We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic hotel , and simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“a fantastic hotel , and simply the best”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we stayed here at the apex in Dundee and were delighted with it , the rooms were excellent with lots of extras and freebies , and while there we made use of the spa facilities and multi gym ,pool ,steam room which were lovely , staff could not do enough for you and the bed was huge and so comfy , the next morning the hearty breakfast I had was so tasty I went and grabbed another bit of bacon ......ive stayed in the Edinburgh apex and its great but the Dundee apex beats it hands down for me if you are visiting Dundee or the surrounding areas , then book your stay at the apex you wont be disappointed ...I promise you

Room Tip: gotta pick the luxury room its a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear keith f,

What can I say, apart from thank you very much for a glowing report. We strive to maintain our high levels of service and very much appreciate it when our guests confirm this with such positive feedback.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble to write following your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    988
    229
    71
    30
See reviews for
456
1,111
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
532 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After looking around managed to get a deal at this hotel and what a bargain it was best to look around, booking.com for £68 for 2 people in double room on 27.4.13

We arrived to the car park for 2pm and on the form it says checking after 2.30pm was lucky get booked in at 2.10pm and no extra fee, the girl on the desk told us about the facilities etc and if we wanted to book a table to the restaurant we could, we had planned to go for indian we were located on the 5th floor so we made our way up. The loft and the building inside was lovely and they have a art gallery on the 2ed floor, The room was lovley , double bed with 4 pillows, Large 42 inch tv on the wall,desk,hairdryer, mirror, comfy chair, free views, dvds player,2 telephones, and tea and coffee facilities, and extra storage. The bathroom has luxury towels, shampoo,soap gel, we had a bath and a large shower. (and had a view of the water like I asked for.)

We decided to go to the spa facillites as they were included in the price, and no need to take your own towel as they are provided with a locker(free) the swimming pool was warm and good side, the 2 hot tubs were great and sooo warm, the steam and sauna room were warm as well, ideal for relax day ouy. There is also a small gym with a range of items to use for free, ideal for a workout and then time in the pool as we went when arrived and went the next morning before leaving the hotel.

I have to say its a busy place and the staff are a friendly bunch, we went for dinner but came back around 9.30pm ro relax and from 10pm until 11.30pm there was loud music playing but I was watching afilm so never botherd me but but found out the next day there had been a fancy dress party, but never seen any signs to show this.

Overall the sray was great and well worth a try, the only thing that was bad was the pillows were to soft and could have done with firm ones.

Room Tip: Room looking at the water is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear 2012_Gaz

Thank you for giving us your feedback on your TripAdvisor following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. I have shared all your kind comments with the various departments you mentioned and we are all very appreciative. If you are staying with us again, we do have a range of pillows and would be happy to replace these for you.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Apex Hotel on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night (wish it was longer) on the 27th April. Check in was marvellous, friendly informative staff then we went to our upgraded superior room which was room 101 1st floor end of corridor away from lifts with a view over the quay.
The room was clean and spacious had everything including a fridge only slight improvement that could be made would be some air-con as it did get a little warm and could be noisy with window open.
Went to the hotel restaurant for our evening meal which was a lovely atmosphere again really friendly helpful staff the meal was of good quality maybe a little over priced for the quality but maybe I'm nit picking as all hotels charge a premium.
The next day we had room service which came on time with all ordered items and again friendly member of staff and would say the food again was of good quality.
Check out seamless and booked a taxi for the station for us which came straight away.
Would defiantly go back here without hesitation and would thoroughly recommend the hotel to all.

Room Tip: Room 101 great view end of corridor so no lift noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave4ange2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear dave4ange2003

It was a real pleasure to read your review, and your generous comments about our 'GEM"' of a hotel at the Apex Dundee - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind reviews such as yours are very much appreciated by all of the staff at the hotel - and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'd call this a complete family Hotel. We had our 3m old baby travelling with us, they had arranged for bottle warmers, a real comfortable cot bed and also had a fun pack (with colors and all) for my 4 yr old. It was a treat staying there, kept the children busy.

The pool was great, overall hotel is well maintained and very friendly staff. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear TVoyager,

I was delighted to read your very kind comments following your stay at the Apex hotel Dundee.
We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that you found us family friendly. We also provide free DVD's for the children and meals are also free when children dine with adults.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've stayed here before and was not disappointed with my overnight stay on this occasion as part of a business trip.
Friendly and very helpful staff at reception.
Hotel room was clean and comfortable with all facilities required. The Spa is another benefit to staying here.
Confusing to find where Apex was with all roadworks progressing in Dundee at present but found it eventually. One colleague ended up heading over the Tay Road Bridge rather than heading through the traffic cones and work lanes to the Apex.
Would come back here again. Didn't have dinner but breakfast provided ample choices and I found to be of a good standard.
Will be back. Thank you

Room Tip: I chose a room on the Tay river side of the hotel. I was on the third floor and unfortunately there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Margaret T

Thank you for posting your comments about our "Terrific Hotel" and we do hope you will be back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

With a regular business client in Dundee I have had the opportunity to try out almost all the hotels in the area. The Apex simply is the best.
From when you arrive and are greeted with a smile and welcome back, to remembering the part of the hotel you like to stay in, to the breakfast which is of a very good standard to the clean and well appointed bedrooms with 40" TV's and DVD players - and you get a bath duck to take away!
Gym and Pool are free to guests as is wi-fi which is one of the fastest I have seen in a hotel.
You really get the feeling that all the staff have a passion to make sure you have a great stay, which is about all you can ask for in a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finishingwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Finishingwell,

I'm gratified to hear that you found the service and accommodation at our hotel "The Best in Dundee" - many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of the hotel. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from our guests, which I will share with the team.

Thank you again and I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to the Apex Dundee soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel, good location for station and good food too. Had a bar snack on the first night (Ceaser salad) which was very good, on the 2nd stay I had the chicken breast which was succulent and tasty! Unfortunately I wasn't prepared for the spa (forgot costume) but it looked very nice. Staff were very obliging on both occasions and happily booked a taxi which appeared very quickly.

Room Tip: I stayed on 2 separate nights and the first night was overlooking the quay which was much nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Helen T,

I was delighted to read your very kind comments following your stay with us.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations and that you enjoyed your meals. Yu Spa is a superb part of our business and I was sorry that you were unable to enjoy this. For reference, there is a sports shop just behind the hotel which sells just about everything.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing