We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A colleague and I stayed here for two nights in November, a great location is the first positive. Very easy access both in terms of getting to the hotel in Dundee but also for the city of Dundee once you have arrived. The hotel rooms were spotless and well appointed, the gym and pool were great and the staff were very professional and polite. A great place to stay, thank you.

Room Tip: The views out of both sides of the hotel are great, either looking up the river or over the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-Horsham-181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Mark-Horsham-181

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Apex Dundee, and I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic time at our hotel.

Thank you again, and I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back the next time that you are visiting Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,387 - 2,393 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our 4th stay at this hotel, really like it. All Apex hotels are lovely tried them all. We arrived Sat afternoon 24th Nov, was checked in quickly, reception staff very friendly. We recieved a £10 voucher which was a nice surprise.
Rooms are spacious and clean, bathrooms spotless.
We were on the 5th floor this time and looked over the Quay which was nice.
had a lovely lunch in the bar area, really nice relaxed atmosphere with a great buzz, lots of couples and groups of ladies mainly. Good drinks and efficient service.
There was a ball on the evening, busy! so struggled to get a seat. They moved through to the function suite pretty quickly so that was fine :) Pipes being played at the door, enjoyed listening to that.
A short walk to pubs, restaurants and shopping.
We slept really well, comfy large bed with 2 pillows each and lovely duvet
Breakfast was very good, always a large selection of hot and cold, both Buffet.
my sausage, bacon and egg was a bit on the cool side :( My only complaint.
Overall a lovely stay and we will defo return. Bought a hotel gift voucher for my mothers christmas, sure she will be delighted.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms looking over the car park, the Quay view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear JoseAberdeen

It was a great pleasure to read your review which expressed your stay at The Apex Dundee and all it has to offer.

We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Apex Dundee in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Only stayed one night in August before going on to Glasgow before the Tattoo on the first night in Edinburg this year but arrived early on the Thursday and went to Broughty Ferry to show a friend around.
The staff were first class, the food very good and I will return before Christmas.
Truly a great hotel to stay at and really enjoy.

Room Tip: Right by the docks and river. A quiet area in walking distance of the town and shops. I like Dundee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Robert J

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your stay with us.

I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the team at the hotel, who do enjoy hearing from our guests.

Thank you again, and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Apex in Dundee on business on the weekend of the 17/18th November. I usually stay at other hotels but opted for Apex due to price and availability.

The hotel is modern, clean and spacious. There is a good atmosphere in the lounge/bar area. The staff are very friendly. Free wifi is excellent, I wish other hotels did this. My room was large, double-bed, flat screen TV. There was a separate bath and shower, good layout and very spacious. The Elemis samples in the bathroom are a nice touch. Incidentally, the spa on the ground floor seems very very popular so book in advance, I am sure my wife would use it.

Breakfast was excellent, and good value for money. I had to wait to be seated, I could not see a member of staff as I was a bit grumpy on a Sunday morning. In all fairness, she treated me very well and did not react to my bad manner. I also need to praise the floor manager, who remembered when I asked for some ketchup. She brought it to my table; I had thought she had just forgotten because the restaurant/breakfast was so busy. Nice touch, thanks.

Checkout was simple.

I will be returning. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freed0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear freed0m

I was delighted to read that you had an amazing time while staying with us in Dundee.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed stay. I will certainly be sharing your kind comments with my team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apex Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked a spa day here with a friend. The treatments were fantastic and thank you to the therapists who were both fabulous. The staff were welcoming and the wet area of the spa was great and we had a lovely visit here. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Elaine L

Thank you for the marvellous review we are all delighted that you had a fantastic time at the Apex Dundee and we do hope you will be back soon.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

By the riverside, in the city of jute, jam and journalism, sits the Apex City Quay hotel, a glass and steel Soviet-style monolith.

The rather functional, Eastern European design cues continue once inside, with the very high main public lounge/bar area, tiled and producing a noisy, resonant atmosphere. The hotel boasts themed artwork of local hero, Dennis the Menace, acknowledging D C Thompson, Dundee publishers of The Beano.

After a difficult, convoluted flight from London City to Dundee, two failed attempts at landing in very low cloud and subsequent diversion to Edinburgh, bonus points to CityJet for trying to land, and for the usual, complimentary in-flight service of drinks, sandwich, nibbles and chocolate. No points to Servisair ground handling at Edinburgh airport for promising coach transfer back to Dundee within 35 minutes of our arrival that eventually materialised over one and a half hours later. Having promised assistance on arrival at Dundee airport, the lights were out and the airport closed.

Arriving just before 10pm, the friendly reception and bar staff were welcoming, helpful and informative. The general style of the hotel is a little dated, with lots of glass and pale wood. This theme is carried through to the bedrooms, which are, however of a generous size, with a large comfortable bed and very large LCD TV. DVDs are available to rent. The room had no mini-bar or fridge, but offered tea and coffee facilities and complimentary bottled water. The room has efficient heating, but no air-conditioning. (Would this ever be necessary in Dundee?). My standard room was cleaned although not vacuumed each day. For the business traveller, free Wi-Fi and free parking and are a welcome, unexpected nod to old-fashioned customer service.

For this grade of hotel, the bathroom was large with both a bath and walk-in shower. In the otherwise spotlessly clean bathroom, it was disappointing to find black mould around the shower base that a quick spray with bleach would have cured.

The room service breakfast arrived at the appointed time, although the sausages were bland and the poached egg cold and solid. On day one, the eggs failed ‘My Test’ of any room service breakfast to get hot, soft poached eggs from kitchen to bedroom. On day two, the eggs were perfect, soft and hot, so a bit unpredictable. In this part of the country, where some of the best sausages and bacon are available from award-winning local butchers (e.g. H W Irvine in Blairgowrie), it is a pity to offer what seemed to be the usual, unexciting sausages and bacon.

Overall, a rather dated, but friendly and efficient business hotel, with well-trained and helpful staff throughout. Very good service in a building that will look more out of place as the major city redevelopment progresses in Dundee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angusM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear angusM25

Thank you for your detailed and extensive review and I appreciate the time and effort taken. We value your feedback and have taken all on board.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apex Hotel Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice hotel, currently surrounded by major road and building works which will in time leave it in a great location close to major attractions in Dundee. Very comfortable room with all the details that you would expect. Free WiFi worked fine on my iPad but proved impossible on a laptop - this may need some attention.
Breakfast was very good and the bar was well attended in the evening. Free parking using a token system. I will stay again when in town.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear WanderingAcademic

It was a great pleasure to read your review which expressed your stay at The Apex Dundee and all it has to offer.

We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Apex Dundee in the future.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing