We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat”

The Ship Inn & Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday treat”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a birthday meal with the family here and food was superb, lovely friendly staff and great relaxed atmosphere. Get a lovely view out towards tayport. This is our third time eating here and every time food has been great and reasonably priced. Would recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    125
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant/Holiday Cottage perfect”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We not only ate in the restaurant where both meal and service were excellent but we also stayed in the delightful cottage belonging to the inn. Just 4 paces across the lane from the Ship Inn the modernised, exceedingly comfortable cottage is remarkably spacious inside. It is very well planned, warm, well-furnished and the kitchen is equipped with everything you will need. The views of the Tay are stunning and the beach is right opposite the cottage just over the road.
Highly recommended. Could perhaps be noisy in summer when the pub guests leave the restaurant so maybe best to go over to the Ship Inn and have a nightcap.
We loved it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Bad meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Its been a while since we have eaten here but we were really disappointed. Admittedly we did not have fish. Perhaps that was the problem. Meat was very tough so bad I could not eat it. Pudding was two pancakes sandwiched with apples with core intact. Supposed to have toffee sauce. This was extremely meagre. For the price charged we were very disappointed. Will not be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank salsagal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food let down by poor service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good wholesome food but really poor service experience last visit. We phoned ahead and booked in advance asking for a table for 4 with two dogs. On arrival, main woman behind bar made it clear that the booking details had not been passed on to her in full. She immediately asked us to put the dogs in the boot of our car claiming she hadn't been told they were coming along. We explained that we couldn't do this, and after much eye-rolling and huffing and puffing, she showed us to the table. Two minutes later, she came back to ask us to pick up the 'dog dirt' from the floor where we had walked in. It turned out to be a piece of mud from walking boots but more eye-rolling with added tutting this time. Two of our party wanted to leave at this point but we stuck it out. We did get an apology but spent the hour feeling more than a little uncomfortable. It's a small, cosy bar downstairs and if the main person behind the bar is in a *really* bad mood, it's hard to hide from it.
Won't go back in a hurry which is a shame as we'd been a couple of times before and enjoyed it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RWboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent for either bar food or the restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have eaten in both the bar and the upstairs restaurant (although would recommend booking for the latter). The food was freshly prepared and great quality and value. The staff are very pleasant.
The bar always has a selection of real ales available and a good selection of wines.
It is very popular and can get quite busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowHappyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn & Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn & Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing