We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Facilities”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel some time ago and booked the suite I think they call it the executive room. To be honest it was much more than what we expected. It was like a small apartment minus the kitchen thats it. A small hallway spacious living and dining room and through the double doors to our main room that was a good size. We had family that cam eover as we were only stopping 2 nights but with even 8 people in the room there was still space for more. It was perfect as no one needed to go into our bedroom as there was a separate WC for guests. Reminded me of rooms you get abroad. To be fair it was the highest spec room and I only booked this as a one off. Normally go for a cheaper room. But worth the extra pennies. 2 sinks a shower a huge bath tub all in one. Was something else. Defo recommended. Lastly the view was a beaut. You overlook the city Quay and at night its real nice.

Room Tip: Choose the Exec Room if an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arfan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Arfan K

It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Apex Hotel Dundee and I was pleased to read that you found our facilities excellent.

The room that you were allocated is one of our Master Suites and they do command fantastic views of the Quay and beyond, and are worth every penny.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Apex Dundee in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    1,032
    247
    75
    32
See reviews for
493
1,161
89
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stopped here for the first time after the Hilton closed which I used regularly and was very satisfied with.I have not used Apex hotels before.
It is centrally located (like the Hilton was) and handy both for getting to and for walking in to the city.
I had quite high expectations as the web site put a 'quality' spin on it.The decor was contemporary but I found it very run of the mill. The menus and food were ok but again I found them very run of the mill.
The staff were fine all round and I could not take issue with reception, bar or resturaunt service.
I could not help feel though that this is a decent three star as opposed to a good four star and would summarize as ok all round but not remarkable and in my mind 'run of the mill'
Would I use it again? yes because it was ok, convenientley located and, probably in the absence of new competition as good as anywhere in the immediate area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear LancashireIan

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read about your perception of our hotel. As you can see from previous reviews, we usually receive high levels of praise from our guests. Please accept my apologies for our failure to meet your expectations.

Should you wish to discuss this further then please feel free to contact me on the e-mail address below where I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to demonstrate the high levels of hospitality that many of our guests do recognise us for.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager
stuart.grant@apexhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour of Scotland. Don't think we would come to Dundee again but if we did we would definitely use this hotel again. Friendly helpful staff throughout the hotel, large comfortable room (executive room) with a nice view of the quay. Food in restaurant first class. Yu spa good value and excellent treatments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear steve c

I am delighted that you stopped off at Dundee on your tour of Scotland and chose our hotel as a base for your tour of Dundee and Angus.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations from the food in Metro Restaurant to the friendliness and professionalism of our staff, and the treatments you had in Yu Spa.

Please do remember to visit us again if you are back in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently stayed the night here and I am sad to say, it was not as good as my previous stay.
The hotel is starting to look slightly run down in the rooms and sadly, it is just not worth the price asked anymore.

I paid almost £100 for my room and it was shabby, the bathroom had broken pieces of wood, the noise was unbelievable from the housekeeping staff, the fridge over heated and melted the free snacks. Just all in all not what I would expect for my money. The pillows were really flat and uncomfortable, the life had completely gone out of them.

On a good note, the bed was very comfortable and the front desk staff were very helpful and nice.
The view from my room was nice too.

I have raised these concerns directly with the hotel as part of customer feedback, but was never replied to. I will probably go to West Port Apartments as they are of better quality and the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Lola H

Thank you for posting your comments on this site following your recent stay with us.
I really am very sorry to hear that your recent stay was not as enjoyable as your previous experience back in December. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused and be assured that I have taken on board your comments and shared them with my team.

I have e-mailed you under separate cover and I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to demonstrate the high levels of hospitality that many of our guests do recognise us for.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here last night between meetings. Great location.
Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Good sized room and nice design.
Great views of Scott's RSS Discovery.

Had dinner at hotel with 40 colleagues. Service was fine but food was fairly average.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Much improvement on last hotel in Dundee. On this occasion... "don't sleep in the car".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Steve B

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our great hotel in Dundee and that you enjoyed the views of the RSS Discovery.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was at a conference held at the Hotel and the whole experience was amazing, every member of staff was pleasant and helpful, from the cleaners to the desk and the waiting staff. From the arrival through a maze of roadworks the hotel was an oasis of calm, I arrived very very early but that didn't stop them from finding me a room and letting me unwind. The room was lovely relaxing and very smart, the bathroom wonderful! The kitchen catered for the conference so we got to taste the bar/cafe for lunch and then the evening meal, which was just right, enough to be full but not so much as you felt you had to finish it. The staff were attentive at all times but not obtrusive, and quick to help if you asked. Over all this was a wonderful place to stay and I will be going back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Ruan P

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent conference stay with us and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our wonderful venue and had an amazing experience.

Thank you again, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel one night for a training weekend & recommended it to a friend for her 40th Birthday celebrations. We stayed Fri 31st May - Sun 2nd June. 5 of us stayed for 2 nights & 5 of us stayed for the Sat night (making 10 of us in total on the Sat) I was disappointed that there was no deal or reduction offered to the person making the bookings given the size of the party on the Sat night however we all shared rooms to reduce our costs. It cost 3 of us £75 each for 2 nights in the Deluxe double double room for example.

The use of the spa facilities was brilliant. On the Sat the hot tubs were not working however staff spent the majority of the day trying to get them up & running. Also on the Sat a friend had requested a change of bedding due to allergies (duvet & pillows were feathers) from the previous night & the bed was changed within 10 minutes - brilliant service & very friendly staff member. The spa has a steam room, sauna, small pool & 2 hot tubs. It was never over busy no matter what times we visited & families, couples & single persons used it.

We only ate lunch at the hotel but it was all ok if a bit overpriced. Drinks were also quite pricey however that's the same with most hotels.

Our only niggle was the temperature of the room. It was warm enough walking along the corridor to the room but the room itself was awful. Even with the window open as wide as it could go there was limited ventilation. During the day we tried to stay out the room as much as possible as with the 3 of us in it it quickly heated up & became stuffy. During the night it was unbearable & all 3 of us struggled to sleep in the heat. Although Scotland may not need air conditioning as a general rule this hotel could benefit from it in it's bedrooms!!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a fridge & robes included for the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear V G

Thank you very much for taking the time to your review your stay with us, and I was pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us. I have passed your comments over to our housekeeping department who are particularly pleased to read about the brilliant service that you received from them.

Our prices for the dishes on our menu’s and in the bar are very competitive are very much in line with other hotels of our rating. I was sorry to hear that you were a little uncomfortable due to the heat but we do not have air-conditioning in our rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing