We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional Indian food”
Review of Goa

Goa
Ranked #92 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional Indian food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a great curry house in a slightly more refined setting. We had a sampling of starters and different curries all around. Everyone enjoyed their meals, but the portions are very big so we probably could have gotten away with splitting a couple of curries.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtraveler2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    36
    16
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“too hot!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fed up going here and getting food that is sooo spicy that it is difficult to eat. Last visit at the weekend and the same old problem. Chicken was hard and over cooked. This is a nice little place but the cooking standards are not high - and it is expensive for what you get

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sangobeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
255 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Will we Goa gain?”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mrs Benny and I visited for the first time a week past Friday to sample the pre-theatre meal deal @ £9.95 for 3 courses. I sampled the chicken pakoras which were very nice, small portion but nicely presented with 3 different dips. Mrs Benny had the prawns in tempura batter, nice and light batter, again nicely presented. I opted for the chicken bhuna with Rice which was again nicely presented, not too big a portion but a wee bit too salty (almost burning sensation) taste. A bit mild but was warned about that. Mrs Benny had the lamb bhuna which again was mild, the meat was tender and not dry but again a bit too salty. We both finished with ice cream, which was a bit too full of ice for our liking. Overall, inexpensive, average and too too bad but not too good. A bit salty. Will we go again? Probably to give it another go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I decided to try Goa on our wedding anniversary & I'm glad we did!
Amazing service from the moment you walk in. Food was very good, tasty & cooked to my very mild specification.
The staff were more than happy to explain anything on the extensive menu.
Monday evening & was quiet & relaxed.
They do take away too so we'll be trying that soon :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PudsyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Goa never fails to please. Took our Australian friend there and they were impressed with the service and the food.

I highly recommend this restaurant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanS969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goa also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing