We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage to explore Central Scotland from”
other travelers have booked this property
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Denhead House and Denhead Cottage overlooking our beautiful garden.
Denhead Cottage
The Patio - all ready for relaxing.
The Patio - securely fenced.
Private Front Door Entrance
Entrance and Parking.
View from Patio- overlooking our garden and farmland adjacent. Lovely farm walks at cottage.
Aerial view of Denhead House and Cottage
Main Bedroom - a spacious beautiful room with quality furniture.
The Super King size bed set out for Christmas guests.
Main bedroom in evening light.
Corner Bath.
Basin and WC with corner bath on left.
New Walk-in Shower.
Bedroom 2 which has beautiful antique light oak furniture. Here beds have  made up into a superking.
Second Bedroom laid out for Christmas guests. Beds made up as 3' twin beds.
Kitchen and Dining Area for 6.
Our Christmas and New Year Welcome Basket.
A crisp bright winters day at the Cottage and our house next door.
Kitchen Area with hob, oven, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier
Lounge which has a flat screen t.v.
The large Lounge with curtains drawn. A cosy nest chair big enough for two!
Large Lounge with bedroom door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dundee, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Camilla19...
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage to explore Central Scotland from”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Denhead Cottage was a wonderful base to explore Central Scotland from. My Australian family found Fowlis and the surrounding town the perfect example of the Scottish countryside they had imagined. Nigel and Pam were excellent hosts, helping us out with car troubles and giving great tips on where to visit. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2012
It was great having a family from so far away, and warmer climes, just unfortunate the warm weather didn't come with you! We were only too pleased to help with the car. This area is a great centre for touring all year round with many of the places of interest still open. Look forward to your next visit. Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AChristis...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Denhead Cottage had everything we needed (Mum, Dad and boys aged 8 and 4). Lovely rural location but with all mod cons and near to Dundee where we spent the week visiting family and friends. Nigel was very hospitable and helpful. We hope to return in summer time and enjoy local walks and make use of leisure facilities at Piperdam - we didn't have time this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rural location grweat but also meant dark roads for driving at night!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
So glad that everything was to your liking! Thank you for your review.
We love living here as its so easy to get to places and enjoy what that has to offer but yet come home to the peace and quiet of the countryside.
You must pamper yourself next time and go for a swim, sauna and massage .............or a game of golf!
Look forward to seeing you all in 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel and super location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2012
It was nice to welcome you back to the cottage and glad that everything was again to your liking. A good sleep is a must on holiday which is why the beds we put in are the same quality as the ones we use ourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire
Reviewed November 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm enviroment.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2011
It is always nice to see previous holiday makers back again as it means we must be doing something right! Being situated where it is the cottage is in easy reach of a variety of activities and places to go, so it doesn't surprise us that those who stay here like its situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio
Liked least: The TV was difficult to get going
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2011
I am pleased that you had a good second stay at the Cottage. We are lucky to live in this lovely place and are finding more guests are returning for the same reasons we love it here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adsett
1 review
“Perfect combination - a warm welcome, very comfortable cottage and loads of interesting places to explore”
Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Just back from our 4th week we are planning to return next year. The cottage is very comfortable and a relaxing place to plan where to explore next! We have followed Captain Scott, Pictish stones, red squirrels, beautiful beaches, impressive stately homes and castles and there is still more to see! The fertile landscape around Dundee is lovely - ordered and harvested with sweeping golden fields. The fact that Nigel has his WW2 vehicles was an unexpected bonus when we first found the cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
Lovely to have you back here again and so glad you find the cottage a good place to chill and plan!
Look forward to seeing you both in 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HABIB J
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Merci beaucoup pour votre évaluation. Il était bon de prendre le temps de l'écrire. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié le chalet. Nous l'aimons aussi. Au plaisir de vous revoir un jour. Meilleurs vœux

Thank you very much for your review. It was good of you to take the time and write it. We are very glad you enjoyed the cottage. We love it too. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing