We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad hotel but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not bad hotel but could be better”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

the hotel itself is good near town shops and resaurants,
the breakfast is good they have suppliments on the menu but were not avalible when we were there. the staff are a bit disorginised, we never ate dinner in the restaurant but we had a bar lunch witch was ok ., the rooms are big and comfortable. as i say not a bad hotel but we have stayed in better run 4star hotels. over all enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear grm2445,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the over-all enjoyment of your stay, in particular your comments on our rooms and location.

I was however, disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience at breakfast time. Whist the majority of diners provide excellent feedback, I was sorry to hear that supplemented dishes were not available and that the team looked to be disorganised, and we take comments regarding this very seriously.

I would be extremely keen to discuss your experience further and would invite you to contact me personally at the hotel on 01382-202-404 to discuss your experience and to further and restore your confidence in dining at the Apex Dundee.

Yours sincerely,
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    988
    229
    71
    30
See reviews for
456
1,111
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall a very good choice for Dundee business travel. The room was nice and clean and the decor is very nice. The breakfast buffet is fairly limited but since I don't need much I have no complaint. It may sound strange but my only issue with the hotel is the lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom. It is clearly a "design element" but it is just flat out annoying. I know there is a towel for the floor but why do I have to worry about that?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear hlsteve

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Apex Dundee, and I was pleased to read that over-all you have an enjoyable stay with us. All of our showers are designed with a glass screen and replacing with a curtain is not an option.

Thank you again, and I do hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to our hotel again one day.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I attended a workshop there the other day. Close to the train station,about a five minute walk. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Meeting room was very modern. I didn't organise it, only attending. I would certainly give it consideration if I was organising corporate events.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allister1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Allister1960

I was delighted to read your review following your attendance at a recent event. We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations.

Should you be in a position to organise a future event do get in touch with me and I would be delighted to discuss your requirements.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel while visiting Dundee University with our son. The hotel reception was clean and modern and the check in staff were exceptional. Our family room was a good size with views of Dundee quay. Unexpected bonus in bathroom - bath and separate shower - usually only found in 5 star!!
We chose to eat in the town centre but were bitterly disappointed!! On return to the hotel the restaurant was buzzing and we regretted not eating three. Had a pleasant glass of red - very acceptable wine list with reasonable prices.
Breakfast next morning was also excellent - really nothing to complain about! Staff throughout our stay were ' naturally exceptional'. If our son manages to get the grades for Dundee this well definitely be our stay of choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear 577Nicola

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel and may I say how much we appreciate your positive comments.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that you had an excellent stay from the lovely rooms and excellent food at the hotel to the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.

Your appreciation of our service and attention to detail will be shared with our team as they are always delighted to learn of our guests' experiences.

I do hope that you son got his grades and that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel the next time that you are visiting him in Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay of 2 nights. The room was comfortable. It had a lovely view over the Tay, only to be seen when standing at the smallish window. Excellent bed, particularly enjoyed the quality of the duvet and the pillows. Absolutely first class. Good breakfast and dinner. Young staff, doing their best, very helpful and pleasant. A good choice for a stay in Dundee

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Tay, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear VictoriaSW1

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

We value the feedback that we receive from our guests and we are so pleased that your visit met your expectations from the accommodation to dinner and breakfast in Metro Restaurant. I was sorry to hear that you found our windows a little small, but all of our windows are floor to ceiling in size.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dundee.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Somewhat tired rooms needing some attention to chips and dents and rucks in the carpet. Beds are really hard and not really comfortable. Generally clean but only the most basic of toiletries provided. No room safe and security lock on door did not appear to do anything. Light over the bed worked intermittently. Sleep quality was poor as rooms hot and stuffy as there was heating but no cooling and noise outside prevented leaving the window open. Both nights we were disturbed until about 2am by noise in the corridor, doors slamming and a loud gathering in an adjacent room, so not a restful experience. Further disappointment was the spa being fully booked the whole time of our stay even though we tried to book a few days before and kids under 16 can only swim at restricted times. The facility appears to be primarily for the gym members rather than visiting guests. On the positive side the buffet breakfast was good and bar area pleasant. The wait staff in the restaurant were cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Get a room higher in the building with a dock view. Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear travlr9,

Thank you for posting your comments on this site following your recent stay with us.
We certainly are the Number One hotel in Dundee as positioned on this site and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our Restaurant & Bar outlets and found our team friendly and efficient. However I am sorry to hear that you did not find our accommodation to your satisfaction. As you can see from previous reviews, we usually receive high levels of praise for our comfortable accommodation. Please accept my apologies for our failure to meet your expectations.

Should you wish to discuss this further then please feel free to contact me on 01382-309-460 or at stuart.grant@apexhotels.co.uk, where I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to demonstrate the high levels of hospitality that many of our guests do recognise us for.

Yours sincerely
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was fine, but the bed was too hard, so I slept poorly due to shoulder pain. Couldn't fault the pillows, though. I always travel with my own, but those at the hotel were so comfortable I didn't need mine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmahatfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear wilmahatfit

Thank you very much for taking the time to your review your stay with us, and I was pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our team looked after you. I was sorry to hear that you found the bed in your room a little hard, which I have asked my housekeeper to review.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Stuart Grant - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing