We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room Only”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Slightly expensive hotel, but it has a city centre location.
Room was not entirely clean, but facilities are as good as you'll get in the UK for this class of hotel. Easy access to Tay Bridge, city of Dundee, Perth and beyond.
Sadly, I didn't take advantage of all the facilities and I'm planning to go back soon and enjoy the spa and restaurant (which is ALWAYS busy).
The car park is often over-subscribed at weekends (which is a clear indicator of how popular the hotel is).
The exec facilities are spot-on, the bar is well managed and the room service caters for a wide range of requirements.
The staff have a very good local knowledge, extremely helpful and understanding and always take the time to make your stay as good as possible.
Shopping and a choice of dining are within a few minutes walk and the views across the actual harbour are stunning by day and night.

Room Tip: Room facing East avoids the current major roadworks you can see to the West. Higher rooms have a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Neil M,

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise that this was not the perfect stay that we pride ourselves on delivering. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board with regards to the room cleanliness to allow us to enhance the experience that is delivered.

Despite the issues identified I do value your appreciation of our good facilities and extremely helpful staff.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you enjoy a perfect stay with us.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,013
    240
    74
    32
See reviews for
478
1,143
89
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed in this Hotel recently on a Saturday night , staff were pleasant and the rooms were spacious and clean with a few toiletries included in the bathroom and a nice small Duck if you have young kids. The hotel gave us a 25% voucher for use during our stay which included drinks and food which brought the prices down to normal pub prices for drinks etc so that was a winner.
we used the spa facilities in the morning and they were excellent.
The buffet style breakfast was good with plenty food and choice and the service was quick and often so overall it was a good stay and i would recommend it as you are close to the river and all the big ship attractions at the harbour side.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the water inlet at the front of the hotel which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Ronnieduke

Thank you for your review and I appreciate the time and effort taken. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apex Hotel Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is flawless every time we stay. The staff are efficient and always willing to help out. Great parking and close to city centre with excellent leisure facilites. Well worth a visit. Would recommend to any one looking for city centre stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyfroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sandyfroh

Your review is fantastic, the whole team will be absolutely delighted to read your comments and thank you very much.

We are looking forward to seeing you the next time that you are staying with us.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Apex on several occasions without any problems and always enjoyed our stay. Not this time. The main fly in the ointment was the hotel's online booking system. I booked 2 rooms with breakfast on the Apex website at an advance purchase rate and got confirmations for both rooms. On arrival at the hotel they only had a reservation for one room, said the second booking number did not exist (although their website had produced it and I had a copy with me) and although they could give us another room we would have to pay for it unless we could produce a bank statement to prove that we had paid in advance. We were understandably a bit upset, having booked and paid for (as far as we knew) two rooms and strangely enough we don't carry a bank statement around on the off chance of having a problem. It doesn't really endear you to a hotel where you feel there is the implication that you are trying to rip them off, especially when the problem is theirs rather than yours. As we discovered later, the payment for our second room had not gone through in advance but we were not to know that. To add insult to injury we received a bill for the second room for £70 more than we had booked! Luckily the receptionist on checkout was really on the ball and refunded the excess without a quibble.
As for the rest of our stay...rooms are very clean, quiet and comfortable. Dinner in the brasserie was a bit of a disappointment -service was good but the food was very average. One of our party had a measly vegetarian dish that would have left a 5 year old still hungry. There was a good selection at breakfast but the hot food wasn't anywhere near hot.
I think we'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Anne B,

I am very sorry to hear that the standards have declined since your last visit as we endeavour to provide high service standards to our guests. I will be addressing the points that you have kindly commented on, to ensure that the standards that you have become accustomed to are restored.
I was sorry to hear about your booking experience which is a technical issue and one which we have never experienced in the past, and is currently under review to prevent any further reoccurrences.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused and I do hope you will consider using the hotel again when visiting Dundee.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend. Rooms are large and exceptionally clean, as is the whole hotel. Doesn't look as nice from the outside, but is lovely inside and it is so easy to get to all the shops etc. The staff were all fabulous, in particular the Restaurant manager and his staff -it was very busy, but they always had time for you and nothing was too much trouble. They were all fantastic and the food was delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here as did my 13 year old son and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Shirley H,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Apex Dundee, and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff work hard and take great pride in their high levels of customer care. They genuinely enjoy making sure our guests enjoy their time with us and will be delighted to know their efforts did not go unrecognised.

Thank you again, and I do look forward to welcoming you and your son back the next time that you are visiting Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent hotel in a good central location with excellent facilities. Good value for money. Food is fabulous and staff are very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay at the Apex Dundee. We would definately reccommend it to others. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalevan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear chalevan1980

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an "Excellent" stay and that our staff looked after you in the way that the Apex Hotel Dundee is reputed for.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, second time we've been there in 2 months and when coming back to Dundee will book in again.

Rooms are clean and spacious, well equipped and with good bathrooms. Free wi-fi very welcome, plenty of car parking space (which is free), and the restaurant food is very good. Breakfast is a self-serve buffet, plenty of hot and cold food on offer.

All of the staff we encountered are very friendly and helpful, just what you want in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear scoobymc

A huge thank you for your review. Your commendation of our hotel being "Great" is very much appreciated, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us.

I am particularly pleased to learn that the helpful and warm nature of our team was so apparent during your visit.

I do hope to welcome you back in near future, when you make the return journey back to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing