We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A good position by the docks.

A very good room with a huge bed.

Excellent dinner and good breakfast, although the service was a bit erratic in the breakfast area.

Helpful staff although English seemed to be the second language for some of them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Stephen B

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an excellent dinner and good breakfast.

There is nothing more satisfying and accomplishing than welcoming guests back to our hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back with us on your next business trip.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,264 - 2,270 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

friendly hotel staff, used the facilities eg pool, steam room and jacussi. plus 25% of all drinks at the bar!!! were upgraded to a room with view over the quay. great breakfast too. lift to all floors and rooms spotlessly clean. well worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if possible. great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Hazelshouse

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are always grateful to hear directly from our guests, about how much they've enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, which is plentiful, varied and freshly prepared, through the morning.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I had a delicious meal in the restaurant at the Apex and neither meal could be faulted. Well presented and extremely efficient service. We would both go back and definitely recommend the restaurant to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Frances D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow diners. I am delighted to know that you both enjoyed an excellent meal served by our extremely efficient team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Apex hotel is well situated in Dundee and easily reached from the main routes. The hotel is well kept and the rooms are very good and spacious. The staff are very welcoming and will go out of their way to help.
We stayed over Friday and Saturday nights and the hotel was busy and seemed to be used by the locals as a meeting point, but there was still room in the bar area to sit and have a drink. Our room had all the necessary comforts as well as free WiFi. I would definitely recommend the hotel as a good option if visiting Dundee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZZIEDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear OZZIEDGS

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. It gave me pleasure to read your review which has been posted on our departmental notice board to share with the team.

We are all delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've stay here a few times on business trips. The hotel is modern and the rooms are well equipped and of a reasonable size. The bar and restaurant are quite good. The meals I've had have been surprisingly good - better than I'd expected for a reasonably priced hotel.

I understand from locals that it's the best option in Dundee. Several other hotels are under construction so it'll soon have some competition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear swiss6

I was delighted to read your very kind comments following your recent business stay with us at the Apex hotel Dundee.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased to hear that we did not let you down from the modern and well equipped rooms, to the good meals.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you like your hotels , then this is a good stop off situated in Dundee. Right on the front of Water overlooking very scenic views.
I stayed on the top floor and unfortunately the wind was blowing so much that night I stayed, it was very loud in my room. Other than this, it is hard to point any faults.
The spa is lovely but the gym isn't a great deal, small and limited to very basic cardio equipment and a selective range of free weights and machines.
I didn't eat here but I was supplied lots of coffee for my room.
Wi-fi is great, good access and strong connection when dialing up.
Overall, a solid average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Lou P,

I would like to thank you for your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed the scenic views up on the 5th floor, and I was sorry to hear that the Scottish weather kept you awake.

Thank you once again and I do hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Apex for one night with my daughter. Staff were all friendly and the hotel has nice rooms and decent facilities. The hotel is in the centre of town walkin distance to most places.Its situated by the City Quay with a selection of asian restaurants to choose from. Its a nice setting by the water and luckilt the weather was nice so the stay was fine.
The Yu spa is small but relaxing all the same. The gym is laiden with modern gym equipment for those which wish to look after themselves.
Breakfast for £10 is well worth it, and the full Scottish was perfect for my busy day ahead.
All in all a nice stay and recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear wct275,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us and equally to here that you would recommend us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your Apex experience and thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing