We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for Univ of Dundee graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great experience for Univ of Dundee graduation”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Two families traveling together stayed here in June 2011 for two nights over the University of Dundee's graduation. This hotel, which does not look like much from the outside, was actually the perfect location. Once we got inside and checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful, modern furnishings. Our rooms, which were both deluxe double double rooms (each with 2 double beds), were very spacious and comfortable with wonderful water views overlooking the quay. Perfect room type for families. We could hear the seagulls. With only a few blocks' walk, it proved to be an ideal location for the graduation and for being close to the city center and local sights. The pool is in the spa area and kids are only allowed at certain times, which was a little inconvenient. We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings and it was very good, lots to choose from. Reception staff was helpful with all of our requests. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and comfort provided at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor with a view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,013
    240
    74
    32
See reviews for
478
1,143
89
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We recently stayed at the Apex hotel in Dundee for two nights - our third stay there. The Apex is conveniently situated both for Dundee City Centre and for the Tay Road Bridge to take you across to St. Andrews.

On previous stays we had a room with two double beds but this time we had a smaller double room. The room was furnished to a high standard with nice curtains, bedding etc. The view from the room was pleasant overlooking the Quay and with side views across to the River Tay. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board. We did have a problem with the TV in our room which refused to trun back on again when switched off. We left a note to this effect when we left our room and the set was adjusted when we returned. The only other complaint we had was that the milk in the small cartons had turned off.

Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, fruit, juices, yoghurt, croissants and cooked items. The first morning we came down for breakfast after nine and some of the cooked breakfast items were a little past their prime. However breakfast still offered a great choice.

We didn't visit the Spa this time but on previous visits we have enjoyed the hotel pool.

All in all, this stay did not disappoint and we would stay again at the Apex.

Room Tip: promotional rates are sometimes on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinnochio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stunning hotel, very friendly and smiling staff at the reception. The rooms are luxurious and comfortably. Big plus for the pool. Soon we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have been visiting this hotel 3 to 4 times a year for the last six years for one to two days each visit. Lovely rooms, well furnished and maintained with a touch of Phillipe Starke about the design.
The room prices were very reasonable and free Wi-fi and parking add to the value.
The staff have always been efficient and good humoured, the restaurant good and reasonably priced. The bar prices are slightly more than the local pubs but there is a nicer ambience and views that anywhere local.
Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a Quay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philwil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for convenient location. Ease of getting to St. Andrews to play golf. Old Course was only 20 minutes away. Lobby and rooms were very nice. Definitely a businessman's hotel guessing by the other guests I saw. Restaurant and bar appeared to be first rate, but we only ate breakfast which was buffet style. Food was very good. The only draw back was the location. This part of town was being revitalized, but still needs work. My wife still felt slightly uncomfortable walking around the area alone while I played golf. All in all, a very upscale hotel which we would stay at again when I return to St. Andrews.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfmcfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa in Dundee from June 1, through June 4, 2011. The purpose of our trip was to golf at The Old Course in St. Andrews. As the hotels and B&B’s in St. Andrews are rather expensive or sold out we opted to stay in Dundee. It is a quick 25-minute drive from Dundee to St. Andrews.

The hotel in located in walking distance to the main center of Dundee where there are lot of shops (including a mall) and restaurants. The wifi signal was very strong which is a huge plus. I also enjoyed the mint scent of the body wash and shampoo.

We booked a Deluxe Room which had two full beds and a view of the marina area. It did not have a refrigerator as indicated in the room description. The reason I am giving this review a three out of five is because there is no air conditioning and the sheets were extremely scratchy. I did not think that not having an A/C would be an issue, but by night number three I was really frustrated and annoyed. If you open the window to allow fresh, cool air in there are many issues. One, there is a lot of street noise, including cars and extremely load seagulls. Two, there was a wedding the second night and all of the people decided to enjoy the fresh air and talk/laugh/scream right outside of our window into the wee hours of the night. Three, on the third night, a group of people gathered below our window and smoked for a long period of time which meant we had to inhale their smoke or close the window. This made for a very hot and stuffy room. Combined that with scratchy sheets, it’s a formula for no sleep. Forth, in order to feel the breeze from the window you need to leave you drapes open, but around 4am the sun begins to rise in the direction of our window. Suffice it to say, we did not have a good night sleep for three nights. Therefore, regardless of the fact that the room was reasonable priced (217 pounds for three nights) and in close proximity to St. Andrews, I would not recommend or return to this hotel (unless you are booking during the winter season when A/C is not needed). There are a lot of other options in Dundee, for example, the Hilton and Holiday Inn Express which may offer A/C. If so, I may consider booking with them.

Also, if you are interested in getting spa services make sure to book in advance. The spa was completely booked when I had arrived. This was my fault, but indicates the popularity of the spa.

Overall, I will not be returning to Dundee Apex.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQGeneralManager, General Manager at Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest

I hope you had a safe journey home and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us here in Dundee.

As like many other hotels in Scotland, we do not have air conditioning but I do take on board your comments regarding the temperature in your room and also those relating to the noise. Following the introduction of our no smoking legislation, the only areas available where guests are permitted to smoke are outside and while on the whole we feel this is a much more acceptable situation, I do acknowledge that the subsequent noise can be disturbing. We do try our best to manage this situation and I very much regret the inconvenience caused.

It is the first time we have received this type of feedback about the quality of our bed linen however I will forward your comments to our supplier as all our linen is laundered outwith the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and I hope you will accept my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Kenyon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stay here quite often.

Normally very good - had two false starts with the room before finally getting an acceptable room. The staff handled it well.

Good value breakfast - sometihing others could learn from - Mr. Marriott!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 West Victoria Dock Road, Dundee DD1 3JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dundee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#2 Family Hotel in Dundee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary four-star hotel is conveniently located in the stunning quayside area of Dundee’s waterfront, just a five-minute walk from the vibrant city centre. If you’re arriving through Dundee airport, you’ll be just a short five-minute drive to the hotel. Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa features all the essentials you’ll need for a convenient and relaxing stay including complimentary parking and high-speed Wi-Fi. Beyond the essentials, it’s the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Each contemporary bedroom features floor-to-ceiling windows, a 42” LCD TV and en-suite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries. The luxury continues at our award-winning Yu Spa. Guests get free use of the Technogym, swimming pool, and sauna, steam room and Japanese-style hot tubs. Elemis spa treatments are also available to book for an extra charge. Taste and sample locally sourced ingredients in the dishes at the hotel restaurant, Metro Bar and Brasserie. If you have extra time to relax you can sip on refreshing cocktails whilst enjoying the great views of Dundee’s waterfront from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Quay Hotel Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel And Spa
Apex City Quay Dundee
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing