead of the hustle and bustle of the dining area. The breakfast is good, there are plenty of options and being able to pick the time your food arrives is handy.
We found the staff very polite and nothing was too much hassle for them.
The bar was very busy on the Friday night due to a wedding but there was a waitress that was doing table service, very handy!
Haven't as yet used the spa, which is why I have given 4 stars, must remember swimming costume next time!
Overall a pleasant experience. Hope to book again soon!
The weekend we stayed turned out to be Dundee Blues Bonanza. Great weekend with free music in loads of the pubs in town, I think a must for any music fan!

Room Tip: Pay more for the extra space/living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMains_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear TheMains_9

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your second stay at the Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa over the weekend. The Master suite is something special up on the 5th floor. I was pleased that you were able to make use of the dining area in the master suite and enjoy breakfast while enjoying the views of the Quay and Dundee.

I have noted your comments regarding your room being too hot where air conditioning is not available in our rooms.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite this and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked a junior suite, great decision as the room was brilliant,clean and tidy,had all the mod -cons and had a great view
On arrival the reception staff were as helpful as iv ever known-the guy took time to explain the area after a detailed brief of the hotel and facilities.
Everything about the hotel oozes class from the gym area to the toiletries in the room. (And a free duck aswell)
Gym and pool are luxurious aswell. Stayed in alot of nice hotels and this one for the leisure facilities alone stands out a mile
Breakast was as nice as can be expected - didn't use the resteraunt for food although the menu looked really good

Great central location as 5 minutes walk and your in the town centre,some great vies of the river also

All in all i will definitely use this hotel again and it was money well spent if you ask me

And thanks again to the friendly staff :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Graeme W

It was a great pleasure to read your review which expressed that the Apex City Quay Hotel and Spa "Won't let you down".

We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards. We have a great team here at the hotel and I was delighted that your enjoyed our accommodation and facilities that Yu Spa has to offer.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend at this hotel.Cannot praise this hotel enough.The staff were extremely efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was spotless and had everything we could possibly want.
All in all this hotel is perfect for a lovely weekend away.
A huge thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Margaret T

It is always a pleasure to read that our guest’s expectations have been exceeded and I am delighted that you found our hotel perfect and had a lovely weekend.

Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms. It is nice for our ‘behind the scene’s’ staff to feel appreciated too. As you have experienced, we have a very dedicated team of staff across all departments, who are always happy to help.

I do hope to welcome you back to the Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. Excellent gym with smallish swimming pool. Food a little overpriced and despite being a central Location the drinks were very expensive. The breakfast was Ok but they could not find a banana! The most disappointing thing about breakfast was how untidy the tables were. The staff were quite happy to walk past without clearing them

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room overlooking the port and avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Grabybaby,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the over-all enjoyment of your stay, in particular, your comments on our excellent rooms and friendly staff.

I was however, disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience at breakfast time. Whist the majority of diners provide excellent feedback, I was sorry to hear that breakfast service was a little disorganised. We take comments regarding this very seriously which will be discussed with our team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is in a great location to the station and the harbour / quay.
Room was lovely, nice little terrace, Elemis products in the room! luxury.
Welcomed with a smile from the receptionist who explained about the hotel.
I used the gym and pool and it was one of the best I had been to, the pool and steam / sauna were clean and the changing rooms were also clean which is a bonus.
Breakfast and bar staff were on the ball and worked very hard.
The only issue was the quality of the breakfast products such as the sausages, juices.
If Elemis products are used in the rooms / spa I would expect the quality of the breakfast food to be better but that is my only gripe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robborobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear robborobson

Thank you very much for taking the time to your review "Our Great Hotel", and I was pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that you found the quality of the quality breakfast products poor which I will review and address with our Head Chef.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing