We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food But Slow Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dobbies Garden World Restaurant

Dobbies Garden World Restaurant
Ranked #273 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food But Slow Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I often meet friends for a coffee here and the last trip was no different. Self service cakes and scones are always well presented and fresh. But when you start to get into the "I would like something made up", "soup", "hot food", "coffee" the whole place starts to fall about round their ears. There rarely seems to be enough staff on and I see staff standing around doing what appears to be nothing whilst one person is trying to deal with queues waiting for sandwiches. The wait for coffee can be long as well and if the person doesnt really know what theyre doing then the quality of the coffee can be questionable. The fact that 9 times out of ten I have to clear a table for myself, then wipe it myself can be a chore but the place is handy and has good parking and since I am usually after the cakes its fine for me. Its annoying because it could just be so much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RDavidson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    44
    57
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Variety of food & lovely outlook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent and good variety of well cooked food. Before or after your meal it is well worth a visit round the vast garden centre. There are many special offers at various times of the days and weeks which all sections of the community can partake off.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The vast array of quality food available here is amazing. I agree that the price tag is on the steep side and think that the portion size on the cakes could be cut to reduce this as I usually struggle to finish what I have chosen. I also agree that the endless queing is tedious and needs to be looked at but overall the pros well out way the cons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aberdeen got it together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It appears Dobbies in ABERDEEN is thankfully a great deal better than the one in Dundee. Very friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. One of the best breakfasts ever, but it is a pity that the sausage is not available for sale separately for consumption at home, they really are that good!!
(I even tracked down the Dobbies supplier but they wouldn't budge)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewsmanAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great lunchtime choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been to Dobbies many times for lunch. The variety of hot and cold food, whether a baked potato, panini or a meal is second to none, while the choice of cakes and scones is amazing. Never disappointed by a meal here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbies Garden World Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Dobbies Garden World Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing