We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay on the Tay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Stay on the Tay!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and I stayed overnight on a Saturday in September 2012, we had just attended the RAF Leuchars airshow and decided that we would stay in Dundee overnight as a birthday treat for my wife and a wee adventure for my son aged 11.
We arrived at the Apex City Quay Hotel around 5pm and were greeted with very friendly and courteous staff on the desk, when asked why we were staying, I said that it was my wifes birthday and we were promptly given a voucher for free drinks at the bar, very welcoming that was.
We found the hotel to be very clean and well presented, extremely friendly and helpful staff and a lovely room.
Our family room overlooked part of the old docks and berthed in the docks is the old 19th century Royal Navy frigate Unicorn and the old Light ship from days gone by. We had a great view over the docks and the river beyond.
Only a couple of minutes walk from the city centre we ventured out and had a meal at the nearby Mexican restaurant "Rancho Pancho" - great meal, would highly recommend this place.
Having got a great nights sleep despite the hotel being very busy hosting a wedding the night before, we ventured down for breakfast, again we were greeted by very friendly and happy staff who ensured that our breakfast experience was great. Breakfast was in teh form of a huge buffet style offering with everything you could wish for, cereals, toast, croissants, muffins, cooked bacon, sausage, etc etc etc etc. It really was good and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Then we went for a stroll along the quayside and visited the old frigate Unicorn, this turned out to be a real interesting ship and is well worth a visit.
We then headed back to the hotel and picked up the car (we had already checked out).
We would definetly stay here again and would recommend highly.
The staff made the place, very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Well done to the Apex City Quay Hotel

Room Tip: Get a dock side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear craigcon

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your stay with us and I was pleased to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us. I will especially ensure I share them with the team at the hotel. I am also happy that you enjoyed your breakfast, the most important meal of the day!

Thank you again, and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    1,052
    249
    78
    33
See reviews for
501
1,175
91
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Great staff - good location and free parking. Also having the pool and spa is a bonus. We stayed one night in a family room with breakfast. Room was huge and facilities were great. Easy access to shops and city centre. There are some road works to navigate but it's easier from the apex than the Hilton up the road.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LynneM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear LynneM71

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Dundee.

Kind regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party recently. Initially I was unsure of the location and the outside appearance of the hotel as it is just off a busy road and does not have the obvious look of an elegant hotel. However, once you go inside it is beautifully presented and laid out. The check in staff are friendly and efficiant and the room we had was fantastic, a great size and spotlessly clean. The only down side to this hotel and it's one that maybe not everyone would have had, but the barstaff on duty when we were there were somewhat aloof and one young member of staff was actively fishing for tips comstantly from everyone in our party!!. It was a bit uncomfortable and embarasing for us. As I say not everyone would probibly face this but it did take the gloss of our stay slightly. Otherwise I could not fault this hotel and I would consider it if I was visiting Dundee again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear johnhshannon
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Apex Dundee and may I say how much we appreciate your positive comments.

As you conveyed in your review, our hotel is beautifully presented and well laid out, with fantastic rooms. I was sorry to hear about the actions of one of our team members which I have discussed with the bar team. This level of behaviour is not accepted, and I do hope that you can see that it is not indicative of the usual high standards that our guests usually experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Apex Dundee in the future

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

the hotel itself is good near town shops and resaurants,
the breakfast is good they have suppliments on the menu but were not avalible when we were there. the staff are a bit disorginised, we never ate dinner in the restaurant but we had a bar lunch witch was ok ., the rooms are big and comfortable. as i say not a bad hotel but we have stayed in better run 4star hotels. over all enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear grm2445,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the over-all enjoyment of your stay, in particular your comments on our rooms and location.

I was however, disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience at breakfast time. Whist the majority of diners provide excellent feedback, I was sorry to hear that supplemented dishes were not available and that the team looked to be disorganised, and we take comments regarding this very seriously.

I would be extremely keen to discuss your experience further and would invite you to contact me personally at the hotel on 01382-202-404 to discuss your experience and to further and restore your confidence in dining at the Apex Dundee.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall a very good choice for Dundee business travel. The room was nice and clean and the decor is very nice. The breakfast buffet is fairly limited but since I don't need much I have no complaint. It may sound strange but my only issue with the hotel is the lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom. It is clearly a "design element" but it is just flat out annoying. I know there is a towel for the floor but why do I have to worry about that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear hlsteve

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Apex Dundee, and I was pleased to read that over-all you have an enjoyable stay with us. All of our showers are designed with a glass screen and replacing with a curtain is not an option.

Thank you again, and I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to our hotel again one day.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I attended a workshop there the other day. Close to the train station,about a five minute walk. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Meeting room was very modern. I didn't organise it, only attending. I would certainly give it consideration if I was organising corporate events.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allister1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Allister1960

I was delighted to read your review following your attendance at a recent event. We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations.

Should you be in a position to organise a future event do get in touch with me and I would be delighted to discuss your requirements.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel while visiting Dundee University with our son. The hotel reception was clean and modern and the check in staff were exceptional. Our family room was a good size with views of Dundee quay. Unexpected bonus in bathroom - bath and separate shower - usually only found in 5 star!!
We chose to eat in the town centre but were bitterly disappointed!! On return to the hotel the restaurant was buzzing and we regretted not eating three. Had a pleasant glass of red - very acceptable wine list with reasonable prices.
Breakfast next morning was also excellent - really nothing to complain about! Staff throughout our stay were ' naturally exceptional'. If our son manages to get the grades for Dundee this well definitely be our stay of choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear 577Nicola

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel and may I say how much we appreciate your positive comments.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that you had an excellent stay from the lovely rooms and excellent food at the hotel to the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail will be shared with our team as they are always delighted to learn of our guests' experiences.

I do hope that you son got his grades and that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel the next time that you are visiting him in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing